Snow Tires

How much do folks expect to pay for snow tires and installation?

18 thoughts on “Snow Tires

  1. I paid about 700 CDN for my tires, but they’re at rather the pricey end of the spectrum (Michelin performance snows).

    My tire guys store my off-car tire set, and change my tires, rotate and balance, for about 75 CDN a visit.

    At the current exchange rate that’d be about 550 and 55 bucks; a few months ago it would have been about par… (::sigh::).

    I have, in the past, used tirerack.com for tire pricing and reviews as an assist in buying tires.

  2. I paid about 700 CDN for my tires, but they’re at rather the pricey end of the spectrum (Michelin performance snows).

    My tire guys store my off-car tire set, and change my tires, rotate and balance, for about 75 CDN a visit.

    At the current exchange rate that’d be about 550 and 55 bucks; a few months ago it would have been about par… (::sigh::).

    I have, in the past, used tirerack.com for tire pricing and reviews as an assist in buying tires.

  3. I paid about 700 CDN for my tires, but they’re at rather the pricey end of the spectrum (Michelin performance snows).

    My tire guys store my off-car tire set, and change my tires, rotate and balance, for about 75 CDN a visit.

    At the current exchange rate that’d be about 550 and 55 bucks; a few months ago it would have been about par… (::sigh::).

    I have, in the past, used tirerack.com for tire pricing and reviews as an assist in buying tires.

  4. Complicated question. I mean, it depends on the car, the size of the tires, how common the tires are and whether I could find them used, whether they come with rims or not, and whether I could feasibly put them on myself. I know you said tires and installation so I’m guessing you’re not interested in putting them on yourself, but I would definitely hunt around and see if I could find them used and put word out to my family members – they always find shit like that for good prices.

    Brand new, though, I’d expect to pay upward of $500.

        • Re: 4

          Yeah, the “two is cheaper than four” is me channeling my cheapskate bargain-hunting family members. Though I ran on two snow tires from 17-25 and never had a problem. I need to get a pair on mine, too. I don’t want a repeat of last year’s awesome 360-degree spin.

        • Re: 4

          Yeah, the “two is cheaper than four” is me channeling my cheapskate bargain-hunting family members. Though I ran on two snow tires from 17-25 and never had a problem. I need to get a pair on mine, too. I don’t want a repeat of last year’s awesome 360-degree spin.

      • I would just get snow tires for the front

        It’s not clear to me that you wouldn’t get longer total life out of your eight tires than out of a set of six, if you paid the infrastructure costs up front. I suspect that having two sets of four and properly rotating them might actually make the life of each individual tire longer.

        But I’m no expert; that’s just a suspicion and might be informed by the marketing of those who want me to purchase tires.

        Just putting the snows on the front and rotating the four warm-season tires through the back of the car is what my dad does, and he’s pretty sensible and thrifty, so that might be a better plan if you’re very cost conscious at the moment.

      • I would just get snow tires for the front

        It’s not clear to me that you wouldn’t get longer total life out of your eight tires than out of a set of six, if you paid the infrastructure costs up front. I suspect that having two sets of four and properly rotating them might actually make the life of each individual tire longer.

        But I’m no expert; that’s just a suspicion and might be informed by the marketing of those who want me to purchase tires.

        Just putting the snows on the front and rotating the four warm-season tires through the back of the car is what my dad does, and he’s pretty sensible and thrifty, so that might be a better plan if you’re very cost conscious at the moment.

  5. Complicated question. I mean, it depends on the car, the size of the tires, how common the tires are and whether I could find them used, whether they come with rims or not, and whether I could feasibly put them on myself. I know you said tires and installation so I’m guessing you’re not interested in putting them on yourself, but I would definitely hunt around and see if I could find them used and put word out to my family members – they always find shit like that for good prices.

    Brand new, though, I’d expect to pay upward of $500.

  6. Complicated question. I mean, it depends on the car, the size of the tires, how common the tires are and whether I could find them used, whether they come with rims or not, and whether I could feasibly put them on myself. I know you said tires and installation so I’m guessing you’re not interested in putting them on yourself, but I would definitely hunt around and see if I could find them used and put word out to my family members – they always find shit like that for good prices.

    Brand new, though, I’d expect to pay upward of $500.

  7. Re: 4

    Yeah, the “two is cheaper than four” is me channeling my cheapskate bargain-hunting family members. Though I ran on two snow tires from 17-25 and never had a problem. I need to get a pair on mine, too. I don’t want a repeat of last year’s awesome 360-degree spin.

  8. I would just get snow tires for the front

    It’s not clear to me that you wouldn’t get longer total life out of your eight tires than out of a set of six, if you paid the infrastructure costs up front. I suspect that having two sets of four and properly rotating them might actually make the life of each individual tire longer.

    But I’m no expert; that’s just a suspicion and might be informed by the marketing of those who want me to purchase tires.

    Just putting the snows on the front and rotating the four warm-season tires through the back of the car is what my dad does, and he’s pretty sensible and thrifty, so that might be a better plan if you’re very cost conscious at the moment.

Leave a Reply

