I am weak. The Friends of the Library Book Sale strikes again.

This conversation happened this morning;

Julie: Have you been to the Friends of the Library Book Sale?

(Yes, Julie talks with hyperlinks; it is one of her many super-powers)

Judd: Paula invited me this weekend but I couldn’t make it. I doubt I’ll go. I work in a library and just don’t need more books around.

But…I was driving right by it on the way home.

For thirty bucks I got:

A really keen hard-cover book for Janaki.

All of Arthur C. Clarke’s Oddyssey books in softcover.

John Varley’s Red Thunder and Kim Stanley Robinson’s Red Mars in softcover.

Broken Angels and Altered Carbon by Richard K. Morgan in softcover but big trade paperback format so I can more easily find quotes for an upcoming Sorcerer game to put in the setting document and to aggressively toss them at friends (Pete and Aaron, these books are being aimed right at you).

Hardcover copy of Cosmos by Carl Sagan.

Hardcover copy of Accelerando by Charles Stross.

A big ole softcover textbook with a $43.75 price tag called The Cosmic Perspective: The Solar System Fourth Edition by Bennett, Donahue, Schneider and Voit.

I am on a solar system kick.

33 thoughts on “I am weak. The Friends of the Library Book Sale strikes again.

  1. Ours is this weekend. Don’t tell anybody but my wife has been sneaking down into the bookmobile garage and pre-positioning certain items for a hasty sale. Certain ITEMS OF GREAT POWER.

    It is one of the secret perks of librarianship, Judd – they will tell you about it when you graduate.

    –JMstar

  2. Ours is this weekend. Don’t tell anybody but my wife has been sneaking down into the bookmobile garage and pre-positioning certain items for a hasty sale. Certain ITEMS OF GREAT POWER.

    It is one of the secret perks of librarianship, Judd – they will tell you about it when you graduate.

    –JMstar

  3. Ours is this weekend. Don’t tell anybody but my wife has been sneaking down into the bookmobile garage and pre-positioning certain items for a hasty sale. Certain ITEMS OF GREAT POWER.

    It is one of the secret perks of librarianship, Judd – they will tell you about it when you graduate.

    –JMstar

  4. LOL. We all have too many books, and I’m a librarian but — book sales are great. However, I really do have less time for reading than ever, so I only picked up one book. It was pretty crowded when we went and there were some annoying people milling around, so we didn’t stay that long, either.

  5. LOL. We all have too many books, and I’m a librarian but — book sales are great. However, I really do have less time for reading than ever, so I only picked up one book. It was pretty crowded when we went and there were some annoying people milling around, so we didn’t stay that long, either.

  6. LOL. We all have too many books, and I’m a librarian but — book sales are great. However, I really do have less time for reading than ever, so I only picked up one book. It was pretty crowded when we went and there were some annoying people milling around, so we didn’t stay that long, either.

  7. Mmmm, books

    Score! That’s quite a haul. And you’re a librarian, supporting Friends of the Library. What could be more natural?

    There’s a site < HREF="http://www.booksalefinder.com/">Book Sale Finder<> that tracks library book sales; you can even give them your zip code and a range and they’ll email you weekly with a list of all nearby library book sales. It’s very hazardous to one’s bookshelf space, though.

  8. Mmmm, books

    Score! That’s quite a haul. And you’re a librarian, supporting Friends of the Library. What could be more natural?

    There’s a site < HREF="http://www.booksalefinder.com/">Book Sale Finder<> that tracks library book sales; you can even give them your zip code and a range and they’ll email you weekly with a list of all nearby library book sales. It’s very hazardous to one’s bookshelf space, though.

  9. Mmmm, books

    Score! That’s quite a haul. And you’re a librarian, supporting Friends of the Library. What could be more natural?

    There’s a site < HREF="http://www.booksalefinder.com/">Book Sale Finder<> that tracks library book sales; you can even give them your zip code and a range and they’ll email you weekly with a list of all nearby library book sales. It’s very hazardous to one’s bookshelf space, though.

  10. We must have missed each other by mere seconds. I went out to the booksale pretty much right after you left, and you must have also, because by the time I got to Paula’s at 3 for the Ars game, you had already posted this. And after we both said we weren’t going to go. Huh.

      • LOL.

        The game was OK, mostly because we were all really tired. This was the third session in a row where I had worked the night before and then had slept three and a half hours, so I spend most of the day staring into space blankly and slack-jawed. I am looking forward to switching the game back to Sunday again.

      • LOL.

        The game was OK, mostly because we were all really tired. This was the third session in a row where I had worked the night before and then had slept three and a half hours, so I spend most of the day staring into space blankly and slack-jawed. I am looking forward to switching the game back to Sunday again.

  11. We must have missed each other by mere seconds. I went out to the booksale pretty much right after you left, and you must have also, because by the time I got to Paula’s at 3 for the Ars game, you had already posted this. And after we both said we weren’t going to go. Huh.

  12. We must have missed each other by mere seconds. I went out to the booksale pretty much right after you left, and you must have also, because by the time I got to Paula’s at 3 for the Ars game, you had already posted this. And after we both said we weren’t going to go. Huh.

  13. LOL.

    The game was OK, mostly because we were all really tired. This was the third session in a row where I had worked the night before and then had slept three and a half hours, so I spend most of the day staring into space blankly and slack-jawed. I am looking forward to switching the game back to Sunday again.

Leave a Reply

