Nothing Finished Today

I woke up at three this morning, scratching a scab on my leg. Couldn’t find my anti-biotic ointment, so I was ready to head out to Wegman’s and pick some more up but I could not find my wallet.

Found my wallet in a part of my jacket that I never use because the pocket is ripped. Swapped jackets to my more serious and more pocket-friendly black winter jacket with Sith-hood.

This thing on my leg was kind of ugly and I was worried it was a staph infection or ringworm. So, I called out of work and made a doctor’s appointment. No ringworm, no staph, just a spider-bite gone wrong. Oh, and get some B12, as my blood-work showed I was on the low end of normal, not an oddity for Celiac’s folk.

Weighed in at 210, a nice weight, also, funny enough, when I wrestled Pete C. last week and got on his back, he grunted, “Feels like you are clockin’ in at about two-ten.” Good call, Pete.

Went to Wegman’s after the doc and got my ointment, called my boss and told her I could come in if needed but she has not called me back. Also got sme B-12 but could not get an answer as to it being gluten-free. Wegman’s said they would call me when they figured it out, something about the vitamins not being listed with the rest of their items.

Winters tires were complicated by my father, the car’s previous owner, having put non-standard wheels and rims on the car, a measurement of wheel that had no winter tires that fit. So, I had to order wheels, due in next week.

Got home, piled some laundry together and shot the shat with Jeff H. in the kitchen about this weekend’s awesome UFC card.

Oy, this day.

I am going to get a work out in and do some laundry, just so I feel like I completed something.

How is your week going?

36 thoughts on “Nothing Finished Today

  1. Glad you got a clean bill of health. One of the things I got done today was mailing off 1Q. You can expect on Saturday.

    Would ya believe that I will have logged a full work week before I leave tonight? Everything tomorrow is sauce for the goose (which is how I feel: cooked).

    • Yay and Drained

      Yay, 1Q in the mail! Thanks, Michael. I can’t wait to see it with your fresh eyes. Tasty, delicious fresh eyes. Gluten free. Mmmmm.

      Oy, it sounds like your job leaves you pretty drained, pretty often, man. Any chance of looking around elsewhere or do you love what you do?

    • Yay and Drained

      Yay, 1Q in the mail! Thanks, Michael. I can’t wait to see it with your fresh eyes. Tasty, delicious fresh eyes. Gluten free. Mmmmm.

      Oy, it sounds like your job leaves you pretty drained, pretty often, man. Any chance of looking around elsewhere or do you love what you do?

  2. Glad you got a clean bill of health. One of the things I got done today was mailing off 1Q. You can expect on Saturday.

    Would ya believe that I will have logged a full work week before I leave tonight? Everything tomorrow is sauce for the goose (which is how I feel: cooked).

  3. Glad you got a clean bill of health. One of the things I got done today was mailing off 1Q. You can expect on Saturday.

    Would ya believe that I will have logged a full work week before I leave tonight? Everything tomorrow is sauce for the goose (which is how I feel: cooked).

  4. Busy. Had a major project wrap up Monday, two more big projects due next tuesday, plus starting up on two projects this week. And we planted close to a hundred trees this afternoon down just past Wegmans. And took a field trip yesterday to Taughannok (sp) Gorge. Surviving, though. Looking forward to December and end of classes.

  5. Busy. Had a major project wrap up Monday, two more big projects due next tuesday, plus starting up on two projects this week. And we planted close to a hundred trees this afternoon down just past Wegmans. And took a field trip yesterday to Taughannok (sp) Gorge. Surviving, though. Looking forward to December and end of classes.

  6. Busy. Had a major project wrap up Monday, two more big projects due next tuesday, plus starting up on two projects this week. And we planted close to a hundred trees this afternoon down just past Wegmans. And took a field trip yesterday to Taughannok (sp) Gorge. Surviving, though. Looking forward to December and end of classes.

  7. “Oy, this day” describes mine too. Just a bit of a funk kind of day. But just wallowing in it for a little bit make me feel like, “ok, now that that’s done, it’s time to move on.” So now I’m going to clean for a few minutes before going to my ceramics class. This day is yet redeemable. 🙂

      • Re: Ceramics

        It was ok. I went in all energized and in the mood, and blew every piece I tried to make in the first half – the clay I had was too soft, and I was fighting it by trying to make the delicate or large pieces I usually make. I was mad. I considered calling it an early night, but instead I took a little break, and then went back to my wheel ready to humor the clay and make smaller pieces, like I should have from the start. It worked and I got 3 nice medium-sized bowls from it. So it had a happy ending. But some days just seem a little…off. And ya just gotta roll with ‘um.

        So did you get some things completed?

      • Re: Ceramics

        It was ok. I went in all energized and in the mood, and blew every piece I tried to make in the first half – the clay I had was too soft, and I was fighting it by trying to make the delicate or large pieces I usually make. I was mad. I considered calling it an early night, but instead I took a little break, and then went back to my wheel ready to humor the clay and make smaller pieces, like I should have from the start. It worked and I got 3 nice medium-sized bowls from it. So it had a happy ending. But some days just seem a little…off. And ya just gotta roll with ‘um.

        So did you get some things completed?

  8. “Oy, this day” describes mine too. Just a bit of a funk kind of day. But just wallowing in it for a little bit make me feel like, “ok, now that that’s done, it’s time to move on.” So now I’m going to clean for a few minutes before going to my ceramics class. This day is yet redeemable. 🙂

  9. “Oy, this day” describes mine too. Just a bit of a funk kind of day. But just wallowing in it for a little bit make me feel like, “ok, now that that’s done, it’s time to move on.” So now I’m going to clean for a few minutes before going to my ceramics class. This day is yet redeemable. 🙂

  10. Yay and Drained

    Yay, 1Q in the mail! Thanks, Michael. I can’t wait to see it with your fresh eyes. Tasty, delicious fresh eyes. Gluten free. Mmmmm.

    Oy, it sounds like your job leaves you pretty drained, pretty often, man. Any chance of looking around elsewhere or do you love what you do?

  11. Re: Planting

    City of Ithaca bought the trees. We planted them as part of our “Creating the Urban Eden” aka Woody Plants Horticulture class. Exercise in bare-root planting (as opposed to ball & burlap). So, that was just our class.

  12. Re: Ceramics

    It was ok. I went in all energized and in the mood, and blew every piece I tried to make in the first half – the clay I had was too soft, and I was fighting it by trying to make the delicate or large pieces I usually make. I was mad. I considered calling it an early night, but instead I took a little break, and then went back to my wheel ready to humor the clay and make smaller pieces, like I should have from the start. It worked and I got 3 nice medium-sized bowls from it. So it had a happy ending. But some days just seem a little…off. And ya just gotta roll with ‘um.

    So did you get some things completed?

  13. Let’s see. A lot of sleeping and odd hours. More rounds of family soap opera. Working out a budget given I’m still job hunting and unemployment payments end this week — we have one that should work, and we’ll test it. Writing up last weekend’s larp and planning for this weekend’s last minute plan to go to Intercon MidAtlantic for mini-larps. Realizing my former boss is right and that it would be wonderful if I could figure out how to leverage larp writing skills into a paying job. Getting the super to help close a window — when we take out the airconditioner, it tends to decide it will stay open at either the top or the bottom — and at least starting on fixing the lintel of the bedroom. Getting to read Un Lun Dun.

    Finishing River of Gods, which is not exactly to my taste, but is good enough I didn’t not want to finish it. It’s excellent sf, set in the world of 2047, particularly India, where, while the characters are not unlikeable, they’re also less the point than the world. At WorldCon this year, I went to the panel on the 20 most important works of sf from the last 20 years. This was the one book that made all the panelists’ lists.

  14. Let’s see. A lot of sleeping and odd hours. More rounds of family soap opera. Working out a budget given I’m still job hunting and unemployment payments end this week — we have one that should work, and we’ll test it. Writing up last weekend’s larp and planning for this weekend’s last minute plan to go to Intercon MidAtlantic for mini-larps. Realizing my former boss is right and that it would be wonderful if I could figure out how to leverage larp writing skills into a paying job. Getting the super to help close a window — when we take out the airconditioner, it tends to decide it will stay open at either the top or the bottom — and at least starting on fixing the lintel of the bedroom. Getting to read Un Lun Dun.

    Finishing River of Gods, which is not exactly to my taste, but is good enough I didn’t not want to finish it. It’s excellent sf, set in the world of 2047, particularly India, where, while the characters are not unlikeable, they’re also less the point than the world. At WorldCon this year, I went to the panel on the 20 most important works of sf from the last 20 years. This was the one book that made all the panelists’ lists.

  15. Let’s see. A lot of sleeping and odd hours. More rounds of family soap opera. Working out a budget given I’m still job hunting and unemployment payments end this week — we have one that should work, and we’ll test it. Writing up last weekend’s larp and planning for this weekend’s last minute plan to go to Intercon MidAtlantic for mini-larps. Realizing my former boss is right and that it would be wonderful if I could figure out how to leverage larp writing skills into a paying job. Getting the super to help close a window — when we take out the airconditioner, it tends to decide it will stay open at either the top or the bottom — and at least starting on fixing the lintel of the bedroom. Getting to read Un Lun Dun.

    Finishing River of Gods, which is not exactly to my taste, but is good enough I didn’t not want to finish it. It’s excellent sf, set in the world of 2047, particularly India, where, while the characters are not unlikeable, they’re also less the point than the world. At WorldCon this year, I went to the panel on the 20 most important works of sf from the last 20 years. This was the one book that made all the panelists’ lists.

Leave a Reply

