Northlanders Volume 1: Sven the Returned (first thoughts mini-review)

Northlanders Vol. 1: Sven The Returned Northlanders Vol. 1: Sven The Returned by Brian Wood

My review


rating: 4 of 5 stars
I read Northlanders in single issues.

It reads like a Burning Wheel campaign run by Thor Olavsrud when the table is in a particularly brutal mood.

In non-indie tabletop RPG jargon, it is a new comics series by Brian Wood, author of DMZ. DMZ left me cold but a new series about vikings was too good to pass up.

I liked it. It was bloody and rather than try to make the language archaic, it just surrendered to modern language, dropped -F- Bombs and not giving a fuck.

Something about the role of women in the series made my head itch but I’ll have to read the arc again to suss out exactly what it was. When I do, I’ll write another review with some more depth to it.

View all my reviews.

3 thoughts on “Northlanders Volume 1: Sven the Returned (first thoughts mini-review)

  1. I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars as well.

    The series inspired me to roll a Viking for a 4E campaign:

    http://nemomeme.livejournal.com/#entry_7386

    and I’m totally going to steal the Thora character arc for part of his backstory or even a short story if I’m not able to get it to the table.

    As a straight up Viking tale I understand the people who found it lacking, but the fish-out-of-water thing that Wood does so well (DMZ, Local), was pitch perfect.

    I loved the artwork.

  2. I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars as well.

    The series inspired me to roll a Viking for a 4E campaign:

    http://nemomeme.livejournal.com/#entry_7386

    and I’m totally going to steal the Thora character arc for part of his backstory or even a short story if I’m not able to get it to the table.

    As a straight up Viking tale I understand the people who found it lacking, but the fish-out-of-water thing that Wood does so well (DMZ, Local), was pitch perfect.

    I loved the artwork.

  3. I’d give it 4 out of 5 stars as well.

    The series inspired me to roll a Viking for a 4E campaign:

    http://nemomeme.livejournal.com/#entry_7386

    and I’m totally going to steal the Thora character arc for part of his backstory or even a short story if I’m not able to get it to the table.

    As a straight up Viking tale I understand the people who found it lacking, but the fish-out-of-water thing that Wood does so well (DMZ, Local), was pitch perfect.

    I loved the artwork.

Leave a Reply

