Early and Sore Friday

I missed two yoga sessions this week, including this one, that begins in fifteen minutes or so. I am just too beat to head out right now and would like to get some game prep done for tonight and start outline a creative endeavor. So, I’ve got my headphones on and here I am with a big glass of water to start out the morning.

Reading
: Still reading the latest Captain Alatriste. I’d be done with it but I left it, along with the Magic Burner, at my work desk all weekend, leaving me reading old comics all weekend.

Wearing
: Man, its early. I’ve got comfy pajama pants and a sleeveless white t-shirt. But I’ve got a keen white button down shirt and a pair of jeans to wear today. Since shaving in the mohawkish haircut, I’ve been dressing up for work a little bit more.

Planning
: Darkpages game tonight with Aaron and Pete, UFC-watching on Saturday with a passle of folks at my place, and Pete (different from the first Pete) is teaching German longsword once a month with the first class being this Sunday. I am looking forward to that.

Writing
: Darkpages prep and outlining a project that I don’t want to jinx by mentioning too much, afraid I might scare it away.

And you?

30 thoughts on “Early and Sore Friday

  1. Reading: Been reading the Vinaya Pitaka which is the collection of Buddha’s rules for monks.

    Wearing: A towel. I just got out of the shower.

    Planning: Hanging out with Chris as he visits this weekend.

    Writing: Nothing at the moment.

  2. Reading: Been reading the Vinaya Pitaka which is the collection of Buddha’s rules for monks.

    Wearing: A towel. I just got out of the shower.

    Planning: Hanging out with Chris as he visits this weekend.

    Writing: Nothing at the moment.

  3. Reading: Been reading the Vinaya Pitaka which is the collection of Buddha’s rules for monks.

    Wearing: A towel. I just got out of the shower.

    Planning: Hanging out with Chris as he visits this weekend.

    Writing: Nothing at the moment.

  4. Reading: The Lucifer trades from Vertigo; fun so far! Also just started re-reading Purity of Blood, speaking of Captain Alatriste :-). Still finishing Shaman’s Crossing too, which is really good but which I had to put down to take a breath. Also reading Pathfinder beta release to see what I can toss into my 3.5 homebrew (see planning below).

    Wearing: Bathrobe, boxers, glasses.

    Planning: tweaking a resume for a job, working on some decklists for VTES. . . aaaaand planning a new D&D campaign for a pack of teenagers.

    Writing: scattered political screeds on the intarweb, and a treatment for the new campaign (which will be set a generation after the founding of Duncala, for those who know what that means).

  5. Reading: The Lucifer trades from Vertigo; fun so far! Also just started re-reading Purity of Blood, speaking of Captain Alatriste :-). Still finishing Shaman’s Crossing too, which is really good but which I had to put down to take a breath. Also reading Pathfinder beta release to see what I can toss into my 3.5 homebrew (see planning below).

    Wearing: Bathrobe, boxers, glasses.

    Planning: tweaking a resume for a job, working on some decklists for VTES. . . aaaaand planning a new D&D campaign for a pack of teenagers.

    Writing: scattered political screeds on the intarweb, and a treatment for the new campaign (which will be set a generation after the founding of Duncala, for those who know what that means).

  6. Reading: The Lucifer trades from Vertigo; fun so far! Also just started re-reading Purity of Blood, speaking of Captain Alatriste :-). Still finishing Shaman’s Crossing too, which is really good but which I had to put down to take a breath. Also reading Pathfinder beta release to see what I can toss into my 3.5 homebrew (see planning below).

    Wearing: Bathrobe, boxers, glasses.

    Planning: tweaking a resume for a job, working on some decklists for VTES. . . aaaaand planning a new D&D campaign for a pack of teenagers.

    Writing: scattered political screeds on the intarweb, and a treatment for the new campaign (which will be set a generation after the founding of Duncala, for those who know what that means).

  7. Reading: I gave up on the Forgotten Realms I was trying to read and moved on to Bestial.

    Wearing: Faded jeans and a Lunch Money t-shirt

    Planning: New World of Darkness game this weekend and my new project for Abstract Nova

    Writing: A couple of reviews, the intro chapter for that new project and a ghost story.

  8. Reading: I gave up on the Forgotten Realms I was trying to read and moved on to Bestial.

    Wearing: Faded jeans and a Lunch Money t-shirt

    Planning: New World of Darkness game this weekend and my new project for Abstract Nova

    Writing: A couple of reviews, the intro chapter for that new project and a ghost story.

  9. Reading: I gave up on the Forgotten Realms I was trying to read and moved on to Bestial.

    Wearing: Faded jeans and a Lunch Money t-shirt

    Planning: New World of Darkness game this weekend and my new project for Abstract Nova

    Writing: A couple of reviews, the intro chapter for that new project and a ghost story.

  10. Reading: Still going back and forth between Lords of Summer and Use of Weapons, both of which are good, if not quick reads. One thing I like about Use of Weapons is the same thing I liked about Bujold’s Barrayar (which is also in the omnibus Cordelia’s Honor): the multiple tech levels interacting. In Use of Weapons, folks way past the Singularity (where “folks” includes sentient drones and spaceships with really odd personalities) interact with more primitive folks (where “primitive” includes stone age cultures, cultures at our tech level, and cultures that are already colonizing other planets). In Barrayar, our heroine’s father-in-law, a general from a backwater planet that has only recently joined intergalactic society, says, as they are fleeing, on foot, in the woods, that the important thing in the current planetary political squabble is what the guys in orbit are thinking.

    Wearing: I’m about to take a shower, but when that’s done, I expect I’ll be wearing blue jeans and a t-shirt.

    Planning: Job hunting. Drinking lots of water, but not so much as to risk hurting myself, in an effort to flood out a possible kidney stone. Trying to finish the books I’m reading. Figuring out where to put my copy of Delta Green: Countdown so that it’s easily accessible. Going to the first official meeting of Columbia University’s Games Club this academic year. Straightening out my medical bills. Picking up Annie Get Your Gun from the library to watch with as part of preparing for the Lullaby of Broadway larp.

    Writing: My zine for Alarums & Excursions. Maybe some outlines of infodumps and adventure ideas for the pbem. Maybe write up the rest of my WorldCon notes.

  11. Reading: Still going back and forth between Lords of Summer and Use of Weapons, both of which are good, if not quick reads. One thing I like about Use of Weapons is the same thing I liked about Bujold’s Barrayar (which is also in the omnibus Cordelia’s Honor): the multiple tech levels interacting. In Use of Weapons, folks way past the Singularity (where “folks” includes sentient drones and spaceships with really odd personalities) interact with more primitive folks (where “primitive” includes stone age cultures, cultures at our tech level, and cultures that are already colonizing other planets). In Barrayar, our heroine’s father-in-law, a general from a backwater planet that has only recently joined intergalactic society, says, as they are fleeing, on foot, in the woods, that the important thing in the current planetary political squabble is what the guys in orbit are thinking.

    Wearing: I’m about to take a shower, but when that’s done, I expect I’ll be wearing blue jeans and a t-shirt.

    Planning: Job hunting. Drinking lots of water, but not so much as to risk hurting myself, in an effort to flood out a possible kidney stone. Trying to finish the books I’m reading. Figuring out where to put my copy of Delta Green: Countdown so that it’s easily accessible. Going to the first official meeting of Columbia University’s Games Club this academic year. Straightening out my medical bills. Picking up Annie Get Your Gun from the library to watch with as part of preparing for the Lullaby of Broadway larp.

    Writing: My zine for Alarums & Excursions. Maybe some outlines of infodumps and adventure ideas for the pbem. Maybe write up the rest of my WorldCon notes.

  12. Reading: Still going back and forth between Lords of Summer and Use of Weapons, both of which are good, if not quick reads. One thing I like about Use of Weapons is the same thing I liked about Bujold’s Barrayar (which is also in the omnibus Cordelia’s Honor): the multiple tech levels interacting. In Use of Weapons, folks way past the Singularity (where “folks” includes sentient drones and spaceships with really odd personalities) interact with more primitive folks (where “primitive” includes stone age cultures, cultures at our tech level, and cultures that are already colonizing other planets). In Barrayar, our heroine’s father-in-law, a general from a backwater planet that has only recently joined intergalactic society, says, as they are fleeing, on foot, in the woods, that the important thing in the current planetary political squabble is what the guys in orbit are thinking.

    Wearing: I’m about to take a shower, but when that’s done, I expect I’ll be wearing blue jeans and a t-shirt.

    Planning: Job hunting. Drinking lots of water, but not so much as to risk hurting myself, in an effort to flood out a possible kidney stone. Trying to finish the books I’m reading. Figuring out where to put my copy of Delta Green: Countdown so that it’s easily accessible. Going to the first official meeting of Columbia University’s Games Club this academic year. Straightening out my medical bills. Picking up Annie Get Your Gun from the library to watch with as part of preparing for the Lullaby of Broadway larp.

    Writing: My zine for Alarums & Excursions. Maybe some outlines of infodumps and adventure ideas for the pbem. Maybe write up the rest of my WorldCon notes.

  13. Reading
    : Magic Burner and In a Wicked Age

    Wearing
    : At work: some Teva sandals, sleeveless white t-shirt, blue jeans. I love being a geologist.

    Planning
    : Some solo Burning THACO with my lovely, ladyfriend. Departing to Chaco Canyon tomorrow. Sunday looking at river deposits.

    Writing
    : An abstract for AGU in San Francisco this December and trying to write an RPG *shakes head*

  14. Reading
    : Magic Burner and In a Wicked Age

    Wearing
    : At work: some Teva sandals, sleeveless white t-shirt, blue jeans. I love being a geologist.

    Planning
    : Some solo Burning THACO with my lovely, ladyfriend. Departing to Chaco Canyon tomorrow. Sunday looking at river deposits.

    Writing
    : An abstract for AGU in San Francisco this December and trying to write an RPG *shakes head*

  15. Reading
    : Magic Burner and In a Wicked Age

    Wearing
    : At work: some Teva sandals, sleeveless white t-shirt, blue jeans. I love being a geologist.

    Planning
    : Some solo Burning THACO with my lovely, ladyfriend. Departing to Chaco Canyon tomorrow. Sunday looking at river deposits.

    Writing
    : An abstract for AGU in San Francisco this December and trying to write an RPG *shakes head*

  16. Reading: Newton’s Cannon, which I put down in order to blaze through World War Z, which is fantastic

    Wearing: Jeans, button down blue shirt, and my running shoes, which are worn out enough, but not torn up enough, to become my new default work shoes

    Planning: Possible board games and Gamers: Dorkness Rising viewing tonight, as well as also figuring out what gaming we’re going to be doing for future Fridays. And there is the surprise party we’re getting together for tomorrow night.

    Writing: This post. I should really get my act together and compile my dad’s Appalachian Trail journal for book form.

  17. Reading: Newton’s Cannon, which I put down in order to blaze through World War Z, which is fantastic

    Wearing: Jeans, button down blue shirt, and my running shoes, which are worn out enough, but not torn up enough, to become my new default work shoes

    Planning: Possible board games and Gamers: Dorkness Rising viewing tonight, as well as also figuring out what gaming we’re going to be doing for future Fridays. And there is the surprise party we’re getting together for tomorrow night.

    Writing: This post. I should really get my act together and compile my dad’s Appalachian Trail journal for book form.

  18. Reading: Newton’s Cannon, which I put down in order to blaze through World War Z, which is fantastic

    Wearing: Jeans, button down blue shirt, and my running shoes, which are worn out enough, but not torn up enough, to become my new default work shoes

    Planning: Possible board games and Gamers: Dorkness Rising viewing tonight, as well as also figuring out what gaming we’re going to be doing for future Fridays. And there is the surprise party we’re getting together for tomorrow night.

    Writing: This post. I should really get my act together and compile my dad’s Appalachian Trail journal for book form.

  19. Reading:
    The Whole Shebang- the massive collected volume of Scud: the Disposable Assassin, including one-shot spinoffs which is superawesome. Also flipping through various games for inspiration on my own stuff.

    Wearing:
    Adidas warmup pants. Workout then shower is the plan.

    Planning:
    Go see Wall-E this weekend, finally. Hangout at friends b-day party. Housecleaning.

    Writing:
    Not much right now. Letting the brain lie fallow.

  20. Reading:
    The Whole Shebang- the massive collected volume of Scud: the Disposable Assassin, including one-shot spinoffs which is superawesome. Also flipping through various games for inspiration on my own stuff.

    Wearing:
    Adidas warmup pants. Workout then shower is the plan.

    Planning:
    Go see Wall-E this weekend, finally. Hangout at friends b-day party. Housecleaning.

    Writing:
    Not much right now. Letting the brain lie fallow.

  21. Reading:
    The Whole Shebang- the massive collected volume of Scud: the Disposable Assassin, including one-shot spinoffs which is superawesome. Also flipping through various games for inspiration on my own stuff.

    Wearing:
    Adidas warmup pants. Workout then shower is the plan.

    Planning:
    Go see Wall-E this weekend, finally. Hangout at friends b-day party. Housecleaning.

    Writing:
    Not much right now. Letting the brain lie fallow.

  22. Since shaving in the mohawkish haircut, I’ve been dressing up for work a little bit more.

    I did that too when I first shaved my head.

    Pete (different from the first Pete) is teaching German longsword once a month with the first class being this Sunday. I am looking forward to that.

    Oof. I’m jealous. Those longsword classes rock. And the movements translate so well to other weapons work…

    • I think I am going to keep up the mohawk dressy for work thing. I like how it looks and I think coming to work unshaven in jeans and a t-shirt + a mohawk is a little bit too much for me.

      The longsword stuff is really neat. I’m looking forward to digging into it.

    • I think I am going to keep up the mohawk dressy for work thing. I like how it looks and I think coming to work unshaven in jeans and a t-shirt + a mohawk is a little bit too much for me.

      The longsword stuff is really neat. I’m looking forward to digging into it.

  23. Since shaving in the mohawkish haircut, I’ve been dressing up for work a little bit more.

    I did that too when I first shaved my head.

    Pete (different from the first Pete) is teaching German longsword once a month with the first class being this Sunday. I am looking forward to that.

    Oof. I’m jealous. Those longsword classes rock. And the movements translate so well to other weapons work…

  24. Since shaving in the mohawkish haircut, I’ve been dressing up for work a little bit more.

    I did that too when I first shaved my head.

    Pete (different from the first Pete) is teaching German longsword once a month with the first class being this Sunday. I am looking forward to that.

    Oof. I’m jealous. Those longsword classes rock. And the movements translate so well to other weapons work…

  25. I think I am going to keep up the mohawk dressy for work thing. I like how it looks and I think coming to work unshaven in jeans and a t-shirt + a mohawk is a little bit too much for me.

    The longsword stuff is really neat. I’m looking forward to digging into it.

Leave a Reply

