Restless Friday

Reading: I finished Spaceman Blues and found it pretty disappointing but now I am on to Red Seas Under Red Skies, the second of the Gentlemen Bastards books, leaving off where Lock Lamora left off. These books are delightful fun. They read like an awesome urban Burning Wheel campaign.

Planning: A nice weekend with my lady-friend and then planning for Gen Con.

Wearing: Black jeans and a green polo shirt.

Writing: I was writing 1st Quest and will continue with Gen Con inertia when I return and will also start hitting up a dark YA fantasy story whose first chapter has grabbed me. I’m eager to write about this character’s first day of school.

And you?

Keep in mind that writing can be any act of creation or creativity.

42 thoughts on “Restless Friday

  1. Reading: A Distant Mirror by Tuchman
    Planning: To edit Judd on Rob on Misspent Youth podcast editing, see also Writing.
    Wearing: Olive collar-button t-shirt, khaki shorts, KEEN winter boots.
    Writing: The Misspent Youth demo for Gen Con 08.

  2. Reading: A Distant Mirror by Tuchman
    Planning: To edit Judd on Rob on Misspent Youth podcast editing, see also Writing.
    Wearing: Olive collar-button t-shirt, khaki shorts, KEEN winter boots.
    Writing: The Misspent Youth demo for Gen Con 08.

  3. Reading: A Distant Mirror by Tuchman
    Planning: To edit Judd on Rob on Misspent Youth podcast editing, see also Writing.
    Wearing: Olive collar-button t-shirt, khaki shorts, KEEN winter boots.
    Writing: The Misspent Youth demo for Gen Con 08.

  4. Reading: The tail end of Exodus of the Long Sun by Gene Wolfe.
    Planning: Gen-Con! New Kitties!
    Wearing: T-shirt/jeans
    Writing: “Too crude to even be an ashcan” playtest copy of Culture Clash so I’ve got something to give away/playtest at GenCon.

    later
    Tom

  5. Reading: The tail end of Exodus of the Long Sun by Gene Wolfe.
    Planning: Gen-Con! New Kitties!
    Wearing: T-shirt/jeans
    Writing: “Too crude to even be an ashcan” playtest copy of Culture Clash so I’ve got something to give away/playtest at GenCon.

    later
    Tom

  6. Reading: The tail end of Exodus of the Long Sun by Gene Wolfe.
    Planning: Gen-Con! New Kitties!
    Wearing: T-shirt/jeans
    Writing: “Too crude to even be an ashcan” playtest copy of Culture Clash so I’ve got something to give away/playtest at GenCon.

    later
    Tom

  7. Reading: Re-Reading, “Under the Black Flag,” by David Cordingly. Reading it is such a weird experience for me. I had started it almost a year ago, but got distracted by some sexy novel. I just re-started it because I _should_ be able to say that I’ve read this book – yet as I read it I feel like there isn’t anything, in the book, that I don’t already know. Btw, my only regret from Comic-Con is failing to go back to this random book booth where they were going to be giving away copies of this two book series that had cover art that was a vague cross between a Scottish Romance and a Patrick O’Brian novel. Only after my failure do I read in multiple places how kick-ass cool Red Seas Under Red Skies and Lock Lamora are. =P
    Planning: Nebulous guy plans to hang out at a pub – if not begin writing Beta manuscript for LoP.
    Wearing: Black polo shirt and green jeans…nah, just messing, they’re plain blue jeans.
    Writing: The above mentioned Beta manuscript for Legends of Piracy. Backburner: short story/steampunk adventure of the Polar Bear Invasion of Russia. Like War for Oil – a magical realism novella dealing with a Mouse that Roared South American style.

  8. Reading: Re-Reading, “Under the Black Flag,” by David Cordingly. Reading it is such a weird experience for me. I had started it almost a year ago, but got distracted by some sexy novel. I just re-started it because I _should_ be able to say that I’ve read this book – yet as I read it I feel like there isn’t anything, in the book, that I don’t already know. Btw, my only regret from Comic-Con is failing to go back to this random book booth where they were going to be giving away copies of this two book series that had cover art that was a vague cross between a Scottish Romance and a Patrick O’Brian novel. Only after my failure do I read in multiple places how kick-ass cool Red Seas Under Red Skies and Lock Lamora are. =P
    Planning: Nebulous guy plans to hang out at a pub – if not begin writing Beta manuscript for LoP.
    Wearing: Black polo shirt and green jeans…nah, just messing, they’re plain blue jeans.
    Writing: The above mentioned Beta manuscript for Legends of Piracy. Backburner: short story/steampunk adventure of the Polar Bear Invasion of Russia. Like War for Oil – a magical realism novella dealing with a Mouse that Roared South American style.

  9. Reading: Re-Reading, “Under the Black Flag,” by David Cordingly. Reading it is such a weird experience for me. I had started it almost a year ago, but got distracted by some sexy novel. I just re-started it because I _should_ be able to say that I’ve read this book – yet as I read it I feel like there isn’t anything, in the book, that I don’t already know. Btw, my only regret from Comic-Con is failing to go back to this random book booth where they were going to be giving away copies of this two book series that had cover art that was a vague cross between a Scottish Romance and a Patrick O’Brian novel. Only after my failure do I read in multiple places how kick-ass cool Red Seas Under Red Skies and Lock Lamora are. =P
    Planning: Nebulous guy plans to hang out at a pub – if not begin writing Beta manuscript for LoP.
    Wearing: Black polo shirt and green jeans…nah, just messing, they’re plain blue jeans.
    Writing: The above mentioned Beta manuscript for Legends of Piracy. Backburner: short story/steampunk adventure of the Polar Bear Invasion of Russia. Like War for Oil – a magical realism novella dealing with a Mouse that Roared South American style.

  10. R: Finished up the Christian portion of the Dictionary of the Khazars (male copy). I purposefully bought a used copy with a ton of hand-written notes in it so it’s got all sorts of extra coolness. Still trying to finish the Last Argument of Kings, not because it’s bad. I love it. I’m also partway into a guilty pleasure book, Fulgrim, a Warhammer 40k book about the Emperor’s Children.

    P: Working and more working.

    W: Nothing interesting.

    W: A 16-page comic for an artist friend of mine. So far I’ve got giant tentacle monsters, a private dick with a mechanical leg and unbridled enthusiasm. I’m also keeping up on the drawing front with little post-it note doodles. I try to do one a day, so my wall at work is slowly filling up like some teratological garden. I just finished re-imagining the new monsters from Thunderspire Labyrinth.

  11. R: Finished up the Christian portion of the Dictionary of the Khazars (male copy). I purposefully bought a used copy with a ton of hand-written notes in it so it’s got all sorts of extra coolness. Still trying to finish the Last Argument of Kings, not because it’s bad. I love it. I’m also partway into a guilty pleasure book, Fulgrim, a Warhammer 40k book about the Emperor’s Children.

    P: Working and more working.

    W: Nothing interesting.

    W: A 16-page comic for an artist friend of mine. So far I’ve got giant tentacle monsters, a private dick with a mechanical leg and unbridled enthusiasm. I’m also keeping up on the drawing front with little post-it note doodles. I try to do one a day, so my wall at work is slowly filling up like some teratological garden. I just finished re-imagining the new monsters from Thunderspire Labyrinth.

  12. R: Finished up the Christian portion of the Dictionary of the Khazars (male copy). I purposefully bought a used copy with a ton of hand-written notes in it so it’s got all sorts of extra coolness. Still trying to finish the Last Argument of Kings, not because it’s bad. I love it. I’m also partway into a guilty pleasure book, Fulgrim, a Warhammer 40k book about the Emperor’s Children.

    P: Working and more working.

    W: Nothing interesting.

    W: A 16-page comic for an artist friend of mine. So far I’ve got giant tentacle monsters, a private dick with a mechanical leg and unbridled enthusiasm. I’m also keeping up on the drawing front with little post-it note doodles. I try to do one a day, so my wall at work is slowly filling up like some teratological garden. I just finished re-imagining the new monsters from Thunderspire Labyrinth.

  13. Reading: I bought a few comics last weekend — I think Batman: The Killing Joke is next on my list.

    Planning: Gearing up for all the Mythender action at GenCon. Also gotta help a friend move the Sunday before the show.

    Wearing: Blue button-down tee & beige cargo shorts.

    Writing: Mythender, Mythender, Mythender. It’s been awhile, and I’m happy to write it, but another idea started eating my brain today that I have to fight off.

  14. Reading: I bought a few comics last weekend — I think Batman: The Killing Joke is next on my list.

    Planning: Gearing up for all the Mythender action at GenCon. Also gotta help a friend move the Sunday before the show.

    Wearing: Blue button-down tee & beige cargo shorts.

    Writing: Mythender, Mythender, Mythender. It’s been awhile, and I’m happy to write it, but another idea started eating my brain today that I have to fight off.

  15. Reading: I bought a few comics last weekend — I think Batman: The Killing Joke is next on my list.

    Planning: Gearing up for all the Mythender action at GenCon. Also gotta help a friend move the Sunday before the show.

    Wearing: Blue button-down tee & beige cargo shorts.

    Writing: Mythender, Mythender, Mythender. It’s been awhile, and I’m happy to write it, but another idea started eating my brain today that I have to fight off.

  16. I finished up red seas under red skies this weekend. Theres a whole lot of book that isnt on a ship for that name and the artwork on the cover. But it is really great regardless. This guy has to be a gamer. I incorporate quite a bit of his world into the burning wheel game im running.

  17. I finished up red seas under red skies this weekend. Theres a whole lot of book that isnt on a ship for that name and the artwork on the cover. But it is really great regardless. This guy has to be a gamer. I incorporate quite a bit of his world into the burning wheel game im running.

  18. I finished up red seas under red skies this weekend. Theres a whole lot of book that isnt on a ship for that name and the artwork on the cover. But it is really great regardless. This guy has to be a gamer. I incorporate quite a bit of his world into the burning wheel game im running.

  19. Lynch is totally a gamer. He has written some gaming supplements, I believe and Lock Lamorra was a character he played in a Star Wars RPG campaign that he kind of held onto and placed into the world we read now.

    Also, this series is totally doable in Burning Wheel.

  20. On creation, Echo’s Children said it well.

    Reading: Ever want to read about ten books simultaneously? I’m flush from WorldCon with a ton of recommended reading. I’m currently swapping off between The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume Two, edited by Jonathan Strahan, which opens with a kick-ass Ted Chiang story, and <>A Shadow in Summer, the first book of Daniel Abraham’s Long Price quartet. And I want to read all the other books I brought home, and all the unread books on my shelves, and to reread the read ones.

    Planning: MythCon, while the rest of you are at GenCon.

    Wearing: Final Mints: Breath Freshener for the Dead t-shirt, brown pants, socks.

    Writing: Transcribing my notes from the wonderful WorldCon panels and compiling my notes for my MythCon presentation.

  21. On creation, Echo’s Children said it well.

    Reading: Ever want to read about ten books simultaneously? I’m flush from WorldCon with a ton of recommended reading. I’m currently swapping off between The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume Two, edited by Jonathan Strahan, which opens with a kick-ass Ted Chiang story, and <>A Shadow in Summer, the first book of Daniel Abraham’s Long Price quartet. And I want to read all the other books I brought home, and all the unread books on my shelves, and to reread the read ones.

    Planning: MythCon, while the rest of you are at GenCon.

    Wearing: Final Mints: Breath Freshener for the Dead t-shirt, brown pants, socks.

    Writing: Transcribing my notes from the wonderful WorldCon panels and compiling my notes for my MythCon presentation.

  22. On creation, Echo’s Children said it well.

    Reading: Ever want to read about ten books simultaneously? I’m flush from WorldCon with a ton of recommended reading. I’m currently swapping off between The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume Two, edited by Jonathan Strahan, which opens with a kick-ass Ted Chiang story, and <>A Shadow in Summer, the first book of Daniel Abraham’s Long Price quartet. And I want to read all the other books I brought home, and all the unread books on my shelves, and to reread the read ones.

    Planning: MythCon, while the rest of you are at GenCon.

    Wearing: Final Mints: Breath Freshener for the Dead t-shirt, brown pants, socks.

    Writing: Transcribing my notes from the wonderful WorldCon panels and compiling my notes for my MythCon presentation.

Leave a Reply

