Avatar the Last White-Bender

Fuck.

132 thoughts on “Avatar the Last White-Bender

  1. And the sad part is I remember having a conversation with Andy about rpgs and saying, “I wish my hobby was -only as- racist as Hollywood” while people kept painting me as a crazed militant.

      • Re: Racism in RPG’s

        I’m free weekend night time (though, that’s pacific time), otherwise, it’ll have to wait until the end of the month (funerals, flights, work, etc.)

          • Re: Racism in RPG’s

            Also: We’re getting trolls at Deadbro via this post (as in, harassing the mods via private message trolling).

            This kind of mirrors some of the issues I’ve seen in fandom and gamerdom in general – polite disagreement to white folks re: race issues, complete deranged crazypants behavior towards POC. (See also: when Ben and I say the same thing. It drives Ben crazy, but there it is.)

          • Re: Racism in RPG’s

            Also: We’re getting trolls at Deadbro via this post (as in, harassing the mods via private message trolling).

            This kind of mirrors some of the issues I’ve seen in fandom and gamerdom in general – polite disagreement to white folks re: race issues, complete deranged crazypants behavior towards POC. (See also: when Ben and I say the same thing. It drives Ben crazy, but there it is.)

          • Re: Racism in RPG’s

            Also: We’re getting trolls at Deadbro via this post (as in, harassing the mods via private message trolling).

            This kind of mirrors some of the issues I’ve seen in fandom and gamerdom in general – polite disagreement to white folks re: race issues, complete deranged crazypants behavior towards POC. (See also: when Ben and I say the same thing. It drives Ben crazy, but there it is.)

      • Re: Racism in RPG’s

        I’m free weekend night time (though, that’s pacific time), otherwise, it’ll have to wait until the end of the month (funerals, flights, work, etc.)

      • Re: Racism in RPG’s

        I’m free weekend night time (though, that’s pacific time), otherwise, it’ll have to wait until the end of the month (funerals, flights, work, etc.)

  2. And the sad part is I remember having a conversation with Andy about rpgs and saying, “I wish my hobby was -only as- racist as Hollywood” while people kept painting me as a crazed militant.

  3. And the sad part is I remember having a conversation with Andy about rpgs and saying, “I wish my hobby was -only as- racist as Hollywood” while people kept painting me as a crazed militant.

  4. And the sad part is I remember having a conversation with Andy about rpgs and saying, “I wish my hobby was -only as- racist as Hollywood” while people kept painting me as a crazed militant.

  5. Re: Racism in RPG’s

    I’m free weekend night time (though, that’s pacific time), otherwise, it’ll have to wait until the end of the month (funerals, flights, work, etc.)

  6. That’s some fucked-up right there. I mean, like, couldn’t Hollywood find at least the “Wacky POC” to play Sokka?

    At least they found *two* asian guys (guy and girl, anyway) for the sidekicks in the Dragonball movie.

    *sigh*

    • Oh, I just realized after reading that article that it was M. Night’s latest flick. Now that’s simply depressing.

      I wonder what the Gimmick Twist at the end is going to be. Maybe Sokka was the Real Avatar all along! Maybe it’s not the benders/people doing the bending, but the *elements themselves* are controlling the benders. Maybe the Avatar is actually a people-murdering tree, made up of invincible ghosts!

      • I had pretty much emotionally checked out of this movie after being so disappointed in the acting, plot, dialog, etc. in The Happening (though apparently he made the movie intentionally bad to accurately model B movies). I pretty much expected from then on that Avatar wouldn’t be to my liking.

        I hold out a small sliver of hope but I don’t expect it to be nurtured into life.

      • I had pretty much emotionally checked out of this movie after being so disappointed in the acting, plot, dialog, etc. in The Happening (though apparently he made the movie intentionally bad to accurately model B movies). I pretty much expected from then on that Avatar wouldn’t be to my liking.

        I hold out a small sliver of hope but I don’t expect it to be nurtured into life.

      • I had pretty much emotionally checked out of this movie after being so disappointed in the acting, plot, dialog, etc. in The Happening (though apparently he made the movie intentionally bad to accurately model B movies). I pretty much expected from then on that Avatar wouldn’t be to my liking.

        I hold out a small sliver of hope but I don’t expect it to be nurtured into life.

    • Oh, I just realized after reading that article that it was M. Night’s latest flick. Now that’s simply depressing.

      I wonder what the Gimmick Twist at the end is going to be. Maybe Sokka was the Real Avatar all along! Maybe it’s not the benders/people doing the bending, but the *elements themselves* are controlling the benders. Maybe the Avatar is actually a people-murdering tree, made up of invincible ghosts!

    • Oh, I just realized after reading that article that it was M. Night’s latest flick. Now that’s simply depressing.

      I wonder what the Gimmick Twist at the end is going to be. Maybe Sokka was the Real Avatar all along! Maybe it’s not the benders/people doing the bending, but the *elements themselves* are controlling the benders. Maybe the Avatar is actually a people-murdering tree, made up of invincible ghosts!

  7. That’s some fucked-up right there. I mean, like, couldn’t Hollywood find at least the “Wacky POC” to play Sokka?

    At least they found *two* asian guys (guy and girl, anyway) for the sidekicks in the Dragonball movie.

    *sigh*

  8. That’s some fucked-up right there. I mean, like, couldn’t Hollywood find at least the “Wacky POC” to play Sokka?

    At least they found *two* asian guys (guy and girl, anyway) for the sidekicks in the Dragonball movie.

    *sigh*

  9. That’s some fucked-up right there. I mean, like, couldn’t Hollywood find at least the “Wacky POC” to play Sokka?

    At least they found *two* asian guys (guy and girl, anyway) for the sidekicks in the Dragonball movie.

    *sigh*

  10. Oh, I just realized after reading that article that it was M. Night’s latest flick. Now that’s simply depressing.

    I wonder what the Gimmick Twist at the end is going to be. Maybe Sokka was the Real Avatar all along! Maybe it’s not the benders/people doing the bending, but the *elements themselves* are controlling the benders. Maybe the Avatar is actually a people-murdering tree, made up of invincible ghosts!

  11. I had pretty much emotionally checked out of this movie after being so disappointed in the acting, plot, dialog, etc. in The Happening (though apparently he made the movie intentionally bad to accurately model B movies). I pretty much expected from then on that Avatar wouldn’t be to my liking.

    I hold out a small sliver of hope but I don’t expect it to be nurtured into life.

  12. Re: Why$?

    In this case because it pretty clearly says that the movie makers aren’t racists, but they think the whole movie going audience is.

    Of course, it isn’t like this is the first problem with race tagging that’s ever happened in Avatar, but far be it from me to bring that up. I’d be hanged, because Avatar is cool and we can’t say bad things about cool things.

  13. I read an article about the pick of M Night Shama for the job of director.

    It seems that the creators, main writer, and director of the cartoon are heavily involved in the process of this film and have basically handed SHama a script – so I doubt he’ll be able to fubar it that much.

        • Re: Rumor

          …and today Sci Fi Wire has picked up Entertainment Weekly’s report about the casting, so maybe producer-guy was lying (or just mistaken) in the earlier report when he said they were casting early next year, or maybe EW is full of crap, who knows.

        • Re: Rumor

          …and today Sci Fi Wire has picked up Entertainment Weekly’s report about the casting, so maybe producer-guy was lying (or just mistaken) in the earlier report when he said they were casting early next year, or maybe EW is full of crap, who knows.

        • Re: Rumor

          …and today Sci Fi Wire has picked up Entertainment Weekly’s report about the casting, so maybe producer-guy was lying (or just mistaken) in the earlier report when he said they were casting early next year, or maybe EW is full of crap, who knows.

  14. Re: Racism in RPG’s

    Also: We’re getting trolls at Deadbro via this post (as in, harassing the mods via private message trolling).

    This kind of mirrors some of the issues I’ve seen in fandom and gamerdom in general – polite disagreement to white folks re: race issues, complete deranged crazypants behavior towards POC. (See also: when Ben and I say the same thing. It drives Ben crazy, but there it is.)

  15. Re: Rumor

    …and today Sci Fi Wire has picked up Entertainment Weekly’s report about the casting, so maybe producer-guy was lying (or just mistaken) in the earlier report when he said they were casting early next year, or maybe EW is full of crap, who knows.

Leave a Reply

