Mini-Review: Burning Chrome

Burning Chrome Burning Chrome by William Gibson

My review


rating: 4 of 5 stars
“If poets are the unacknowledged legislators of the world, science-ficton writers are its court jesters. We are Wise Fools who can leap, caper, utter prophecies, and scratch ourselves in public. We can play with Big Ideas because the garish motley of our pulp origins makes us seem harmless.”

– Bruce Sterling, Preface

“Nothing aquires as rapid or peculiar a patina of age as an imaginary future.”

– William Gibson, Source Code: An Introduction

I had this in a bag of books in my car that I bought for a few bucks a pop from the bargain bin at Borders. It felt like I needed a break from the novel I am reading and sometimes a book of short stories is just the thing. It was neat to read these stories in a weekend.

The stories about space and astronauts were just the chaser I needed after two Arthur C. Clark novels. They just felt right.

And after Richard K. Morgan‘s Takeshi Kovacs books, it was nice to see where cyberpunk was born, in the alleys that huddle under the skyscrapers of the Ono-Sendai corporation.

Even the stories that hadn’t aged particularly well still read well, even if time had proven the writer wrong, the character still rang true and the endings were a nice blend of optimism, realism and maybe some nihilism here and there.

View all my reviews.

21 thoughts on “Mini-Review: Burning Chrome

  1. Re: RKM

    Not yet.

    Man, I really want to make a game where you play an Envoy, though. Or the players are a team of Envoys. How to do this without totally infringing Morgan’s copyright. I think he’s optioned the rights for a movie, so I suspect there’s no way in hell he’d hand me the game rights for free.

Leave a Reply

