Crossfit

I am fascinated by this fitness movement called Crossfit.

The head of the Crossfit movement was interviewed recently and gave the Crossfit definition of fitness:

“So Girevik readers can get some sense of our method, here from that issue of the CrossFit Journal is “World-Class Fitness in 100 Words”:

“Eat meat and vegetables, nuts and seeds, some fruit, little starch and no sugar. Keep intake levels that will support exercise but not body fat. Practice and train major lifts: deadlift, clean, squat, presses, C&J, snatch. Similarly, master the basics of gymnastics: pull-ups, dips, rope climb, push-ups, sit-ups, presses to handstand, pirouettes, flips, splits, and holds. Bike, run, swim, row, etc, hard and fast. Five or six days per week mix these elements in as many combinations and patterns as creativity will allow. Routine is the enemy. Keep workouts short and intense. Regularly learn and play new sports.”

The nearest gym is in Syracuse, a bit of a haul but Jim and Charlotte and I might head up there for their foundations training, learning the basic movements of the exercises they use.

24 thoughts on “Crossfit

  1. My friend Dan uses their daily suggestions, modified to fit his equipment-less life. He likes the variety and says it works well.

    –Jmstar

  2. My friend Dan uses their daily suggestions, modified to fit his equipment-less life. He likes the variety and says it works well.

    –Jmstar

  3. My friend Dan uses their daily suggestions, modified to fit his equipment-less life. He likes the variety and says it works well.

    –Jmstar

  4. Yeah, I heard about it the other day as well.

    Utilizing the internet and internet communities to promote collaborative fitness? Win.

    I’m slowly getting back into a rythm after I lost about 10 pounds in the past two weeks (2 from walking everywhere in Japan, 8 from being sick), but I too am going to use them (modified) as a supplement to my workouts.

    -Andy

  5. Yeah, I heard about it the other day as well.

    Utilizing the internet and internet communities to promote collaborative fitness? Win.

    I’m slowly getting back into a rythm after I lost about 10 pounds in the past two weeks (2 from walking everywhere in Japan, 8 from being sick), but I too am going to use them (modified) as a supplement to my workouts.

    -Andy

  6. Yeah, I heard about it the other day as well.

    Utilizing the internet and internet communities to promote collaborative fitness? Win.

    I’m slowly getting back into a rythm after I lost about 10 pounds in the past two weeks (2 from walking everywhere in Japan, 8 from being sick), but I too am going to use them (modified) as a supplement to my workouts.

    -Andy

  7. A couple of my Army compadres do Cross-fit (usingthe interwebs to find work-outs and operating in a four man team with our limited equipment). As someone well below them in fitness level, I have no problem saying I am horribly intimidated by their work-outs.

    But the one thing I have to say in favour of it? Man, do they look like they’re having fun. Painful, exhausting fun, but fun none-the-less.

    Doug.

  8. A couple of my Army compadres do Cross-fit (usingthe interwebs to find work-outs and operating in a four man team with our limited equipment). As someone well below them in fitness level, I have no problem saying I am horribly intimidated by their work-outs.

    But the one thing I have to say in favour of it? Man, do they look like they’re having fun. Painful, exhausting fun, but fun none-the-less.

    Doug.

  9. A couple of my Army compadres do Cross-fit (usingthe interwebs to find work-outs and operating in a four man team with our limited equipment). As someone well below them in fitness level, I have no problem saying I am horribly intimidated by their work-outs.

    But the one thing I have to say in favour of it? Man, do they look like they’re having fun. Painful, exhausting fun, but fun none-the-less.

    Doug.

  10. I’ve already mentioned this to Judd, but for anyone else reading his post and interested in the topic… When I switched from steady-state aerobics and slow-steady strength training to exercising with intensity for power, I started to see impressive improvement in my fitness levels. Better results in less time seems good to me. I’ve only been doing this for a few months, but I’m sold.

  11. I’ve already mentioned this to Judd, but for anyone else reading his post and interested in the topic… When I switched from steady-state aerobics and slow-steady strength training to exercising with intensity for power, I started to see impressive improvement in my fitness levels. Better results in less time seems good to me. I’ve only been doing this for a few months, but I’m sold.

  12. I’ve already mentioned this to Judd, but for anyone else reading his post and interested in the topic… When I switched from steady-state aerobics and slow-steady strength training to exercising with intensity for power, I started to see impressive improvement in my fitness levels. Better results in less time seems good to me. I’ve only been doing this for a few months, but I’m sold.

  13. Yeah, another benefit is that it keeps me interested. There’s enough variety and the WODs are generally short enough to keep things fun. Between crossfit and gymnastics class, I must say I’m feeling pretty satisfied with my fitness routine these days.

  14. Yeah, another benefit is that it keeps me interested. There’s enough variety and the WODs are generally short enough to keep things fun. Between crossfit and gymnastics class, I must say I’m feeling pretty satisfied with my fitness routine these days.

  15. Yeah, another benefit is that it keeps me interested. There’s enough variety and the WODs are generally short enough to keep things fun. Between crossfit and gymnastics class, I must say I’m feeling pretty satisfied with my fitness routine these days.

Leave a Reply

