A well dropped book

I was getting dressed for yoga the other day and a science fiction novel fell out of my bag. One of the guys in the dressing room saw it and asked if I liked science fiction and we got to talking. He told me that he was going to leave a bag of books for me but I honestly forgot about it.

This morning I picked up the shopping bag full of books but barely got a chance to glance at them. It is interesting to me how many pockets of geekdom there are and how often they are kind of isolated.

I finished 2010 last night and am making my way through Accelerando, which has grabbed me.

The first thirty or so pages of Accelerando is making me think about science fiction and sex acts. There is something there, something about how science fiction novels comment on their own fictional worlds and how they are different from our own through sexuality and good ole (or brand new kinds of) fuckin’.

More on that later…

For now, NASA Image of the Day, Saturn:

36 thoughts on “A well dropped book

  1. Accelerando was a good read – I’m a big fan of Singularity stories. That said, I actually like the sequel, Glasshouse, better.

    If you like Accelerando, I could recommend a couple other books you’d probably enjoy as well.

      • Re: Recommendations!

        Across Realtime, by Vernor Vinge – it’s a pair of short novels bridged by a short story, all set in the same world, and dealing with a technological singularity from several angles. It’s also got a murder mystery spanning 50 million years.

        The Atrocity Archives, by Charles Stross – definitely lighter than his sci-fi work, it’s basically about an occult computer hacker in a Lovecraftian universe. This one reminds me of some RPG campaigns I’ve played.

        Only Forward, by Michael Marshall Smith – Smith’s writing (especially in this book) feels something like a combination of Stross and Douglas Adams. He’s the only author I know who can tell you up front what he’s about to do and still surprise you when he actually does it.

        and…

        The Engines of God, by Jack McDevitt – this is more straight-up sci-fi, with less humor than the other three, but an amazing portrayal of the universe beyond Earth as sparse, almost empty, and heartbreakingly beautiful.

      • Re: Recommendations!

        Across Realtime, by Vernor Vinge – it’s a pair of short novels bridged by a short story, all set in the same world, and dealing with a technological singularity from several angles. It’s also got a murder mystery spanning 50 million years.

        The Atrocity Archives, by Charles Stross – definitely lighter than his sci-fi work, it’s basically about an occult computer hacker in a Lovecraftian universe. This one reminds me of some RPG campaigns I’ve played.

        Only Forward, by Michael Marshall Smith – Smith’s writing (especially in this book) feels something like a combination of Stross and Douglas Adams. He’s the only author I know who can tell you up front what he’s about to do and still surprise you when he actually does it.

        and…

        The Engines of God, by Jack McDevitt – this is more straight-up sci-fi, with less humor than the other three, but an amazing portrayal of the universe beyond Earth as sparse, almost empty, and heartbreakingly beautiful.

  2. Accelerando was a good read – I’m a big fan of Singularity stories. That said, I actually like the sequel, Glasshouse, better.

    If you like Accelerando, I could recommend a couple other books you’d probably enjoy as well.

  3. Accelerando was a good read – I’m a big fan of Singularity stories. That said, I actually like the sequel, Glasshouse, better.

    If you like Accelerando, I could recommend a couple other books you’d probably enjoy as well.

  4. Re: Recommendations!

    Across Realtime, by Vernor Vinge – it’s a pair of short novels bridged by a short story, all set in the same world, and dealing with a technological singularity from several angles. It’s also got a murder mystery spanning 50 million years.

    The Atrocity Archives, by Charles Stross – definitely lighter than his sci-fi work, it’s basically about an occult computer hacker in a Lovecraftian universe. This one reminds me of some RPG campaigns I’ve played.

    Only Forward, by Michael Marshall Smith – Smith’s writing (especially in this book) feels something like a combination of Stross and Douglas Adams. He’s the only author I know who can tell you up front what he’s about to do and still surprise you when he actually does it.

    and…

    The Engines of God, by Jack McDevitt – this is more straight-up sci-fi, with less humor than the other three, but an amazing portrayal of the universe beyond Earth as sparse, almost empty, and heartbreakingly beautiful.

  5. You are a constant source of desktop backgrounds.

    I’ve also been accused of some sort of criminality for not having read Accelerando, though I’m enjoying Downbelow Station right now. It’s gonna have a hard time living up to Cyteen in theme and it shares its stylistic quirks that I find difficult.

    Frankly, you’re right to bail on the Millennium series there. I had a feeling you might.

  6. You are a constant source of desktop backgrounds.

    I’ve also been accused of some sort of criminality for not having read Accelerando, though I’m enjoying Downbelow Station right now. It’s gonna have a hard time living up to Cyteen in theme and it shares its stylistic quirks that I find difficult.

    Frankly, you’re right to bail on the Millennium series there. I had a feeling you might.

  7. You are a constant source of desktop backgrounds.

    I’ve also been accused of some sort of criminality for not having read Accelerando, though I’m enjoying Downbelow Station right now. It’s gonna have a hard time living up to Cyteen in theme and it shares its stylistic quirks that I find difficult.

    Frankly, you’re right to bail on the Millennium series there. I had a feeling you might.

  8. Re: You’d dig it the most.

    When I decide to research something I get kinda aggressive. It is the library geek in me.

    I found this list of the top ten Astronomy blogs and just surfed around, picking up RSS feeds from there.

Leave a Reply

