Reset Friday

I slept like the dead last night, took a nice long shower this morning and I’m feeling, for the first time since returning from Gen Con, that I am back in the saddle.

Reading: The Magic Burner and DarkPages. I finished Red Seas Under Red Skies and really liked it. The Gentlemen Bastard cycle is good fun. Jean pulls me through; Locke, I don’t like so much.

Wearing: Cargo pants and a gray long-sleeved t-shirt and a brown hoodie along with the very last of my clean socks and underwear.

Planning: Tonight is about cleaning and laundry. This weekend is about visiting my lady-friend.

Writing: Another DarkPages imprint to pitch to Bret and other stuff new to my Write a Little Every Day file.

And you?

63 thoughts on “Reset Friday

  1. “Jean pulls me through; Locke, I don’t like so much.”

    I’m pleased to hear you say that. I haven’t finished Red Seas yet, because Locke was actually starting to grate on my nerves. I really like the Jean character better, and I look forward to more books with him.

  2. “Jean pulls me through; Locke, I don’t like so much.”

    I’m pleased to hear you say that. I haven’t finished Red Seas yet, because Locke was actually starting to grate on my nerves. I really like the Jean character better, and I look forward to more books with him.

  3. “Jean pulls me through; Locke, I don’t like so much.”

    I’m pleased to hear you say that. I haven’t finished Red Seas yet, because Locke was actually starting to grate on my nerves. I really like the Jean character better, and I look forward to more books with him.

  4. Reading: Trail of Cthulhu and Newton’s Cannon.
    Wearing: A button up shirt I wore once already this week, but isn’t, you know, ‘dirty’. Also pants.
    Planning: Playing some 4e tonight, and possible terrorist shooting via Rainbow Six Vegas 2 this weekend.
    Writing: Buh. Not much except burning up some npcs for Burning Wheel Rome.

  5. Reading: Trail of Cthulhu and Newton’s Cannon.
    Wearing: A button up shirt I wore once already this week, but isn’t, you know, ‘dirty’. Also pants.
    Planning: Playing some 4e tonight, and possible terrorist shooting via Rainbow Six Vegas 2 this weekend.
    Writing: Buh. Not much except burning up some npcs for Burning Wheel Rome.

  6. Reading: Trail of Cthulhu and Newton’s Cannon.
    Wearing: A button up shirt I wore once already this week, but isn’t, you know, ‘dirty’. Also pants.
    Planning: Playing some 4e tonight, and possible terrorist shooting via Rainbow Six Vegas 2 this weekend.
    Writing: Buh. Not much except burning up some npcs for Burning Wheel Rome.

  7. Reading: Rereading Watchmen. Saw the trailer and realized I hardly remembered the book anymore it had been so long. Nice to catch up.

    Wearing: Right now still unshowered and studio scrubby. In a black tank top and capris. Am planning to get cleaned up and to look especially goth and fabulous this weekend. 🙂

    Planning: Heading out to vend at a Horror convention in a few hours. My first time selling at a horror con. I’m excited to see what it’s like. Also planning to make some steampunk invitation cards in time for SalonCon next month. Also, want to visit my brother and see him for his 17th birthday next week! So busy!

    Producing: Just finished a huge illustration project for Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab. Have to work on Dresden Files, some stuff for Bret and maybe some more stuff for BPAL. But first, this horror convention needs doing…

  8. Reading: Rereading Watchmen. Saw the trailer and realized I hardly remembered the book anymore it had been so long. Nice to catch up.

    Wearing: Right now still unshowered and studio scrubby. In a black tank top and capris. Am planning to get cleaned up and to look especially goth and fabulous this weekend. 🙂

    Planning: Heading out to vend at a Horror convention in a few hours. My first time selling at a horror con. I’m excited to see what it’s like. Also planning to make some steampunk invitation cards in time for SalonCon next month. Also, want to visit my brother and see him for his 17th birthday next week! So busy!

    Producing: Just finished a huge illustration project for Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab. Have to work on Dresden Files, some stuff for Bret and maybe some more stuff for BPAL. But first, this horror convention needs doing…

  9. Reading: Rereading Watchmen. Saw the trailer and realized I hardly remembered the book anymore it had been so long. Nice to catch up.

    Wearing: Right now still unshowered and studio scrubby. In a black tank top and capris. Am planning to get cleaned up and to look especially goth and fabulous this weekend. 🙂

    Planning: Heading out to vend at a Horror convention in a few hours. My first time selling at a horror con. I’m excited to see what it’s like. Also planning to make some steampunk invitation cards in time for SalonCon next month. Also, want to visit my brother and see him for his 17th birthday next week! So busy!

    Producing: Just finished a huge illustration project for Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab. Have to work on Dresden Files, some stuff for Bret and maybe some more stuff for BPAL. But first, this horror convention needs doing…

  10. Reading: 3:16 in preparation for running a game of it.

    Wearing: Cargo shorts and a plain gray Tshirt.

    Planning: To relax this weekend and put out some of the Game Design Seminars from GenCon 08. Perhaps some gaming on Sunday.

    writing: I am going to unplug myself from the inter tubes and get to work on Giants.

  11. Reading: 3:16 in preparation for running a game of it.

    Wearing: Cargo shorts and a plain gray Tshirt.

    Planning: To relax this weekend and put out some of the Game Design Seminars from GenCon 08. Perhaps some gaming on Sunday.

    writing: I am going to unplug myself from the inter tubes and get to work on Giants.

  12. Reading: 3:16 in preparation for running a game of it.

    Wearing: Cargo shorts and a plain gray Tshirt.

    Planning: To relax this weekend and put out some of the Game Design Seminars from GenCon 08. Perhaps some gaming on Sunday.

    writing: I am going to unplug myself from the inter tubes and get to work on Giants.

  13. Reading: a big stack of new books I picked up at GenCon. Including Worlds of Their Own, Witch Finders (Hunter), Houses of the Blooded, A Dirty World and Crux.

    Wearing: Cargo Shorts & Midnight Syndicate t-shirt

    Planning: Housewarming party on Sunday

    Writing: Reviews and a new outline for the next book.

  14. Reading: a big stack of new books I picked up at GenCon. Including Worlds of Their Own, Witch Finders (Hunter), Houses of the Blooded, A Dirty World and Crux.

    Wearing: Cargo Shorts & Midnight Syndicate t-shirt

    Planning: Housewarming party on Sunday

    Writing: Reviews and a new outline for the next book.

  15. Reading: a big stack of new books I picked up at GenCon. Including Worlds of Their Own, Witch Finders (Hunter), Houses of the Blooded, A Dirty World and Crux.

    Wearing: Cargo Shorts & Midnight Syndicate t-shirt

    Planning: Housewarming party on Sunday

    Writing: Reviews and a new outline for the next book.

  16. reading: nothing really.

    wearing: slasher necklace. specs. black and white striped undershit. grey faux military overshirt. black belt with silver buckle. stone washed jeans. black steel-toed boots. monkey drinking out of a martini glass boxers. calico jack bpal oil.

    planning: jere’s party tomorrow.

    writing: have an idea for a short story. we’ll see.

  17. reading: nothing really.

    wearing: slasher necklace. specs. black and white striped undershit. grey faux military overshirt. black belt with silver buckle. stone washed jeans. black steel-toed boots. monkey drinking out of a martini glass boxers. calico jack bpal oil.

    planning: jere’s party tomorrow.

    writing: have an idea for a short story. we’ll see.

  18. reading: nothing really.

    wearing: slasher necklace. specs. black and white striped undershit. grey faux military overshirt. black belt with silver buckle. stone washed jeans. black steel-toed boots. monkey drinking out of a martini glass boxers. calico jack bpal oil.

    planning: jere’s party tomorrow.

    writing: have an idea for a short story. we’ll see.

  19. I don’t know that we’re supposed to like Locke anymore. He’s so … driven.

    The “teaser” scene between him and Jean at the beginning of the book? By the time it occured, I was really expecting it.

    Reading: Just finished Hellas RPG, starting Hot War, and the GenCon pile continues to slowly diminish.

    Wearing: Shorts and a red “support the troops” t-shirt for “Support the Troops Friday,” practically mandatory wear here in the office, since we all are troops.

    Planning: Meeting a friend tonight. Getting ready for Sunday’s 4e game.

    Writing: Not-quite-review for Hellas, stuff for the game this Fall.

    Doug.

      • Re: 4e

        Well … in theory I’m running Keep on the Shadowfell. Except the kobold portion has been replaced with the Paizo module Curse of the Kobold King … rescuing five kids from an ancient (evil) Dwarven Monastery filled with kobolds. We’re right between level 1 and 2, so the first job is just translating the dungeon into 4e style encounters. That’s the easy part.

        Two session ago the guys stopped and talked to everyone in Winterhaven. Three and a half hours of talk. And with each conversation the world changed, grew more fleshed out.

        Sometimes the narrative control was in the players’ hands. Simple things like “Where are you from, stranger?” has had dramatic effect on the otherwise unmapped and unformed lands outside the immediate valley.

        Sometimes the control was in my hands, as local legends were created, a halfling mercantile empire was fleshed out, and sometimes players would latch onto the most trivial part of a conversation.

        Me: A band of ogres has been attacking caravans, and smashing wagons. We’re waiting for a schiltron of knights to repel them, but…
        Player 1: Smashing wagons?
        Player 2: Ogres hate wheels.
        Room comes to a full stop. We all sort of look at each other. They what?
        Player 3: Oh yeah, the god of Ogres hates Pelor, and wheels remind them of Pelor’s symbol, the sun-wheel.
        Room nods in unison. Of course. Ogres hate wheels.

        So now I have tonight and tomorrow night to make sense of a couple pages of jotted notes in time for the Sunday game.

        Doug.

      • Re: 4e

        Well … in theory I’m running Keep on the Shadowfell. Except the kobold portion has been replaced with the Paizo module Curse of the Kobold King … rescuing five kids from an ancient (evil) Dwarven Monastery filled with kobolds. We’re right between level 1 and 2, so the first job is just translating the dungeon into 4e style encounters. That’s the easy part.

        Two session ago the guys stopped and talked to everyone in Winterhaven. Three and a half hours of talk. And with each conversation the world changed, grew more fleshed out.

        Sometimes the narrative control was in the players’ hands. Simple things like “Where are you from, stranger?” has had dramatic effect on the otherwise unmapped and unformed lands outside the immediate valley.

        Sometimes the control was in my hands, as local legends were created, a halfling mercantile empire was fleshed out, and sometimes players would latch onto the most trivial part of a conversation.

        Me: A band of ogres has been attacking caravans, and smashing wagons. We’re waiting for a schiltron of knights to repel them, but…
        Player 1: Smashing wagons?
        Player 2: Ogres hate wheels.
        Room comes to a full stop. We all sort of look at each other. They what?
        Player 3: Oh yeah, the god of Ogres hates Pelor, and wheels remind them of Pelor’s symbol, the sun-wheel.
        Room nods in unison. Of course. Ogres hate wheels.

        So now I have tonight and tomorrow night to make sense of a couple pages of jotted notes in time for the Sunday game.

        Doug.

  20. I don’t know that we’re supposed to like Locke anymore. He’s so … driven.

    The “teaser” scene between him and Jean at the beginning of the book? By the time it occured, I was really expecting it.

    Reading: Just finished Hellas RPG, starting Hot War, and the GenCon pile continues to slowly diminish.

    Wearing: Shorts and a red “support the troops” t-shirt for “Support the Troops Friday,” practically mandatory wear here in the office, since we all are troops.

    Planning: Meeting a friend tonight. Getting ready for Sunday’s 4e game.

    Writing: Not-quite-review for Hellas, stuff for the game this Fall.

    Doug.

  21. I don’t know that we’re supposed to like Locke anymore. He’s so … driven.

    The “teaser” scene between him and Jean at the beginning of the book? By the time it occured, I was really expecting it.

    Reading: Just finished Hellas RPG, starting Hot War, and the GenCon pile continues to slowly diminish.

    Wearing: Shorts and a red “support the troops” t-shirt for “Support the Troops Friday,” practically mandatory wear here in the office, since we all are troops.

    Planning: Meeting a friend tonight. Getting ready for Sunday’s 4e game.

    Writing: Not-quite-review for Hellas, stuff for the game this Fall.

    Doug.

  22. Reading: Dead Beat (Dresden Files #7) and Dresden playtest docs.

    Wearing: “Fools, I’ll destroy you all! Ask me how!” t-shirt, jeans, and my awesome new Onmyodo shoes.

    Planning: Watching more Project A-ko and Angelic Layer (it’s all research!), recording a commentary track for Read or Die, and signing up for online dating.

    Writing: Star Wars Dogs in the Vineyard hack (doesn’t everyone have one of these?), Seiyuu playtest doc, and some post-GenCon LJ posts.

  23. Reading: Dead Beat (Dresden Files #7) and Dresden playtest docs.

    Wearing: “Fools, I’ll destroy you all! Ask me how!” t-shirt, jeans, and my awesome new Onmyodo shoes.

    Planning: Watching more Project A-ko and Angelic Layer (it’s all research!), recording a commentary track for Read or Die, and signing up for online dating.

    Writing: Star Wars Dogs in the Vineyard hack (doesn’t everyone have one of these?), Seiyuu playtest doc, and some post-GenCon LJ posts.

  24. Reading: Dead Beat (Dresden Files #7) and Dresden playtest docs.

    Wearing: “Fools, I’ll destroy you all! Ask me how!” t-shirt, jeans, and my awesome new Onmyodo shoes.

    Planning: Watching more Project A-ko and Angelic Layer (it’s all research!), recording a commentary track for Read or Die, and signing up for online dating.

    Writing: Star Wars Dogs in the Vineyard hack (doesn’t everyone have one of these?), Seiyuu playtest doc, and some post-GenCon LJ posts.

  25. reading: uhrr, nothing at the moment. Between reads.

    wearing: casual friday work clothes, plus my new eco-friendly simples

    planning: maybe some dosas with Meredith after work, also something on Sunday

    writing: today, a soul-crushing corporate-speak proposal. tonight, more gaming music!

  26. reading: uhrr, nothing at the moment. Between reads.

    wearing: casual friday work clothes, plus my new eco-friendly simples

    planning: maybe some dosas with Meredith after work, also something on Sunday

    writing: today, a soul-crushing corporate-speak proposal. tonight, more gaming music!

  27. reading: uhrr, nothing at the moment. Between reads.

    wearing: casual friday work clothes, plus my new eco-friendly simples

    planning: maybe some dosas with Meredith after work, also something on Sunday

    writing: today, a soul-crushing corporate-speak proposal. tonight, more gaming music!

  28. Reading: Taking a break from The Long Price Quartet (hm… the problem I have with its lack of intensity could be fixed by making it a Dictionary of Mu game, I bet), and back to Strahan’s The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume Two. I’ve read 12 out of 24 stories, and found one I thought so poorly of as to think it was merely okay.

    Wearing: Black pants, Gen Con 35th anniversary t-shirt.

    Planning: Job hunting, maybe a nap, helping host Columbia University’s Games Club in exile, figuring out how to fit about a hundred books onto my shelves (this includes manga, but not rpgs, which currently sortakinda fit the space allotted for them), and reviewing book and rpg spreadsheets to keep track of what we currently have. Some folks have recommended barcode software, but I am dubious about its usefulness for my purposes.

    Writing: Not much today. Finished part 3 of the WorldCon write up, concluding with the panel on 20 essential works of sf in the last 20 years — the one that sent a bunch of us hunting through the dealers’ room again. Man, there’s a lot of good stuff out there.

  29. Reading: Taking a break from The Long Price Quartet (hm… the problem I have with its lack of intensity could be fixed by making it a Dictionary of Mu game, I bet), and back to Strahan’s The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume Two. I’ve read 12 out of 24 stories, and found one I thought so poorly of as to think it was merely okay.

    Wearing: Black pants, Gen Con 35th anniversary t-shirt.

    Planning: Job hunting, maybe a nap, helping host Columbia University’s Games Club in exile, figuring out how to fit about a hundred books onto my shelves (this includes manga, but not rpgs, which currently sortakinda fit the space allotted for them), and reviewing book and rpg spreadsheets to keep track of what we currently have. Some folks have recommended barcode software, but I am dubious about its usefulness for my purposes.

    Writing: Not much today. Finished part 3 of the WorldCon write up, concluding with the panel on 20 essential works of sf in the last 20 years — the one that sent a bunch of us hunting through the dealers’ room again. Man, there’s a lot of good stuff out there.

  30. Reading: Taking a break from The Long Price Quartet (hm… the problem I have with its lack of intensity could be fixed by making it a Dictionary of Mu game, I bet), and back to Strahan’s The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume Two. I’ve read 12 out of 24 stories, and found one I thought so poorly of as to think it was merely okay.

    Wearing: Black pants, Gen Con 35th anniversary t-shirt.

    Planning: Job hunting, maybe a nap, helping host Columbia University’s Games Club in exile, figuring out how to fit about a hundred books onto my shelves (this includes manga, but not rpgs, which currently sortakinda fit the space allotted for them), and reviewing book and rpg spreadsheets to keep track of what we currently have. Some folks have recommended barcode software, but I am dubious about its usefulness for my purposes.

    Writing: Not much today. Finished part 3 of the WorldCon write up, concluding with the panel on 20 essential works of sf in the last 20 years — the one that sent a bunch of us hunting through the dealers’ room again. Man, there’s a lot of good stuff out there.

  31. R: Just finished up Fulgrim, a WH40k guilty pleasure book. It was alright, but didn’t nearly hold up the archaic-future-pulp vibe I was hoping for.

    W: Plain dusty-green t-shirt and Levis.

    P (or anti-planning, really): I’ve come to terms with the fact that I won’t have any time (or very little) for roleplaying for at least the next year; most of my roleplaying plans are now on hold. I’m still going to make D&D 4e monsters and tinker with Mighty Thews, but nothing concrete.

    W: I’ve got this savage sexy Dying Earth pulp banging around that I want to hammer out. We’ll see.

  32. R: Just finished up Fulgrim, a WH40k guilty pleasure book. It was alright, but didn’t nearly hold up the archaic-future-pulp vibe I was hoping for.

    W: Plain dusty-green t-shirt and Levis.

    P (or anti-planning, really): I’ve come to terms with the fact that I won’t have any time (or very little) for roleplaying for at least the next year; most of my roleplaying plans are now on hold. I’m still going to make D&D 4e monsters and tinker with Mighty Thews, but nothing concrete.

    W: I’ve got this savage sexy Dying Earth pulp banging around that I want to hammer out. We’ll see.

  33. R: Just finished up Fulgrim, a WH40k guilty pleasure book. It was alright, but didn’t nearly hold up the archaic-future-pulp vibe I was hoping for.

    W: Plain dusty-green t-shirt and Levis.

    P (or anti-planning, really): I’ve come to terms with the fact that I won’t have any time (or very little) for roleplaying for at least the next year; most of my roleplaying plans are now on hold. I’m still going to make D&D 4e monsters and tinker with Mighty Thews, but nothing concrete.

    W: I’ve got this savage sexy Dying Earth pulp banging around that I want to hammer out. We’ll see.

  34. Re: 4e

    Well … in theory I’m running Keep on the Shadowfell. Except the kobold portion has been replaced with the Paizo module Curse of the Kobold King … rescuing five kids from an ancient (evil) Dwarven Monastery filled with kobolds. We’re right between level 1 and 2, so the first job is just translating the dungeon into 4e style encounters. That’s the easy part.

    Two session ago the guys stopped and talked to everyone in Winterhaven. Three and a half hours of talk. And with each conversation the world changed, grew more fleshed out.

    Sometimes the narrative control was in the players’ hands. Simple things like “Where are you from, stranger?” has had dramatic effect on the otherwise unmapped and unformed lands outside the immediate valley.

    Sometimes the control was in my hands, as local legends were created, a halfling mercantile empire was fleshed out, and sometimes players would latch onto the most trivial part of a conversation.

    Me: A band of ogres has been attacking caravans, and smashing wagons. We’re waiting for a schiltron of knights to repel them, but…
    Player 1: Smashing wagons?
    Player 2: Ogres hate wheels.
    Room comes to a full stop. We all sort of look at each other. They what?
    Player 3: Oh yeah, the god of Ogres hates Pelor, and wheels remind them of Pelor’s symbol, the sun-wheel.
    Room nods in unison. Of course. Ogres hate wheels.

    So now I have tonight and tomorrow night to make sense of a couple pages of jotted notes in time for the Sunday game.

    Doug.

  35. R: The Name of the Wind. Warren Ellis’ Crecy, again. My 4e DMG. First Year of Our Reign (and the accompanying core book). Dirty World.

    W: Jean shorts and a read short-sleeved pullover.

    P: Well, since I decided to cancel my Saturday 4e game, I’m mainly just planning how I can help get the house ready for some houseguests arriving late tomorrow night.

    W: Possibly another post for Nascent Librarian. I’m gonna try to update it weekly through the semester… twice a week never ended up working. Since I posted today and already have an idea for another post, I figure I should take advantage.

    Also: I agree with your assessments of Jean and Locke, though I’m not sure the latter crossed over into outright annoying with me. I can’t wait to talk about the second book with ya.

  36. R: The Name of the Wind. Warren Ellis’ Crecy, again. My 4e DMG. First Year of Our Reign (and the accompanying core book). Dirty World.

    W: Jean shorts and a read short-sleeved pullover.

    P: Well, since I decided to cancel my Saturday 4e game, I’m mainly just planning how I can help get the house ready for some houseguests arriving late tomorrow night.

    W: Possibly another post for Nascent Librarian. I’m gonna try to update it weekly through the semester… twice a week never ended up working. Since I posted today and already have an idea for another post, I figure I should take advantage.

    Also: I agree with your assessments of Jean and Locke, though I’m not sure the latter crossed over into outright annoying with me. I can’t wait to talk about the second book with ya.

  37. R: The Name of the Wind. Warren Ellis’ Crecy, again. My 4e DMG. First Year of Our Reign (and the accompanying core book). Dirty World.

    W: Jean shorts and a read short-sleeved pullover.

    P: Well, since I decided to cancel my Saturday 4e game, I’m mainly just planning how I can help get the house ready for some houseguests arriving late tomorrow night.

    W: Possibly another post for Nascent Librarian. I’m gonna try to update it weekly through the semester… twice a week never ended up working. Since I posted today and already have an idea for another post, I figure I should take advantage.

    Also: I agree with your assessments of Jean and Locke, though I’m not sure the latter crossed over into outright annoying with me. I can’t wait to talk about the second book with ya.

Leave a Reply

