Rapid Fire Gen Con Thoughts and Links Part II

The seminar I did with John on Marketing and Play went well, I thought. I learned a ton just hearing John talk and his talk and outline got good stuff out of me. I read something where John was being hard on himself about it.

Being at the Playcollective booth was really rewarding and fun. I like those people.

Misery Bubblegum was the game that Bret and Ellen came home after Dexcon raving about. I was skeptical. When Tony was at a table with Anna and Julie, all people I’ve wanted to game with, I sat down because of the company, not to play a damned RPG about teen angst. I was wrong. It was fantastic and was without a doubt my finest gaming of the con. Oddly, it was about another punk band; Flaming Taft is joined by Microwave Poodle, the teen emo-punk band on the rise.

Luke Crane: “Face to face interaction is like flushing the toilet bowl on the shit of the internet.”

Jared Sorensen: “I saw these people who were talking about who could beat who and what was going to happen this season and what happened last season. And they were dressed up as their heroes. Football fans are weird.”

Luke and Julie and Vincent were having this interesting discussion about the rhythm of RPG play. Free play -> conflict -> dice -> character sheet -> free play, etc. There was interesting stuff going on in those conversations.

DarkPages is reading like Scott McCloud’s Understanding Comics: the RPG.

The Magic Burner is burning a blue hole in my gaming shelf.

Jeff and I had interesting conversations on the way back, thoughts about Ashcan seminars for Dreamation where people with not fully baked games could meet up and run a mini-session for a few hours and then talk about how it went…kind of a cross between the Indie Design Roundtable and a game slot.

Game Idea #1: There was this mention of health insurance in the original Cyberpunk RPG and you could get this full-on insurance wherein a hover-ambulance would come in and get you if you should get hurt. I always wanted to play those cyberpunk EMT’s.

Thought thought of getting to both make a statement about U.S. healthcare and play bad-ass EMT’s in a hover-ambulance feels too good to pass up. Also…cyberpunk city tiles.

Game Idea #2: Punching the World, the FATE fueled game of The Authority, the JLA and the Watchmen. Characters don’t change but the player who spends the most Fate points get’s to put an Aspect on the world.

Game Idea #3: Kings and Queens of October, a setting for 1st Quest or a DarkPAges imprint?

Also, I need to read Eero’s Solar System and pillage it for 1st Questy goodness. More on October later.

84 thoughts on “Rapid Fire Gen Con Thoughts and Links Part II

  1. dude i always wanted to play the Doc Wagon EMT’s in shadowrun, thought that would be sweet. Like Martin Scorsese’s “bringing out the dead” mixed with “strange days” and Neuromancer.

  2. dude i always wanted to play the Doc Wagon EMT’s in shadowrun, thought that would be sweet. Like Martin Scorsese’s “bringing out the dead” mixed with “strange days” and Neuromancer.

  3. dude i always wanted to play the Doc Wagon EMT’s in shadowrun, thought that would be sweet. Like Martin Scorsese’s “bringing out the dead” mixed with “strange days” and Neuromancer.

    • So there’s a bidding process at the end of the session, or it’s just whoever has spent the most fate points that session? And afterwords, are they simply “there,” or can they be invoked in some way?

      INQUIRING MINDS WANT TO KNOW

      • World Aspects

        Whoever spent the most FP’s in play.

        The World Aspects can be tagged and invoked just like any other aspect. But I think that I would only allow one World Aspect for each player in each session. I don’t want a dozen extra aspects floating around the game but four or five is fine.

      • World Aspects

        Whoever spent the most FP’s in play.

        The World Aspects can be tagged and invoked just like any other aspect. But I think that I would only allow one World Aspect for each player in each session. I don’t want a dozen extra aspects floating around the game but four or five is fine.

    • So there’s a bidding process at the end of the session, or it’s just whoever has spent the most fate points that session? And afterwords, are they simply “there,” or can they be invoked in some way?

      INQUIRING MINDS WANT TO KNOW

  4. I have a theory that every time I start to design a game in my head someone in the indy scene comes up with it. It saves me a lot of time and work.

    In other words… PLEASE make Punching the World!

  5. I have a theory that every time I start to design a game in my head someone in the indy scene comes up with it. It saves me a lot of time and work.

    In other words… PLEASE make Punching the World!

  6. I have a theory that every time I start to design a game in my head someone in the indy scene comes up with it. It saves me a lot of time and work.

    In other words… PLEASE make Punching the World!

  7. OK, why the hell weren’t you at Dexcon? I ran exactly that scenario. It was a night in the life of a Trauma Team crew, with a media tagging along, like an episode of Cops.

    I do plan on running it again whenever I can (probably Dreamation next), as it worked out extremely well.

    — Ben

      • Re: Trauma Team crew

        It was a stripped down version of CP 2020. I used the basic Interlock resolution mechanic, but I dumped ATTR, Save, BTM, Run, Leap, Lift, Luck Points and IP. The last two are the most significant, as instead of IP, I handed out what I called Style Points whenever someone did something cool. Style Points were then used to boost rolls, same as Luck Points in the original rules. Player Reward at its best.

        The best $5 I ever spent was on a package of little plastic counters at the dealers’ room (10 minutes before I was set to run the game!), and every time I awarded Style Points, I tossed the players a couple of counters. Having a physical representation of the reward is so much more satisfying than simply saying “I’ll give you three points for that.”

        — Ben

      • Re: Trauma Team crew

        It was a stripped down version of CP 2020. I used the basic Interlock resolution mechanic, but I dumped ATTR, Save, BTM, Run, Leap, Lift, Luck Points and IP. The last two are the most significant, as instead of IP, I handed out what I called Style Points whenever someone did something cool. Style Points were then used to boost rolls, same as Luck Points in the original rules. Player Reward at its best.

        The best $5 I ever spent was on a package of little plastic counters at the dealers’ room (10 minutes before I was set to run the game!), and every time I awarded Style Points, I tossed the players a couple of counters. Having a physical representation of the reward is so much more satisfying than simply saying “I’ll give you three points for that.”

        — Ben

  8. OK, why the hell weren’t you at Dexcon? I ran exactly that scenario. It was a night in the life of a Trauma Team crew, with a media tagging along, like an episode of Cops.

    I do plan on running it again whenever I can (probably Dreamation next), as it worked out extremely well.

    — Ben

  9. OK, why the hell weren’t you at Dexcon? I ran exactly that scenario. It was a night in the life of a Trauma Team crew, with a media tagging along, like an episode of Cops.

    I do plan on running it again whenever I can (probably Dreamation next), as it worked out extremely well.

    — Ben

  10. ashcans? for like trashcans!

    sorry. since i didn’t get to make it to gencon i had to do this here.

    we need to play zombie cinema right now. let’s leave work and play it. right now.

  11. ashcans? for like trashcans!

    sorry. since i didn’t get to make it to gencon i had to do this here.

    we need to play zombie cinema right now. let’s leave work and play it. right now.

  12. ashcans? for like trashcans!

    sorry. since i didn’t get to make it to gencon i had to do this here.

    we need to play zombie cinema right now. let’s leave work and play it. right now.

  13. idea #1

    Back in high school, I ran a cyberpunk game where the PCs were something pretty close to Trauma Team – instead they were a bodyguard outfit that served the same demographic. It was amazing and ran for a year or two until the group turned on itself thanks to cyberware and their own perverse natures.

  14. idea #1

    Back in high school, I ran a cyberpunk game where the PCs were something pretty close to Trauma Team – instead they were a bodyguard outfit that served the same demographic. It was amazing and ran for a year or two until the group turned on itself thanks to cyberware and their own perverse natures.

  15. idea #1

    Back in high school, I ran a cyberpunk game where the PCs were something pretty close to Trauma Team – instead they were a bodyguard outfit that served the same demographic. It was amazing and ran for a year or two until the group turned on itself thanks to cyberware and their own perverse natures.

  16. I always wanted to play those cyberpunk EMT’s.

    Oh! I’m glad I wasn’t the only one! You know it had to be crazy, since the hover ambulances came with gatling guns on the nose!

    I always thought it’d be kind of cool also doing some comparisons between the companies- you know there has to be some kind of Firefly-run-by-night barely paid ambulance company that’s in the worst part of town, and then there’s the uber-secret agent over-powered company who has a network relay of satellites to pinpoint targets, hack out the first three layers of detection before extracting someone as a brain in a case while leaving a decoy AI in their place.

    Hee.

    • Rogue EMT’s

      Rob Bohl had a game of Misspent Youth where the Authority had outlawed medicine (except rich people seemed to find it when they needed it) and the rebel kids were trying to publish a copy of a medical textbook.

      The idea of Rogue EMT’s appeals to me greatly.

      • Re: Rogue EMT's

        Yeah that game was a fuckton of fun. They were pacifying/controlling people by “providing” lots of faith healing. The YOs managed to get a medical textbook released to the public and had to fight between automatic-mag-cars.

      • Re: Rogue EMT's

        Yeah that game was a fuckton of fun. They were pacifying/controlling people by “providing” lots of faith healing. The YOs managed to get a medical textbook released to the public and had to fight between automatic-mag-cars.

      • Re: Rogue EMT’s

        Huh.

        Now I’m thinking of if I used some kind of twist on Inspectres to set that up – you’d still have money to be juggled, instead of Confessionals, you’d have Debriefing Reports, instead of the Gym Card, you’d have “Personnel Enhancements”, Library = “Mission Intel & Cointel Networking”, Credit Card = “Software/Hardware Resources”, etc.

        Might be fun…

          • Re: Rogue EMT’s

            Here’s a thought- what if the dice aren’t just about the numbers, but you physically roll the dice AT the target? Obviously, D20’s and D12’s are going to be a lot better than D4’s in that alone…

            =P

          • Re: Rogue EMT’s

            Here’s a thought- what if the dice aren’t just about the numbers, but you physically roll the dice AT the target? Obviously, D20’s and D12’s are going to be a lot better than D4’s in that alone…

            =P

      • Re: Rogue EMT’s

        Huh.

        Now I’m thinking of if I used some kind of twist on Inspectres to set that up – you’d still have money to be juggled, instead of Confessionals, you’d have Debriefing Reports, instead of the Gym Card, you’d have “Personnel Enhancements”, Library = “Mission Intel & Cointel Networking”, Credit Card = “Software/Hardware Resources”, etc.

        Might be fun…

    • Rogue EMT’s

      Rob Bohl had a game of Misspent Youth where the Authority had outlawed medicine (except rich people seemed to find it when they needed it) and the rebel kids were trying to publish a copy of a medical textbook.

      The idea of Rogue EMT’s appeals to me greatly.

  17. I always wanted to play those cyberpunk EMT’s.

    Oh! I’m glad I wasn’t the only one! You know it had to be crazy, since the hover ambulances came with gatling guns on the nose!

    I always thought it’d be kind of cool also doing some comparisons between the companies- you know there has to be some kind of Firefly-run-by-night barely paid ambulance company that’s in the worst part of town, and then there’s the uber-secret agent over-powered company who has a network relay of satellites to pinpoint targets, hack out the first three layers of detection before extracting someone as a brain in a case while leaving a decoy AI in their place.

    Hee.

  18. I always wanted to play those cyberpunk EMT’s.

    Oh! I’m glad I wasn’t the only one! You know it had to be crazy, since the hover ambulances came with gatling guns on the nose!

    I always thought it’d be kind of cool also doing some comparisons between the companies- you know there has to be some kind of Firefly-run-by-night barely paid ambulance company that’s in the worst part of town, and then there’s the uber-secret agent over-powered company who has a network relay of satellites to pinpoint targets, hack out the first three layers of detection before extracting someone as a brain in a case while leaving a decoy AI in their place.

    Hee.

  19. Rogue EMT’s

    Rob Bohl had a game of Misspent Youth where the Authority had outlawed medicine (except rich people seemed to find it when they needed it) and the rebel kids were trying to publish a copy of a medical textbook.

    The idea of Rogue EMT’s appeals to me greatly.

  20. Re: Rogue EMT's

    Yeah that game was a fuckton of fun. They were pacifying/controlling people by “providing” lots of faith healing. The YOs managed to get a medical textbook released to the public and had to fight between automatic-mag-cars.

  21. Re: Rogue EMT’s

    Huh.

    Now I’m thinking of if I used some kind of twist on Inspectres to set that up – you’d still have money to be juggled, instead of Confessionals, you’d have Debriefing Reports, instead of the Gym Card, you’d have “Personnel Enhancements”, Library = “Mission Intel & Cointel Networking”, Credit Card = “Software/Hardware Resources”, etc.

    Might be fun…

  22. Re: Trauma Team crew

    It was a stripped down version of CP 2020. I used the basic Interlock resolution mechanic, but I dumped ATTR, Save, BTM, Run, Leap, Lift, Luck Points and IP. The last two are the most significant, as instead of IP, I handed out what I called Style Points whenever someone did something cool. Style Points were then used to boost rolls, same as Luck Points in the original rules. Player Reward at its best.

    The best $5 I ever spent was on a package of little plastic counters at the dealers’ room (10 minutes before I was set to run the game!), and every time I awarded Style Points, I tossed the players a couple of counters. Having a physical representation of the reward is so much more satisfying than simply saying “I’ll give you three points for that.”

    — Ben

  23. Re: Rogue EMT’s

    Here’s a thought- what if the dice aren’t just about the numbers, but you physically roll the dice AT the target? Obviously, D20’s and D12’s are going to be a lot better than D4’s in that alone…

    =P

  24. The one variant on the Docwagon theme that always appealed to my friends who did Networking was a NOC with guns. In a cyberpunk world, what do you do when a backbone router goes down? Get some guns and bring that sucker back online!

  25. The one variant on the Docwagon theme that always appealed to my friends who did Networking was a NOC with guns. In a cyberpunk world, what do you do when a backbone router goes down? Get some guns and bring that sucker back online!

  26. The one variant on the Docwagon theme that always appealed to my friends who did Networking was a NOC with guns. In a cyberpunk world, what do you do when a backbone router goes down? Get some guns and bring that sucker back online!

  27. Dude, I remember years ago when my players looked at me weird for wanting to run a cyberpunk EMT game.

    Dude the Second, I would love to play that game with you & others at a future con, if you’re up for it.

  28. Dude, I remember years ago when my players looked at me weird for wanting to run a cyberpunk EMT game.

    Dude the Second, I would love to play that game with you & others at a future con, if you’re up for it.

  29. Dude, I remember years ago when my players looked at me weird for wanting to run a cyberpunk EMT game.

    Dude the Second, I would love to play that game with you & others at a future con, if you’re up for it.

  30. Sign me up as another Doc Wagon campaign wannabe. That would have been sweet (but, uh, I don’t think Shadowrun 2E would have been the system to make it sing. Shadowrun 2E didn’t make anything sing…)

    Judd, make this game first THEN Punching the World. I’m in.

    Dave

  31. Sign me up as another Doc Wagon campaign wannabe. That would have been sweet (but, uh, I don’t think Shadowrun 2E would have been the system to make it sing. Shadowrun 2E didn’t make anything sing…)

    Judd, make this game first THEN Punching the World. I’m in.

    Dave

  32. Sign me up as another Doc Wagon campaign wannabe. That would have been sweet (but, uh, I don’t think Shadowrun 2E would have been the system to make it sing. Shadowrun 2E didn’t make anything sing…)

    Judd, make this game first THEN Punching the World. I’m in.

    Dave

  33. So there’s a bidding process at the end of the session, or it’s just whoever has spent the most fate points that session? And afterwords, are they simply “there,” or can they be invoked in some way?

    INQUIRING MINDS WANT TO KNOW

  34. World Aspects

    Whoever spent the most FP’s in play.

    The World Aspects can be tagged and invoked just like any other aspect. But I think that I would only allow one World Aspect for each player in each session. I don’t want a dozen extra aspects floating around the game but four or five is fine.

Leave a Reply

