The Darker Mask

This looks pretty keen:

Expanding on the concept behind Byron Preiss’s Weird Heroes from the 1970s, George R. R. Martin’s Wild Card series, and Michael Chabon’s McSweeney’s Mammoth Treasury of Thrilling Tales, The Darker Mask is a collection of original prose stories recalling the derring-do of the beings we call Superheroes and the worlds they fight to save. But unique to The Darker Mask stories is that these plots and characters color a literary universe outside of what has been predominantly white, idiosyncratic, and male in previous homages to pulp. This is the stuff of urban legends, new mythos, and extraordinary folks who might live in a soon-to-be-gentrified ghetto, the dreary rust-belt of the city, or in another dimension. The Darker Mask offers an eclectic mix of popular fiction writers exploring worlds gritty, visceral, and fantastic.

Including stories by: Walter Mosley, L. A. Banks, Naomi Hirahara, Lorenzo Carcaterra, Tananarive Due and Stephen Barnes, Mike Gonzales, Gar Anthony Haywood, Ann Nocenti, Jerry Rodriguez, Reed Farrell Coleman, Doselle Young, Mat Johnson, Peter Spiegelman, Alexandra Sokoloff, Christopher Chambers, Gary Phillips, Victor LaValle, and Wayne Wilson.

Wasn’t there a Spirit of the Century supplement coming out about people not normally high-lighted as heroes in pulp?

I stood in line for ten minutes to buy the thing at Barnes & Noble the other day before just walking out due to being out and out ignored. I’ll likely pick it up through amazon at some point.

24 thoughts on “The Darker Mask

  1. Heh, I just bought that at B&N myself the other night. $50 gift cards for XMas, whoot. I also acquired the B&N exclusive Onyx edition of Scrabble – I was shocked and appalled when I discovered that as an English major I did not own this game. I played it last night, and won, and in a few days I will begin reading The Darker Mask, as I am currently embroiled in Making Money by Sir Terry Pratchett.

  2. Heh, I just bought that at B&N myself the other night. $50 gift cards for XMas, whoot. I also acquired the B&N exclusive Onyx edition of Scrabble – I was shocked and appalled when I discovered that as an English major I did not own this game. I played it last night, and won, and in a few days I will begin reading The Darker Mask, as I am currently embroiled in Making Money by Sir Terry Pratchett.

  3. Heh, I just bought that at B&N myself the other night. $50 gift cards for XMas, whoot. I also acquired the B&N exclusive Onyx edition of Scrabble – I was shocked and appalled when I discovered that as an English major I did not own this game. I played it last night, and won, and in a few days I will begin reading The Darker Mask, as I am currently embroiled in Making Money by Sir Terry Pratchett.

  4. Heh, I just bought that at B&N myself the other night. $50 gift cards for XMas, whoot. I also acquired the B&N exclusive Onyx edition of Scrabble – I was shocked and appalled when I discovered that as an English major I did not own this game. I played it last night, and won, and in a few days I will begin reading The Darker Mask, as I am currently embroiled in Making Money by Sir Terry Pratchett.

Leave a Reply

