Shiny Friday

Reading: I took a half-hour off from schoolwork last night and just read a few chapters of the Automatic Detective and really liked it. It is goofy fun. It has a talking gorilla; I’m hooked. I am hungry for a lush fantasy novel, though.

I also just finished the first Millar and Hitch collection of the Fantastic Four and it is splendid stuff. I’m not sure I have ever seen a truly solid run on the FF but this is a really fun read. Millar is having fun with the Fantastic Four toys. Time travel, alternate dimensions, family trouble but no full-on angsty crap. It is a fun story about a family of explorers and scientists.

Planning: I’m going to try something different and stay at the library after work is over and do schoolwork there, see if getting out of my house helps. It felt like it took me all day and night to write a page and a half yesterday; I was like a little kid pushing food around on his plate.

Wearing: Boxer briefs, going to get dressed for work right after I post this.

Writing: School stuff. This week I will do some work on 1st Quest stuff in prep for Dreamation.

And you?

52 thoughts on “Shiny Friday

  1. Reading: An advance copy of Jim Butcher’s Turn Coat. I’ll hopefully have the review up on Monday, but it will more likely be Wednesday.

    Planning: Busy weekend with a mix of work and play.

    Wearing: My “I’m not LARPing, I really am this cool.” t-shirt

    Writing: Reviews, lots of e-mail and maybe a new short horror story.

  2. Reading: An advance copy of Jim Butcher’s Turn Coat. I’ll hopefully have the review up on Monday, but it will more likely be Wednesday.

    Planning: Busy weekend with a mix of work and play.

    Wearing: My “I’m not LARPing, I really am this cool.” t-shirt

    Writing: Reviews, lots of e-mail and maybe a new short horror story.

  3. Reading: An advance copy of Jim Butcher’s Turn Coat. I’ll hopefully have the review up on Monday, but it will more likely be Wednesday.

    Planning: Busy weekend with a mix of work and play.

    Wearing: My “I’m not LARPing, I really am this cool.” t-shirt

    Writing: Reviews, lots of e-mail and maybe a new short horror story.

  4. Reading: An advance copy of Jim Butcher’s Turn Coat. I’ll hopefully have the review up on Monday, but it will more likely be Wednesday.

    Planning: Busy weekend with a mix of work and play.

    Wearing: My “I’m not LARPing, I really am this cool.” t-shirt

    Writing: Reviews, lots of e-mail and maybe a new short horror story.

  5. reading: i dont know!! twilight i guess

    planning: oh you know i am going to see a guy in a hockey mask kil the shit out of some teenagers

    wearing: blaaaaack

    writing: i write pictures i guess im doing a collaboration with some people who do arts well see how that goes!!!!

  6. reading: i dont know!! twilight i guess

    planning: oh you know i am going to see a guy in a hockey mask kil the shit out of some teenagers

    wearing: blaaaaack

    writing: i write pictures i guess im doing a collaboration with some people who do arts well see how that goes!!!!

  7. reading: i dont know!! twilight i guess

    planning: oh you know i am going to see a guy in a hockey mask kil the shit out of some teenagers

    wearing: blaaaaack

    writing: i write pictures i guess im doing a collaboration with some people who do arts well see how that goes!!!!

  8. reading: i dont know!! twilight i guess

    planning: oh you know i am going to see a guy in a hockey mask kil the shit out of some teenagers

    wearing: blaaaaack

    writing: i write pictures i guess im doing a collaboration with some people who do arts well see how that goes!!!!

  9. Reading the second book in GRRM’s six or seven book series. There are more interesting characters in this book than in the previous book. I’m also finding some of the characters I really didn’t care for in the first book very interesting in this one. I can see why the book series is so popular.

    Planning on doing some work for school and freelancing this afternoon. Right now, I’m just letting the DayQuil kick in, so I’m in a bit of a fog. (What better time to do art, eh?)

    Wearing my new jeans I got on sale at Target that are falling apart because they’re poorly made. That, plus a nice white dress shirt, so I’m pretty hot.

    Writing more school stuff plus some quick games I can finish and produce, all based off of Phil Reed’s vsM engine.

  10. Reading the second book in GRRM’s six or seven book series. There are more interesting characters in this book than in the previous book. I’m also finding some of the characters I really didn’t care for in the first book very interesting in this one. I can see why the book series is so popular.

    Planning on doing some work for school and freelancing this afternoon. Right now, I’m just letting the DayQuil kick in, so I’m in a bit of a fog. (What better time to do art, eh?)

    Wearing my new jeans I got on sale at Target that are falling apart because they’re poorly made. That, plus a nice white dress shirt, so I’m pretty hot.

    Writing more school stuff plus some quick games I can finish and produce, all based off of Phil Reed’s vsM engine.

  11. Reading the second book in GRRM’s six or seven book series. There are more interesting characters in this book than in the previous book. I’m also finding some of the characters I really didn’t care for in the first book very interesting in this one. I can see why the book series is so popular.

    Planning on doing some work for school and freelancing this afternoon. Right now, I’m just letting the DayQuil kick in, so I’m in a bit of a fog. (What better time to do art, eh?)

    Wearing my new jeans I got on sale at Target that are falling apart because they’re poorly made. That, plus a nice white dress shirt, so I’m pretty hot.

    Writing more school stuff plus some quick games I can finish and produce, all based off of Phil Reed’s vsM engine.

  12. Reading the second book in GRRM’s six or seven book series. There are more interesting characters in this book than in the previous book. I’m also finding some of the characters I really didn’t care for in the first book very interesting in this one. I can see why the book series is so popular.

    Planning on doing some work for school and freelancing this afternoon. Right now, I’m just letting the DayQuil kick in, so I’m in a bit of a fog. (What better time to do art, eh?)

    Wearing my new jeans I got on sale at Target that are falling apart because they’re poorly made. That, plus a nice white dress shirt, so I’m pretty hot.

    Writing more school stuff plus some quick games I can finish and produce, all based off of Phil Reed’s vsM engine.

  13. Reading (well, listening): Scott Sigler’s Nocturnal audiobook. The protagonist seems to think he’s a murderer whenever the reader doesn’t, and vice-versa. Creepy stuff.

    Planning: I worked out an arrangement with a creativity dominatrix I know. I can’t say more.

    Wearing: Work clothes, bizcasfri styles.

    Writing: A modern oracle.

  14. Reading (well, listening): Scott Sigler’s Nocturnal audiobook. The protagonist seems to think he’s a murderer whenever the reader doesn’t, and vice-versa. Creepy stuff.

    Planning: I worked out an arrangement with a creativity dominatrix I know. I can’t say more.

    Wearing: Work clothes, bizcasfri styles.

    Writing: A modern oracle.

  15. Reading (well, listening): Scott Sigler’s Nocturnal audiobook. The protagonist seems to think he’s a murderer whenever the reader doesn’t, and vice-versa. Creepy stuff.

    Planning: I worked out an arrangement with a creativity dominatrix I know. I can’t say more.

    Wearing: Work clothes, bizcasfri styles.

    Writing: A modern oracle.

  16. Reading (well, listening): Scott Sigler’s Nocturnal audiobook. The protagonist seems to think he’s a murderer whenever the reader doesn’t, and vice-versa. Creepy stuff.

    Planning: I worked out an arrangement with a creativity dominatrix I know. I can’t say more.

    Wearing: Work clothes, bizcasfri styles.

    Writing: A modern oracle.

  17. Reading: A couple of books on kinesiology. Re-reading key parts of Burning Wheel. Researching stuff on Moorish Spain.

    Planning: Massive house cleaning. Showing off the apt to potential roommates.

    Wearing: Sweats.

    Writing: More on that BW Wuxia Spain idea. Suprisingly, the Jihad supplement has very little to draw from that is functionally useful for this.

  18. Reading: A couple of books on kinesiology. Re-reading key parts of Burning Wheel. Researching stuff on Moorish Spain.

    Planning: Massive house cleaning. Showing off the apt to potential roommates.

    Wearing: Sweats.

    Writing: More on that BW Wuxia Spain idea. Suprisingly, the Jihad supplement has very little to draw from that is functionally useful for this.

  19. Reading: A couple of books on kinesiology. Re-reading key parts of Burning Wheel. Researching stuff on Moorish Spain.

    Planning: Massive house cleaning. Showing off the apt to potential roommates.

    Wearing: Sweats.

    Writing: More on that BW Wuxia Spain idea. Suprisingly, the Jihad supplement has very little to draw from that is functionally useful for this.

  20. Reading: A couple of books on kinesiology. Re-reading key parts of Burning Wheel. Researching stuff on Moorish Spain.

    Planning: Massive house cleaning. Showing off the apt to potential roommates.

    Wearing: Sweats.

    Writing: More on that BW Wuxia Spain idea. Suprisingly, the Jihad supplement has very little to draw from that is functionally useful for this.

  21. Where to work

    I’m going to try something different and stay at the library after work is over and do schoolwork there, see if getting out of my house helps.

    It really does. I have to leave the house to get homework done. Home is my place to relax, not to do work. The only times I got anything done at home was in the AM hours after the library closed on the day whatever it was was due…

  22. Where to work

    I’m going to try something different and stay at the library after work is over and do schoolwork there, see if getting out of my house helps.

    It really does. I have to leave the house to get homework done. Home is my place to relax, not to do work. The only times I got anything done at home was in the AM hours after the library closed on the day whatever it was was due…

  23. Where to work

    I’m going to try something different and stay at the library after work is over and do schoolwork there, see if getting out of my house helps.

    It really does. I have to leave the house to get homework done. Home is my place to relax, not to do work. The only times I got anything done at home was in the AM hours after the library closed on the day whatever it was was due…

  24. Where to work

    I’m going to try something different and stay at the library after work is over and do schoolwork there, see if getting out of my house helps.

    It really does. I have to leave the house to get homework done. Home is my place to relax, not to do work. The only times I got anything done at home was in the AM hours after the library closed on the day whatever it was was due…

  25. Reading: Edge of Midnight, still.

    Planning: Panels at Boskone tomorrow. Looking at Future Terrorism (because it has Jim Macdonald, who is totally cool), Why Adults Read YA (cool topic, cool panelists including Jane Yolen and Bruce Coville), Evil Temptresses (ditto, panelists including Yolen and Elise Matthesen), The Inclue (way cool topic — how to weave what would otherwise be an infodump into the text), a couple of other spots with three things I want to do at once, maybe some shopping. Might skip the shopping.

    Wearing: Intersection T-shirt (Worldcon 1995), blue jeans, sneakers.

    Writing: Not much, but might work on my zine. Tomorrow, likely copious notes on panels.

  26. Reading: Edge of Midnight, still.

    Planning: Panels at Boskone tomorrow. Looking at Future Terrorism (because it has Jim Macdonald, who is totally cool), Why Adults Read YA (cool topic, cool panelists including Jane Yolen and Bruce Coville), Evil Temptresses (ditto, panelists including Yolen and Elise Matthesen), The Inclue (way cool topic — how to weave what would otherwise be an infodump into the text), a couple of other spots with three things I want to do at once, maybe some shopping. Might skip the shopping.

    Wearing: Intersection T-shirt (Worldcon 1995), blue jeans, sneakers.

    Writing: Not much, but might work on my zine. Tomorrow, likely copious notes on panels.

  27. Reading: Edge of Midnight, still.

    Planning: Panels at Boskone tomorrow. Looking at Future Terrorism (because it has Jim Macdonald, who is totally cool), Why Adults Read YA (cool topic, cool panelists including Jane Yolen and Bruce Coville), Evil Temptresses (ditto, panelists including Yolen and Elise Matthesen), The Inclue (way cool topic — how to weave what would otherwise be an infodump into the text), a couple of other spots with three things I want to do at once, maybe some shopping. Might skip the shopping.

    Wearing: Intersection T-shirt (Worldcon 1995), blue jeans, sneakers.

    Writing: Not much, but might work on my zine. Tomorrow, likely copious notes on panels.

  28. Reading: Edge of Midnight, still.

    Planning: Panels at Boskone tomorrow. Looking at Future Terrorism (because it has Jim Macdonald, who is totally cool), Why Adults Read YA (cool topic, cool panelists including Jane Yolen and Bruce Coville), Evil Temptresses (ditto, panelists including Yolen and Elise Matthesen), The Inclue (way cool topic — how to weave what would otherwise be an infodump into the text), a couple of other spots with three things I want to do at once, maybe some shopping. Might skip the shopping.

    Wearing: Intersection T-shirt (Worldcon 1995), blue jeans, sneakers.

    Writing: Not much, but might work on my zine. Tomorrow, likely copious notes on panels.

  29. Reading: KJ Parker’s The Escapement (third book in the Engineer Trilogy) and the first book of the Brett Weeks trilogy about the assassin. I don’t remember which one because all the names sound alike. The first one is much better written than the second.

    Planning: what to do with the mrs today

    Wearing: robe, big warm blanket, cats

    Writing: ummm…uhhh…OH LOOK A HERD OF MIGRATING WILDEBEEST

  30. Reading: KJ Parker’s The Escapement (third book in the Engineer Trilogy) and the first book of the Brett Weeks trilogy about the assassin. I don’t remember which one because all the names sound alike. The first one is much better written than the second.

    Planning: what to do with the mrs today

    Wearing: robe, big warm blanket, cats

    Writing: ummm…uhhh…OH LOOK A HERD OF MIGRATING WILDEBEEST

  31. Reading: KJ Parker’s The Escapement (third book in the Engineer Trilogy) and the first book of the Brett Weeks trilogy about the assassin. I don’t remember which one because all the names sound alike. The first one is much better written than the second.

    Planning: what to do with the mrs today

    Wearing: robe, big warm blanket, cats

    Writing: ummm…uhhh…OH LOOK A HERD OF MIGRATING WILDEBEEST

  32. Reading: KJ Parker’s The Escapement (third book in the Engineer Trilogy) and the first book of the Brett Weeks trilogy about the assassin. I don’t remember which one because all the names sound alike. The first one is much better written than the second.

    Planning: what to do with the mrs today

    Wearing: robe, big warm blanket, cats

    Writing: ummm…uhhh…OH LOOK A HERD OF MIGRATING WILDEBEEST

Leave a Reply

