So late for Friday that its a beautiful Saturday

Reading: I’m three quarters done with The King’s Gold and Captain Alatriste is as much fun as ever. Inigo is growing up and after reading the first three books, I can’t help but be proud of the good captain’s ward.

I also re-read the Starman Omnibus. The series holds up. It is occasionally over-written but still good super-hero fun. The Shade, a kind of second-rate Flash villain, is a absinthe-drinking anti-hero in this book. He says that he doesn’t do villainy in Opal City, his home town. Opal City and the surrounding Turk County are really rich, from the art deco skyscrapers of the city to the worn out barns of the county.

The links to the golden age Starman are well done. Robinson does a neat job of taking in every character in DC who has ever held the mantle, Starman and it all fits together well.

All in all, a neat beginning, a kind of trade paperback length origin story. I’m glad DC is compiling the series into big, pretty hard-covers.

Wearing: New Dickies jeans and a long-sleeved maroon-shirt.

Planning: Ithaca Roller Derby tonight!

Writing: Tinkering with this and that but it is about time to get back on 1st Quest and look back on it with un-pressured eyes.

How about you?

51 thoughts on “So late for Friday that its a beautiful Saturday

  1. Reading: Slowly working my way through The Pirate Queen, nonfiction on Queen Elizabeth I and how she used merchants and pirates to build security and military might for England. Just started reading the first Mouse Guard graphic novel. So far, it’s as good as everyone says it is.

    Wearing: Gray cargo shorts and my Strongbadzone T-shirt.

    Planning: Breakfast with family tomorrow morning, dinner with friends tomorrow night, day off on Monday.

    Creating: We’re starting a cool project at work. Our supervisor bought us a domain, and some teammates and I will be trying to rebuild our main website in Drupal, Joomla and ModX, to see if we can show solid evidence for switching from the CMS we bought to using a free, open source CMS for our websites.

  2. Reading: Slowly working my way through The Pirate Queen, nonfiction on Queen Elizabeth I and how she used merchants and pirates to build security and military might for England. Just started reading the first Mouse Guard graphic novel. So far, it’s as good as everyone says it is.

    Wearing: Gray cargo shorts and my Strongbadzone T-shirt.

    Planning: Breakfast with family tomorrow morning, dinner with friends tomorrow night, day off on Monday.

    Creating: We’re starting a cool project at work. Our supervisor bought us a domain, and some teammates and I will be trying to rebuild our main website in Drupal, Joomla and ModX, to see if we can show solid evidence for switching from the CMS we bought to using a free, open source CMS for our websites.

  3. Reading: Slowly working my way through The Pirate Queen, nonfiction on Queen Elizabeth I and how she used merchants and pirates to build security and military might for England. Just started reading the first Mouse Guard graphic novel. So far, it’s as good as everyone says it is.

    Wearing: Gray cargo shorts and my Strongbadzone T-shirt.

    Planning: Breakfast with family tomorrow morning, dinner with friends tomorrow night, day off on Monday.

    Creating: We’re starting a cool project at work. Our supervisor bought us a domain, and some teammates and I will be trying to rebuild our main website in Drupal, Joomla and ModX, to see if we can show solid evidence for switching from the CMS we bought to using a free, open source CMS for our websites.

  4. Packing has allowed me to rip through audiobooks like crazy. In the past few days I finished A Distant Mirror, Cat’s Cradle by Vonnegut, Swords and Deviltry (the first Fafhrd & The Grey Mouser book) by Fritz Leiber, and have started Extras by Scott Westerfeld.

  5. Packing has allowed me to rip through audiobooks like crazy. In the past few days I finished A Distant Mirror, Cat’s Cradle by Vonnegut, Swords and Deviltry (the first Fafhrd & The Grey Mouser book) by Fritz Leiber, and have started Extras by Scott Westerfeld.

  6. Packing has allowed me to rip through audiobooks like crazy. In the past few days I finished A Distant Mirror, Cat’s Cradle by Vonnegut, Swords and Deviltry (the first Fafhrd & The Grey Mouser book) by Fritz Leiber, and have started Extras by Scott Westerfeld.

  7. Reading: Dungeon Magazine and trying to get into Perdido Street Station.

    Wearing: Jeans that are starting to be too big (yay unexpected weight loss!)

    Planning: To have access to my stuff again now that I put every scrap in the basement in a well-labeled, stackable box.

    Writing: In A Wicked Age blog entries for my obscenely large local gaming crew.

      • Re: Obscenely Large Gaming Group

        Well, there’s 15 players in my weekly Wicked Age group (5-10 of which show up on a given week), not counting people who would like to join that group.

        Also, as of today there are 198 members of the Toronto Area Gamers, at least another 20 of whom want me to run a West Marches style 4e game that my heart just isn’t into.

        We are now looking at having 2 meetups of 25-30 members per month in addition to the regular games individual GMs are running.

        We are turning Toronto into a gaming city that is similar to, distinct from, but envious of, New York. This describes everything important about Toronto.

      • Re: Obscenely Large Gaming Group

        Well, there’s 15 players in my weekly Wicked Age group (5-10 of which show up on a given week), not counting people who would like to join that group.

        Also, as of today there are 198 members of the Toronto Area Gamers, at least another 20 of whom want me to run a West Marches style 4e game that my heart just isn’t into.

        We are now looking at having 2 meetups of 25-30 members per month in addition to the regular games individual GMs are running.

        We are turning Toronto into a gaming city that is similar to, distinct from, but envious of, New York. This describes everything important about Toronto.

  8. Reading: Dungeon Magazine and trying to get into Perdido Street Station.

    Wearing: Jeans that are starting to be too big (yay unexpected weight loss!)

    Planning: To have access to my stuff again now that I put every scrap in the basement in a well-labeled, stackable box.

    Writing: In A Wicked Age blog entries for my obscenely large local gaming crew.

  9. Reading: Dungeon Magazine and trying to get into Perdido Street Station.

    Wearing: Jeans that are starting to be too big (yay unexpected weight loss!)

    Planning: To have access to my stuff again now that I put every scrap in the basement in a well-labeled, stackable box.

    Writing: In A Wicked Age blog entries for my obscenely large local gaming crew.

  10. Reading: Switching off between Iain M. Banks’s Use of Weapons, the latest issue of Alarums and Excursions. and Lords of Summer for Changeling. I finished the wonderful anthology collection The Best Science Fiction and Fatnasy of the Year, Volume Two and Doris Pisercha’s Mr. Justice, which was less good. In fact, it was really bad. If it were a movie, I’d have suspected key scenes got lost on the cutting room floor. I’ll give her stuff another shot, as I’m wondering if part of the problem is that this book was half of an Ace double.

    Wearing: Jeans, a Flash Girls t-shirt, and loafers.

    Planning: Calling the urologist on Tuesday, whether or not the symptoms that may or may not mean I have or had a kidney stone are gone. Continuing to catalog our books. Preparing for ‘s Broadway musicals larps. Job hunting and / or doing freelance work.

    Writing: The beginning of my zine for Alarums and Excursions. Some pbem posts. Maybe the rest of my WorldCon report.

  11. Reading: Switching off between Iain M. Banks’s Use of Weapons, the latest issue of Alarums and Excursions. and Lords of Summer for Changeling. I finished the wonderful anthology collection The Best Science Fiction and Fatnasy of the Year, Volume Two and Doris Pisercha’s Mr. Justice, which was less good. In fact, it was really bad. If it were a movie, I’d have suspected key scenes got lost on the cutting room floor. I’ll give her stuff another shot, as I’m wondering if part of the problem is that this book was half of an Ace double.

    Wearing: Jeans, a Flash Girls t-shirt, and loafers.

    Planning: Calling the urologist on Tuesday, whether or not the symptoms that may or may not mean I have or had a kidney stone are gone. Continuing to catalog our books. Preparing for ‘s Broadway musicals larps. Job hunting and / or doing freelance work.

    Writing: The beginning of my zine for Alarums and Excursions. Some pbem posts. Maybe the rest of my WorldCon report.

  12. Reading: Switching off between Iain M. Banks’s Use of Weapons, the latest issue of Alarums and Excursions. and Lords of Summer for Changeling. I finished the wonderful anthology collection The Best Science Fiction and Fatnasy of the Year, Volume Two and Doris Pisercha’s Mr. Justice, which was less good. In fact, it was really bad. If it were a movie, I’d have suspected key scenes got lost on the cutting room floor. I’ll give her stuff another shot, as I’m wondering if part of the problem is that this book was half of an Ace double.

    Wearing: Jeans, a Flash Girls t-shirt, and loafers.

    Planning: Calling the urologist on Tuesday, whether or not the symptoms that may or may not mean I have or had a kidney stone are gone. Continuing to catalog our books. Preparing for ‘s Broadway musicals larps. Job hunting and / or doing freelance work.

    Writing: The beginning of my zine for Alarums and Excursions. Some pbem posts. Maybe the rest of my WorldCon report.

    • Starman Omnibus – digging in

      I think you’ll dig it. The art is really wonderful and the writing is sometimes over-wrought but it is far more hit than miss.

      I already pre-ordered the second volume and cannot wait.

    • Starman Omnibus – digging in

      I think you’ll dig it. The art is really wonderful and the writing is sometimes over-wrought but it is far more hit than miss.

      I already pre-ordered the second volume and cannot wait.

  13. Starman Omnibus – digging in

    I think you’ll dig it. The art is really wonderful and the writing is sometimes over-wrought but it is far more hit than miss.

    I already pre-ordered the second volume and cannot wait.

  14. Re: Obscenely Large Gaming Group

    Well, there’s 15 players in my weekly Wicked Age group (5-10 of which show up on a given week), not counting people who would like to join that group.

    Also, as of today there are 198 members of the Toronto Area Gamers, at least another 20 of whom want me to run a West Marches style 4e game that my heart just isn’t into.

    We are now looking at having 2 meetups of 25-30 members per month in addition to the regular games individual GMs are running.

    We are turning Toronto into a gaming city that is similar to, distinct from, but envious of, New York. This describes everything important about Toronto.

Leave a Reply

