60 Minutes D&D Coverage from Back in the Day

W.J. Walton, webmaster of The Escapist, has the old 60 Minutes stuff posted up.

This shit drives me nuts. I love how no one blames the guns. And the mother who didn’t even know her son played the game and then goes on to say how perfectly healthy he was, just before they get a tearful confession from the boy’s younger sister, whom he had threatened.

I remember a guy who worked with my dad telling him that he shouldn’t allow me to play role-playing games because they are Satan’s work. My dad replied, “We’re Jews; Satan doesn’t bother us.”

42 thoughts on “60 Minutes D&D Coverage from Back in the Day

  1. “by giving them power in game they would never have in real life.”

    That sounds remarkably similar to the “makes them feel special” warning in that Dr. Demento parody.

    Silly nerds, feeling empowered is for trust fund kids.

  2. “by giving them power in game they would never have in real life.”

    That sounds remarkably similar to the “makes them feel special” warning in that Dr. Demento parody.

    Silly nerds, feeling empowered is for trust fund kids.

  3. “by giving them power in game they would never have in real life.”

    That sounds remarkably similar to the “makes them feel special” warning in that Dr. Demento parody.

    Silly nerds, feeling empowered is for trust fund kids.

  4. “We’re Jews; Satan doesn’t bother us.”

    When a super fundie friend decided to get all “ZOMG! Satan!” I asked why he wasn’t bothering Buddhists; He tried to say that Buddha was really Satan in disguise (as was, apparently, every non-Christian prophet, leader, or deity).

    Apparently with the amount of souls Satan’s got onl lock, I don’t know why he’s even wasting time with the fraction that is Christian… That ended that friendship.

      • Well, Fundie Christianity sure is (and we seem to specialize in it here, in the US).

        Religions tend to go bad when people operate from fear, paranoia, and/or control issues – but then again the same could be said of romantic relationships, office politics, and probably anything where people interact.

      • Well, Fundie Christianity sure is (and we seem to specialize in it here, in the US).

        Religions tend to go bad when people operate from fear, paranoia, and/or control issues – but then again the same could be said of romantic relationships, office politics, and probably anything where people interact.

  5. “We’re Jews; Satan doesn’t bother us.”

    When a super fundie friend decided to get all “ZOMG! Satan!” I asked why he wasn’t bothering Buddhists; He tried to say that Buddha was really Satan in disguise (as was, apparently, every non-Christian prophet, leader, or deity).

    Apparently with the amount of souls Satan’s got onl lock, I don’t know why he’s even wasting time with the fraction that is Christian… That ended that friendship.

  6. “We’re Jews; Satan doesn’t bother us.”

    When a super fundie friend decided to get all “ZOMG! Satan!” I asked why he wasn’t bothering Buddhists; He tried to say that Buddha was really Satan in disguise (as was, apparently, every non-Christian prophet, leader, or deity).

    Apparently with the amount of souls Satan’s got onl lock, I don’t know why he’s even wasting time with the fraction that is Christian… That ended that friendship.

  7. I’m actually surprised how unskewed it is. The commentator never makes any conclusions, and any accusation made by some other ‘expert’ is offered to the TSR reps for response. Now, of course it plays very sympathetic to the mother with the poor crying child on her shoulder (and the father who mysteriously never says anything), but let’s face it, Gygax isn’t a very sympathetic-looking guy.

  8. I’m actually surprised how unskewed it is. The commentator never makes any conclusions, and any accusation made by some other ‘expert’ is offered to the TSR reps for response. Now, of course it plays very sympathetic to the mother with the poor crying child on her shoulder (and the father who mysteriously never says anything), but let’s face it, Gygax isn’t a very sympathetic-looking guy.

  9. I’m actually surprised how unskewed it is. The commentator never makes any conclusions, and any accusation made by some other ‘expert’ is offered to the TSR reps for response. Now, of course it plays very sympathetic to the mother with the poor crying child on her shoulder (and the father who mysteriously never says anything), but let’s face it, Gygax isn’t a very sympathetic-looking guy.

  10. Found on 100% of the kids: guns, purchased legally for unclear purposes!

    OK, so: teenage suicide, according to this site, is about .01% of the population.

    28/3,500,000 is .0008%.

    If the correlation is off by 10,000%, it’s still lower than the general population by 20%.

    Now, don’t get me wrong. If *I* had to play D&D with my friends every weekend, I’d probably commit suicide. Just like if I had to do my taxes every weekend, and for exactly the same reasons

    But this may be because Satan only seems concerned with Christians, as noted by Chris up there.

  11. Found on 100% of the kids: guns, purchased legally for unclear purposes!

    OK, so: teenage suicide, according to this site, is about .01% of the population.

    28/3,500,000 is .0008%.

    If the correlation is off by 10,000%, it’s still lower than the general population by 20%.

    Now, don’t get me wrong. If *I* had to play D&D with my friends every weekend, I’d probably commit suicide. Just like if I had to do my taxes every weekend, and for exactly the same reasons

    But this may be because Satan only seems concerned with Christians, as noted by Chris up there.

  12. Found on 100% of the kids: guns, purchased legally for unclear purposes!

    OK, so: teenage suicide, according to this site, is about .01% of the population.

    28/3,500,000 is .0008%.

    If the correlation is off by 10,000%, it’s still lower than the general population by 20%.

    Now, don’t get me wrong. If *I* had to play D&D with my friends every weekend, I’d probably commit suicide. Just like if I had to do my taxes every weekend, and for exactly the same reasons

    But this may be because Satan only seems concerned with Christians, as noted by Chris up there.

  13. Well, Fundie Christianity sure is (and we seem to specialize in it here, in the US).

    Religions tend to go bad when people operate from fear, paranoia, and/or control issues – but then again the same could be said of romantic relationships, office politics, and probably anything where people interact.

  14. I remember my parents taking my D&D stuff away when I was in middle school. My mom, with a straight face, asked me if I was creating my classmates in the game and killing them. I just stared at her, slackjawed.

    To this day I still tease her about the fact she came up with an idea sicker and more twisted than anything I’d ever thought up in gaming.

    ME

  15. I remember my parents taking my D&D stuff away when I was in middle school. My mom, with a straight face, asked me if I was creating my classmates in the game and killing them. I just stared at her, slackjawed.

    To this day I still tease her about the fact she came up with an idea sicker and more twisted than anything I’d ever thought up in gaming.

    ME

  16. I remember my parents taking my D&D stuff away when I was in middle school. My mom, with a straight face, asked me if I was creating my classmates in the game and killing them. I just stared at her, slackjawed.

    To this day I still tease her about the fact she came up with an idea sicker and more twisted than anything I’d ever thought up in gaming.

    ME

  17. Re: Skewed

    There is always a skew. The trick is to not make it obvious, to them or yourself.

    But we’re human. We can’t help but see things through our own eyes.

    ME

  18. I remember watching news coverage, years ago, about a couple of boys who were listening to rock music and smoking pot right before they blew their brains out.

    The questions in my mind were:

    Where did they get the dope?
    Where did they get the gun?
    Where the hell were their parents?
    And why, oh why, is the news coverage focusing on the rock music? Surely that is the least of all possible ills here.

  19. I remember watching news coverage, years ago, about a couple of boys who were listening to rock music and smoking pot right before they blew their brains out.

    The questions in my mind were:

    Where did they get the dope?
    Where did they get the gun?
    Where the hell were their parents?
    And why, oh why, is the news coverage focusing on the rock music? Surely that is the least of all possible ills here.

  20. I remember watching news coverage, years ago, about a couple of boys who were listening to rock music and smoking pot right before they blew their brains out.

    The questions in my mind were:

    Where did they get the dope?
    Where did they get the gun?
    Where the hell were their parents?
    And why, oh why, is the news coverage focusing on the rock music? Surely that is the least of all possible ills here.

Leave a Reply

