Sunny, 30F Friday (and it feels really warm out)

Reading: Articles for school about the role of teaching literacy in the library and the cataloging of U.S. laws and policies (that latter is actually really kind of interesting). I reckon if I sat down for a half hour, I’d finish Peter Pan but I just haven’t done so.

Planning: Friday, BW, Saturday maybe some D&D and Sunday, if schoolwork goes well, I might head over to a Super Bowl party at a friend’s house…or might see if Jeff Hayes and I can catch the WEC fights, Faber vs. Pulver II.

Wearing: Jeans and a gray sweater.

Writing: Responses for school is all right now.

And you?

88 thoughts on “Sunny, 30F Friday (and it feels really warm out)

  1. Reading: Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man. Black Cadillaces.

    Planning: Battlestar tonight. Book club tomorrow.

    Wearing: Black fleece, white gas mask shirt, jeans, boots.

    Writing: Nothing.

  2. Reading: Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man. Black Cadillaces.

    Planning: Battlestar tonight. Book club tomorrow.

    Wearing: Black fleece, white gas mask shirt, jeans, boots.

    Writing: Nothing.

  3. Reading: Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man. Black Cadillaces.

    Planning: Battlestar tonight. Book club tomorrow.

    Wearing: Black fleece, white gas mask shirt, jeans, boots.

    Writing: Nothing.

  4. Reading: Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man. Black Cadillaces.

    Planning: Battlestar tonight. Book club tomorrow.

    Wearing: Black fleece, white gas mask shirt, jeans, boots.

    Writing: Nothing.

  5. Reading: Collection of CL Moore fantasy short stories. They’re full of racially twitchy stuff, but her descriptions of otherworlds and magic make Lovecraft look weaksauce.

    Planning: Not much. Weekend is already moderately full, but I’m trying to rest up.

    Wearing: Sweats & T-shirt

    Writing: Some re-takes on D&D monsters. A training syllabus for myself.

  6. Reading: Collection of CL Moore fantasy short stories. They’re full of racially twitchy stuff, but her descriptions of otherworlds and magic make Lovecraft look weaksauce.

    Planning: Not much. Weekend is already moderately full, but I’m trying to rest up.

    Wearing: Sweats & T-shirt

    Writing: Some re-takes on D&D monsters. A training syllabus for myself.

  7. Reading: Collection of CL Moore fantasy short stories. They’re full of racially twitchy stuff, but her descriptions of otherworlds and magic make Lovecraft look weaksauce.

    Planning: Not much. Weekend is already moderately full, but I’m trying to rest up.

    Wearing: Sweats & T-shirt

    Writing: Some re-takes on D&D monsters. A training syllabus for myself.

  8. Reading: Collection of CL Moore fantasy short stories. They’re full of racially twitchy stuff, but her descriptions of otherworlds and magic make Lovecraft look weaksauce.

    Planning: Not much. Weekend is already moderately full, but I’m trying to rest up.

    Wearing: Sweats & T-shirt

    Writing: Some re-takes on D&D monsters. A training syllabus for myself.

  9. Reading: Still getting through The Hidden World by Graham Masterton.

    Planning: I have a new basically full-time job starting soon! I have to plan that and what I’m going to with myself while I’m waiting for that. I should probably also think about what the heck I’m doing about Dreamation…

    Wearing: Class shirt from my college Illustration department…a jolly roger with a pencil and a brush and my “name,” Devilbunny, on the back. Stripey pants, sweater.

    Arting: Finishing up some pending obligations. Character design work and rpg pieces.

  10. Reading: Still getting through The Hidden World by Graham Masterton.

    Planning: I have a new basically full-time job starting soon! I have to plan that and what I’m going to with myself while I’m waiting for that. I should probably also think about what the heck I’m doing about Dreamation…

    Wearing: Class shirt from my college Illustration department…a jolly roger with a pencil and a brush and my “name,” Devilbunny, on the back. Stripey pants, sweater.

    Arting: Finishing up some pending obligations. Character design work and rpg pieces.

  11. Reading: Still getting through The Hidden World by Graham Masterton.

    Planning: I have a new basically full-time job starting soon! I have to plan that and what I’m going to with myself while I’m waiting for that. I should probably also think about what the heck I’m doing about Dreamation…

    Wearing: Class shirt from my college Illustration department…a jolly roger with a pencil and a brush and my “name,” Devilbunny, on the back. Stripey pants, sweater.

    Arting: Finishing up some pending obligations. Character design work and rpg pieces.

  12. Reading: Still getting through The Hidden World by Graham Masterton.

    Planning: I have a new basically full-time job starting soon! I have to plan that and what I’m going to with myself while I’m waiting for that. I should probably also think about what the heck I’m doing about Dreamation…

    Wearing: Class shirt from my college Illustration department…a jolly roger with a pencil and a brush and my “name,” Devilbunny, on the back. Stripey pants, sweater.

    Arting: Finishing up some pending obligations. Character design work and rpg pieces.

  13. Reading: School books: Game and level design books.

    Planning: Contemplating what would be needed to convert Fading Suns to Burning Wheel.

    Wearing: Flogging Molly Soccer tee, jeans.

    Writing: Just school assignments.

      • Re: Fading Suns to Burning Wheel

        Schools going well.

        Re: conversion…in principle, no. I mean, a great many of the extant lifepaths from the basic game are very relevant. But I’m wondering how to handle the sort of faction-specific qualities of Fading Suns, and the fact that FS characters tend to be a little broader than an BW character.

        For example, a noble-born Knight in BW basically has to go: BN, Page, Squire, Knight. Terrific, and it makes a badass character, but along the way he’s not going to have acquired the roundness of skills that typifies that same character in Fading Suns. There’s also a house or guild-specific tendency to certain traits/skills in FS that I’m not sure how to represent.

        Then there’s the issue of working in the high-tech stuff. I’m guessing I can crib a lot from Jihad. And on top of it all, FS has, effectively, at least two different magic systems going on.

        There’s a lot of similar ground, but I’m stumbling a bit on how to have the system burn a character that feels like a Fading Suns character, rather than a generic fantasy character I’ve put into FS.

      • Re: Fading Suns to Burning Wheel

        Schools going well.

        Re: conversion…in principle, no. I mean, a great many of the extant lifepaths from the basic game are very relevant. But I’m wondering how to handle the sort of faction-specific qualities of Fading Suns, and the fact that FS characters tend to be a little broader than an BW character.

        For example, a noble-born Knight in BW basically has to go: BN, Page, Squire, Knight. Terrific, and it makes a badass character, but along the way he’s not going to have acquired the roundness of skills that typifies that same character in Fading Suns. There’s also a house or guild-specific tendency to certain traits/skills in FS that I’m not sure how to represent.

        Then there’s the issue of working in the high-tech stuff. I’m guessing I can crib a lot from Jihad. And on top of it all, FS has, effectively, at least two different magic systems going on.

        There’s a lot of similar ground, but I’m stumbling a bit on how to have the system burn a character that feels like a Fading Suns character, rather than a generic fantasy character I’ve put into FS.

      • Re: Fading Suns to Burning Wheel

        Schools going well.

        Re: conversion…in principle, no. I mean, a great many of the extant lifepaths from the basic game are very relevant. But I’m wondering how to handle the sort of faction-specific qualities of Fading Suns, and the fact that FS characters tend to be a little broader than an BW character.

        For example, a noble-born Knight in BW basically has to go: BN, Page, Squire, Knight. Terrific, and it makes a badass character, but along the way he’s not going to have acquired the roundness of skills that typifies that same character in Fading Suns. There’s also a house or guild-specific tendency to certain traits/skills in FS that I’m not sure how to represent.

        Then there’s the issue of working in the high-tech stuff. I’m guessing I can crib a lot from Jihad. And on top of it all, FS has, effectively, at least two different magic systems going on.

        There’s a lot of similar ground, but I’m stumbling a bit on how to have the system burn a character that feels like a Fading Suns character, rather than a generic fantasy character I’ve put into FS.

  14. Reading: School books: Game and level design books.

    Planning: Contemplating what would be needed to convert Fading Suns to Burning Wheel.

    Wearing: Flogging Molly Soccer tee, jeans.

    Writing: Just school assignments.

  15. Reading: School books: Game and level design books.

    Planning: Contemplating what would be needed to convert Fading Suns to Burning Wheel.

    Wearing: Flogging Molly Soccer tee, jeans.

    Writing: Just school assignments.

  16. Reading: School books: Game and level design books.

    Planning: Contemplating what would be needed to convert Fading Suns to Burning Wheel.

    Wearing: Flogging Molly Soccer tee, jeans.

    Writing: Just school assignments.

  17. Re: B.C?

    Me, Chris, Christine, Ellen, and Erynn have started a book club. I posted about it in the beginning of December I think to see if anyone was interested. We just read The Devil in the White City.

  18. Re: Training Syllabus

    Silat. A friend wants to train with me, and I realized what I need is structure to the training- most people aren’t sure what they’re interested in, in martial arts, so it’s easier to build a solid plan and roll with it.

  19. Reading: Chomsky’s *Power & Ideology*, re-reading my Starman graphic novels.

    Planning: VTES Friday night, the next D&D session, a baby shower.

    Wearing: Long-sleeve green thermal top, covered by my “Rebel Scum” t-shirt, brown cords, biker boots.

    Writing: Dozen Dales background, the kernel of a novella along the lines of “what happens after the Big Bad gets it and the Empire falls apart?”

  20. Reading: Chomsky’s *Power & Ideology*, re-reading my Starman graphic novels.

    Planning: VTES Friday night, the next D&D session, a baby shower.

    Wearing: Long-sleeve green thermal top, covered by my “Rebel Scum” t-shirt, brown cords, biker boots.

    Writing: Dozen Dales background, the kernel of a novella along the lines of “what happens after the Big Bad gets it and the Empire falls apart?”

  21. Reading: Chomsky’s *Power & Ideology*, re-reading my Starman graphic novels.

    Planning: VTES Friday night, the next D&D session, a baby shower.

    Wearing: Long-sleeve green thermal top, covered by my “Rebel Scum” t-shirt, brown cords, biker boots.

    Writing: Dozen Dales background, the kernel of a novella along the lines of “what happens after the Big Bad gets it and the Empire falls apart?”

  22. Reading: Chomsky’s *Power & Ideology*, re-reading my Starman graphic novels.

    Planning: VTES Friday night, the next D&D session, a baby shower.

    Wearing: Long-sleeve green thermal top, covered by my “Rebel Scum” t-shirt, brown cords, biker boots.

    Writing: Dozen Dales background, the kernel of a novella along the lines of “what happens after the Big Bad gets it and the Empire falls apart?”

  23. Reading: Warren Ellis’ “Black Summer”, Sandman Mystery Theatre, and rereading Dogs in the Vineyard

    Planning: BSG at the Bagdad Theater, Board games with friends tomorrow, Polaris with Portland indie group on Sunday

    Wearing: favorite pair of brown pants, Powell’s tee shirt, and beanie

    Writing: More like brainstorming my widescreen supers rpg

  24. Reading: Warren Ellis’ “Black Summer”, Sandman Mystery Theatre, and rereading Dogs in the Vineyard

    Planning: BSG at the Bagdad Theater, Board games with friends tomorrow, Polaris with Portland indie group on Sunday

    Wearing: favorite pair of brown pants, Powell’s tee shirt, and beanie

    Writing: More like brainstorming my widescreen supers rpg

  25. Reading: Warren Ellis’ “Black Summer”, Sandman Mystery Theatre, and rereading Dogs in the Vineyard

    Planning: BSG at the Bagdad Theater, Board games with friends tomorrow, Polaris with Portland indie group on Sunday

    Wearing: favorite pair of brown pants, Powell’s tee shirt, and beanie

    Writing: More like brainstorming my widescreen supers rpg

  26. Reading: Warren Ellis’ “Black Summer”, Sandman Mystery Theatre, and rereading Dogs in the Vineyard

    Planning: BSG at the Bagdad Theater, Board games with friends tomorrow, Polaris with Portland indie group on Sunday

    Wearing: favorite pair of brown pants, Powell’s tee shirt, and beanie

    Writing: More like brainstorming my widescreen supers rpg

  27. Re: Fading Suns to Burning Wheel

    Schools going well.

    Re: conversion…in principle, no. I mean, a great many of the extant lifepaths from the basic game are very relevant. But I’m wondering how to handle the sort of faction-specific qualities of Fading Suns, and the fact that FS characters tend to be a little broader than an BW character.

    For example, a noble-born Knight in BW basically has to go: BN, Page, Squire, Knight. Terrific, and it makes a badass character, but along the way he’s not going to have acquired the roundness of skills that typifies that same character in Fading Suns. There’s also a house or guild-specific tendency to certain traits/skills in FS that I’m not sure how to represent.

    Then there’s the issue of working in the high-tech stuff. I’m guessing I can crib a lot from Jihad. And on top of it all, FS has, effectively, at least two different magic systems going on.

    There’s a lot of similar ground, but I’m stumbling a bit on how to have the system burn a character that feels like a Fading Suns character, rather than a generic fantasy character I’ve put into FS.

  28. Reading: A Princess of Mars — listening to it, actually. I got the audiobook from librivox.org and am about halfway through. It goes down a lot easier this way (I couldn’t make it past chapter 3 in print). I’m still not sure if I *like* it. There’s a whole lot of oddness down there in the roots of science fantasy.

    Planning: Ordering the last physical pieces for Serial Homicide Unit. D&D on Sunday.

    Wearing: My “If John Wayne can wear pink and call it ‘faded red’ so can I” shirt.

    Writing: Thinking about my Mouse Guard game for Dreamation. Pondering a completely new game idea, too.

  29. Reading: A Princess of Mars — listening to it, actually. I got the audiobook from librivox.org and am about halfway through. It goes down a lot easier this way (I couldn’t make it past chapter 3 in print). I’m still not sure if I *like* it. There’s a whole lot of oddness down there in the roots of science fantasy.

    Planning: Ordering the last physical pieces for Serial Homicide Unit. D&D on Sunday.

    Wearing: My “If John Wayne can wear pink and call it ‘faded red’ so can I” shirt.

    Writing: Thinking about my Mouse Guard game for Dreamation. Pondering a completely new game idea, too.

  30. Reading: A Princess of Mars — listening to it, actually. I got the audiobook from librivox.org and am about halfway through. It goes down a lot easier this way (I couldn’t make it past chapter 3 in print). I’m still not sure if I *like* it. There’s a whole lot of oddness down there in the roots of science fantasy.

    Planning: Ordering the last physical pieces for Serial Homicide Unit. D&D on Sunday.

    Wearing: My “If John Wayne can wear pink and call it ‘faded red’ so can I” shirt.

    Writing: Thinking about my Mouse Guard game for Dreamation. Pondering a completely new game idea, too.

  31. Reading: A Princess of Mars — listening to it, actually. I got the audiobook from librivox.org and am about halfway through. It goes down a lot easier this way (I couldn’t make it past chapter 3 in print). I’m still not sure if I *like* it. There’s a whole lot of oddness down there in the roots of science fantasy.

    Planning: Ordering the last physical pieces for Serial Homicide Unit. D&D on Sunday.

    Wearing: My “If John Wayne can wear pink and call it ‘faded red’ so can I” shirt.

    Writing: Thinking about my Mouse Guard game for Dreamation. Pondering a completely new game idea, too.

  32. Reading: Bipping back and forth between the Mouse Guard rpg, Paper Cities (an anthology of Urban Fantasy edited by Ekaterina Sedia, which is not defining the term the way I do, of course), and Ysabeu Wilcox’s Flora Segunda (YA fantasy, with the sf thing of making the reader put together the background of the world as she goes),

    Planning: Meeting at Columbia University Games Club tonight. Job hunting, doing a bit of freelance work. House cleaning.

    Wearing: Gen Con t-shirt, courderoys, sneakers

    Writing: Such parts as I can of the larp Presque Vue, which we will be running at Intercon I in March.

  33. Reading: Bipping back and forth between the Mouse Guard rpg, Paper Cities (an anthology of Urban Fantasy edited by Ekaterina Sedia, which is not defining the term the way I do, of course), and Ysabeu Wilcox’s Flora Segunda (YA fantasy, with the sf thing of making the reader put together the background of the world as she goes),

    Planning: Meeting at Columbia University Games Club tonight. Job hunting, doing a bit of freelance work. House cleaning.

    Wearing: Gen Con t-shirt, courderoys, sneakers

    Writing: Such parts as I can of the larp Presque Vue, which we will be running at Intercon I in March.

  34. Reading: Bipping back and forth between the Mouse Guard rpg, Paper Cities (an anthology of Urban Fantasy edited by Ekaterina Sedia, which is not defining the term the way I do, of course), and Ysabeu Wilcox’s Flora Segunda (YA fantasy, with the sf thing of making the reader put together the background of the world as she goes),

    Planning: Meeting at Columbia University Games Club tonight. Job hunting, doing a bit of freelance work. House cleaning.

    Wearing: Gen Con t-shirt, courderoys, sneakers

    Writing: Such parts as I can of the larp Presque Vue, which we will be running at Intercon I in March.

  35. Reading: Bipping back and forth between the Mouse Guard rpg, Paper Cities (an anthology of Urban Fantasy edited by Ekaterina Sedia, which is not defining the term the way I do, of course), and Ysabeu Wilcox’s Flora Segunda (YA fantasy, with the sf thing of making the reader put together the background of the world as she goes),

    Planning: Meeting at Columbia University Games Club tonight. Job hunting, doing a bit of freelance work. House cleaning.

    Wearing: Gen Con t-shirt, courderoys, sneakers

    Writing: Such parts as I can of the larp Presque Vue, which we will be running at Intercon I in March.

  36. Sidenote: You’re not kidding about the warm. and I walked about a mile Friday evening, and I was very uncomfortably warm, having dressed bearing in mind that I’d be out till 3 am and the temperature might well drop a lot.

  37. Sidenote: You’re not kidding about the warm. and I walked about a mile Friday evening, and I was very uncomfortably warm, having dressed bearing in mind that I’d be out till 3 am and the temperature might well drop a lot.

  38. Sidenote: You’re not kidding about the warm. and I walked about a mile Friday evening, and I was very uncomfortably warm, having dressed bearing in mind that I’d be out till 3 am and the temperature might well drop a lot.

  39. Sidenote: You’re not kidding about the warm. and I walked about a mile Friday evening, and I was very uncomfortably warm, having dressed bearing in mind that I’d be out till 3 am and the temperature might well drop a lot.

Leave a Reply

