In My Bones

I am having trouble believing there was a place on earth that bright and blue. Lord, it is dark here.

Janaki’s bag arrived in Maho today. It had about 90% of our food in it and my yoga towels.

Even with the lost bag, it was a beautiful vacation and I feel lucky to be able to do something like that with someone like Janaki. Returning to Ithaca, I felt re-charged, ready to take on the semester and kick this year in the junk and it feels like I am doing that so far.

Watching people train their kids to be rude to staff people in a service industry is infuriating. But why dwell on something like that?

Nick was a nice guy who worked in the general store. The store was key to us since much of our food was gone and neither of us were really keen on the restaurants around but it was nice to putt around the tent-cottage and cook food together. Nick noticed my Silver Surfer t-shirt and we all had nice chats about comics. Before we left, Janaki and I compiled a list of comics he might like, as he was a childhood collector who was just getting back into it.

T-shirts are how tourists start conversations when they decide not to talk about the plane trip or lost luggage or where they are from. We found really few people we actually wanted to talk to. I am not sure if makes us curmudgeonly misanthropes or not.

The sun was unreal. We were waking up in the morning and going to bed at night like normal people and the sun was a big ole part of that. The sun and water took their toll, though. In the afternoons, we would just be exhausted and naps on the couch were the norm until the fourth day, when I think we got into vacation shape.

I was going to write a bit about the precarious fate of Maho Bay and the very real possibility that some corporate resort might pick it up and make it a hell-pit but I’m just not up for it.

January in Ithaca is cold and dark but that is alright. I’ve got sunlight in my bones stored up to last me through April.

12 thoughts on “In My Bones

  1. Even with the lost bag, it was a beautiful vacation and I feel lucky to be able to do something like that with someone like Janaki.

    Aaaw, shucks. I’m glad we travel well together. It was the best vacation I’ve ever had. And it was awesome to be in the same place with you for more than three days!

  2. Even with the lost bag, it was a beautiful vacation and I feel lucky to be able to do something like that with someone like Janaki.

    Aaaw, shucks. I’m glad we travel well together. It was the best vacation I’ve ever had. And it was awesome to be in the same place with you for more than three days!

  3. Even with the lost bag, it was a beautiful vacation and I feel lucky to be able to do something like that with someone like Janaki.

    Aaaw, shucks. I’m glad we travel well together. It was the best vacation I’ve ever had. And it was awesome to be in the same place with you for more than three days!

  4. Even with the lost bag, it was a beautiful vacation and I feel lucky to be able to do something like that with someone like Janaki.

    Aaaw, shucks. I’m glad we travel well together. It was the best vacation I’ve ever had. And it was awesome to be in the same place with you for more than three days!

Leave a Reply

