Mud Friday

I always remember that first day after winter when I can finally smell mud again. I love that.

Reading: I picked up The Last Unicorn and it is really beautifully written. I’ve been chewing through fifty pages or so a night before I go to bed and imagine I will finish it up this weekend. For some reason, I think my mom would like this one.

Planning: Going to Albany to see my lady-friend and getting a jump on papers that are due in the coming weeks. Jeff, Storn and I are thinking of getting a 4e game going on the days when we aren’t Kryosing, which should be fun. Tonight is some BW and the Queen of Kryos is joining us as she has some post-Dreamation game craving.

Wearing: Jeans and a blue polo-ish shirt.

Writing: This and that, kind of riding a post-con stimulation vibe and it is going well.

And you?

72 thoughts on “Mud Friday

  1. Reading: Considering cracking open that 4E martial splatbook sometime this weekend.

    Planning: Continuing Recovery-thon 09: staying home, resting up, popping echinacea, etc.

    Wearing:Hoodie & blue jeans

    Writing: Nothing. Brain barely functional from last bout of sick.

      • Re: 4ever

        Yeah, I think my initial 4E rush got stopped short last year between various disasters which have put all my gaming on life support for the last few months.

        In so many ways, I’m still trying to recover. I remember wondering if they ever got the online client at WOTC off the ground or not? (their hyperbusy site locks up my ghetto computer, so I haven’t been there in months…)

      • Re: 4ever

        Yeah, I think my initial 4E rush got stopped short last year between various disasters which have put all my gaming on life support for the last few months.

        In so many ways, I’m still trying to recover. I remember wondering if they ever got the online client at WOTC off the ground or not? (their hyperbusy site locks up my ghetto computer, so I haven’t been there in months…)

  2. Reading: Considering cracking open that 4E martial splatbook sometime this weekend.

    Planning: Continuing Recovery-thon 09: staying home, resting up, popping echinacea, etc.

    Wearing:Hoodie & blue jeans

    Writing: Nothing. Brain barely functional from last bout of sick.

  3. Reading: Considering cracking open that 4E martial splatbook sometime this weekend.

    Planning: Continuing Recovery-thon 09: staying home, resting up, popping echinacea, etc.

    Wearing:Hoodie & blue jeans

    Writing: Nothing. Brain barely functional from last bout of sick.

  4. Reading: Considering cracking open that 4E martial splatbook sometime this weekend.

    Planning: Continuing Recovery-thon 09: staying home, resting up, popping echinacea, etc.

    Wearing:Hoodie & blue jeans

    Writing: Nothing. Brain barely functional from last bout of sick.

  5. I’m gonna do one of these right.

    Reading: Perdido Street Station at night for me, Inkheart with The Boy, and audiobook-“reading” Generation Kill.

    Planning: Weekend hangouts with Carrie, Emily, and Joshua; lunch; seekrit stuff.

    Wearing: When I go out later today it’ll be an old pair of blue jeans that just organically sprung a knee-hole, my London Calling t-shirt (with the lyrics on the back), my black Wal*Mart hoodie, and my wonderful Vivo Barefoot boots.

    Writing: Waiting on a revision by a friend to a Very Important Cover Letter for a job that closes later today. Also planning on writing about another Misspent Youth rules update (though I already shot my wad of all the good stuff).

    • Resume and PSS

      Good luck with that resume, chief.

      Where are you at with Perdido?

      When I first read that book, I immediately thought of you and my cousin, Brian. Brian’s dead, so there’s just you know (but I believe he read it before he died and really liked it).

    • Resume and PSS

      Good luck with that resume, chief.

      Where are you at with Perdido?

      When I first read that book, I immediately thought of you and my cousin, Brian. Brian’s dead, so there’s just you know (but I believe he read it before he died and really liked it).

  6. I’m gonna do one of these right.

    Reading: Perdido Street Station at night for me, Inkheart with The Boy, and audiobook-“reading” Generation Kill.

    Planning: Weekend hangouts with Carrie, Emily, and Joshua; lunch; seekrit stuff.

    Wearing: When I go out later today it’ll be an old pair of blue jeans that just organically sprung a knee-hole, my London Calling t-shirt (with the lyrics on the back), my black Wal*Mart hoodie, and my wonderful Vivo Barefoot boots.

    Writing: Waiting on a revision by a friend to a Very Important Cover Letter for a job that closes later today. Also planning on writing about another Misspent Youth rules update (though I already shot my wad of all the good stuff).

  7. I’m gonna do one of these right.

    Reading: Perdido Street Station at night for me, Inkheart with The Boy, and audiobook-“reading” Generation Kill.

    Planning: Weekend hangouts with Carrie, Emily, and Joshua; lunch; seekrit stuff.

    Wearing: When I go out later today it’ll be an old pair of blue jeans that just organically sprung a knee-hole, my London Calling t-shirt (with the lyrics on the back), my black Wal*Mart hoodie, and my wonderful Vivo Barefoot boots.

    Writing: Waiting on a revision by a friend to a Very Important Cover Letter for a job that closes later today. Also planning on writing about another Misspent Youth rules update (though I already shot my wad of all the good stuff).

  8. I’m gonna do one of these right.

    Reading: Perdido Street Station at night for me, Inkheart with The Boy, and audiobook-“reading” Generation Kill.

    Planning: Weekend hangouts with Carrie, Emily, and Joshua; lunch; seekrit stuff.

    Wearing: When I go out later today it’ll be an old pair of blue jeans that just organically sprung a knee-hole, my London Calling t-shirt (with the lyrics on the back), my black Wal*Mart hoodie, and my wonderful Vivo Barefoot boots.

    Writing: Waiting on a revision by a friend to a Very Important Cover Letter for a job that closes later today. Also planning on writing about another Misspent Youth rules update (though I already shot my wad of all the good stuff).

  9. I want the mud off my car, off my shoes, off my pant-cuffs and off my floors. The novelty wears off fast in the countryside. πŸ™‚

    J

  10. I want the mud off my car, off my shoes, off my pant-cuffs and off my floors. The novelty wears off fast in the countryside. πŸ™‚

    J

  11. I want the mud off my car, off my shoes, off my pant-cuffs and off my floors. The novelty wears off fast in the countryside. πŸ™‚

    J

  12. I want the mud off my car, off my shoes, off my pant-cuffs and off my floors. The novelty wears off fast in the countryside. πŸ™‚

    J

  13. You’d never read The Last Unicorn? Oh my. Beagle and Gaiman met for the first time at Balticon 40, if I recall correctly, and hit it off. Robert Nathan, who wrote The Portrait of Jennie (and many other books) warned Beagle that Last Unicorn was his Jennie.

    Reading: Jo Walton’s Farthing. I have the other two to hand. I’m just hitting the end game, where it is both good and very, very painful to read.

    David Hartwell said that all sf is set in 3 years — the year it’s nominally set in, the year it was written in, and the year it was about. This is alternate history where Britain and Nazi Germany made peace, and the year is 1949. It is also very much about the post-9/11 world, where said, with far, far too much accuracy, “It is happening here.” And, where I said, with the James Tiptree story “We Who Stole the Dream” in mind, that my country was drinking Star’s Tears.

    Planning: Finishing and producing Presque Vue, casting it today. Producing Jamais Vue. Running both next week at Intercon I.

    Wearing: Jeans, Zarquonism t-shirt.

    Writing: Larp revisions.

      • Re: Hole

        I know how that goes.

        I’ve now finished Farthing and am so glad I had the spoilers so I could bear to finish it. I’m now in the second book, Ha’apenny. After that, I might do the third, or let myself be seduced by Catherynne Valente’s Palimpsest, about a sexually transmitted city.

        Meanwhile, we leave for Chelmsford and Intercon I on Thursday, and our larps run Friday night and Saturday morning. Then, we play in other larps Saturday afternoon and evening, and Sunday morning.

      • Re: Hole

        I know how that goes.

        I’ve now finished Farthing and am so glad I had the spoilers so I could bear to finish it. I’m now in the second book, Ha’apenny. After that, I might do the third, or let myself be seduced by Catherynne Valente’s Palimpsest, about a sexually transmitted city.

        Meanwhile, we leave for Chelmsford and Intercon I on Thursday, and our larps run Friday night and Saturday morning. Then, we play in other larps Saturday afternoon and evening, and Sunday morning.

  14. You’d never read The Last Unicorn? Oh my. Beagle and Gaiman met for the first time at Balticon 40, if I recall correctly, and hit it off. Robert Nathan, who wrote The Portrait of Jennie (and many other books) warned Beagle that Last Unicorn was his Jennie.

    Reading: Jo Walton’s Farthing. I have the other two to hand. I’m just hitting the end game, where it is both good and very, very painful to read.

    David Hartwell said that all sf is set in 3 years — the year it’s nominally set in, the year it was written in, and the year it was about. This is alternate history where Britain and Nazi Germany made peace, and the year is 1949. It is also very much about the post-9/11 world, where said, with far, far too much accuracy, “It is happening here.” And, where I said, with the James Tiptree story “We Who Stole the Dream” in mind, that my country was drinking Star’s Tears.

    Planning: Finishing and producing Presque Vue, casting it today. Producing Jamais Vue. Running both next week at Intercon I.

    Wearing: Jeans, Zarquonism t-shirt.

    Writing: Larp revisions.

  15. You’d never read The Last Unicorn? Oh my. Beagle and Gaiman met for the first time at Balticon 40, if I recall correctly, and hit it off. Robert Nathan, who wrote The Portrait of Jennie (and many other books) warned Beagle that Last Unicorn was his Jennie.

    Reading: Jo Walton’s Farthing. I have the other two to hand. I’m just hitting the end game, where it is both good and very, very painful to read.

    David Hartwell said that all sf is set in 3 years — the year it’s nominally set in, the year it was written in, and the year it was about. This is alternate history where Britain and Nazi Germany made peace, and the year is 1949. It is also very much about the post-9/11 world, where said, with far, far too much accuracy, “It is happening here.” And, where I said, with the James Tiptree story “We Who Stole the Dream” in mind, that my country was drinking Star’s Tears.

    Planning: Finishing and producing Presque Vue, casting it today. Producing Jamais Vue. Running both next week at Intercon I.

    Wearing: Jeans, Zarquonism t-shirt.

    Writing: Larp revisions.

  16. You’d never read The Last Unicorn? Oh my. Beagle and Gaiman met for the first time at Balticon 40, if I recall correctly, and hit it off. Robert Nathan, who wrote The Portrait of Jennie (and many other books) warned Beagle that Last Unicorn was his Jennie.

    Reading: Jo Walton’s Farthing. I have the other two to hand. I’m just hitting the end game, where it is both good and very, very painful to read.

    David Hartwell said that all sf is set in 3 years — the year it’s nominally set in, the year it was written in, and the year it was about. This is alternate history where Britain and Nazi Germany made peace, and the year is 1949. It is also very much about the post-9/11 world, where said, with far, far too much accuracy, “It is happening here.” And, where I said, with the James Tiptree story “We Who Stole the Dream” in mind, that my country was drinking Star’s Tears.

    Planning: Finishing and producing Presque Vue, casting it today. Producing Jamais Vue. Running both next week at Intercon I.

    Wearing: Jeans, Zarquonism t-shirt.

    Writing: Larp revisions.

  17. The Last Unicorn is a great book, especially the anachronisms.

    R: Finally reading my Tolkien. I finished up the Silmarillion, which is making the Lord of the Rings a much better read.

    P: Taking care of the little ones coming off of the flu and a wife who’s just starting it.

    W: Earth-tones.

    W: I keep tinkering with stuff. I’m taking a break from fiction/gaming and doing some hobby programming (working on PNG decoding now, mostly to learn decompression algorithms) towards an eventual pulp fantasy roguelike series.

    • 60’s and Intrigued

      It is a really neat book. It somehow really feels very much a product of the 60’s; I mean, I know it is but something about it really feels like a relic from that era.

      Pulp fantasy roguelike serious….color me intrigued.

      • Re: 60’s and Intrigued

        You nailed it. Just like reading the Elric books.

        As far as the roguelike, I’m working on the very basic rendering code right now. The first product (expect a years-from-now completion, unless my kids suddenly start sleeping through the night) can be summarized as follows:

        Aside the long-dead hero you find your prize. Your torch sputters its last as you pry the warhammer from its rest; you now have only Lighthammer to illuminate your escape. Though it feeds on death, it’s satiation is brief: Can you claim enough souls from the approaching ghouls to keep your path alight?

      • Re: 60’s and Intrigued

        You nailed it. Just like reading the Elric books.

        As far as the roguelike, I’m working on the very basic rendering code right now. The first product (expect a years-from-now completion, unless my kids suddenly start sleeping through the night) can be summarized as follows:

        Aside the long-dead hero you find your prize. Your torch sputters its last as you pry the warhammer from its rest; you now have only Lighthammer to illuminate your escape. Though it feeds on death, it’s satiation is brief: Can you claim enough souls from the approaching ghouls to keep your path alight?

    • 60’s and Intrigued

      It is a really neat book. It somehow really feels very much a product of the 60’s; I mean, I know it is but something about it really feels like a relic from that era.

      Pulp fantasy roguelike serious….color me intrigued.

  18. The Last Unicorn is a great book, especially the anachronisms.

    R: Finally reading my Tolkien. I finished up the Silmarillion, which is making the Lord of the Rings a much better read.

    P: Taking care of the little ones coming off of the flu and a wife who’s just starting it.

    W: Earth-tones.

    W: I keep tinkering with stuff. I’m taking a break from fiction/gaming and doing some hobby programming (working on PNG decoding now, mostly to learn decompression algorithms) towards an eventual pulp fantasy roguelike series.

  19. The Last Unicorn is a great book, especially the anachronisms.

    R: Finally reading my Tolkien. I finished up the Silmarillion, which is making the Lord of the Rings a much better read.

    P: Taking care of the little ones coming off of the flu and a wife who’s just starting it.

    W: Earth-tones.

    W: I keep tinkering with stuff. I’m taking a break from fiction/gaming and doing some hobby programming (working on PNG decoding now, mostly to learn decompression algorithms) towards an eventual pulp fantasy roguelike series.

  20. The Last Unicorn is a great book, especially the anachronisms.

    R: Finally reading my Tolkien. I finished up the Silmarillion, which is making the Lord of the Rings a much better read.

    P: Taking care of the little ones coming off of the flu and a wife who’s just starting it.

    W: Earth-tones.

    W: I keep tinkering with stuff. I’m taking a break from fiction/gaming and doing some hobby programming (working on PNG decoding now, mostly to learn decompression algorithms) towards an eventual pulp fantasy roguelike series.

  21. 60’s and Intrigued

    It is a really neat book. It somehow really feels very much a product of the 60’s; I mean, I know it is but something about it really feels like a relic from that era.

    Pulp fantasy roguelike serious….color me intrigued.

  22. 60’s and Intrigued

    It is a really neat book. It somehow really feels very much a product of the 60’s; I mean, I know it is but something about it really feels like a relic from that era.

    Pulp fantasy roguelike serious….color me intrigued.

  23. Resume and PSS

    Good luck with that resume, chief.

    Where are you at with Perdido?

    When I first read that book, I immediately thought of you and my cousin, Brian. Brian’s dead, so there’s just you know (but I believe he read it before he died and really liked it).

  24. Resume and PSS

    Good luck with that resume, chief.

    Where are you at with Perdido?

    When I first read that book, I immediately thought of you and my cousin, Brian. Brian’s dead, so there’s just you know (but I believe he read it before he died and really liked it).

  25. Re: 60’s and Intrigued

    You nailed it. Just like reading the Elric books.

    As far as the roguelike, I’m working on the very basic rendering code right now. The first product (expect a years-from-now completion, unless my kids suddenly start sleeping through the night) can be summarized as follows:

    Aside the long-dead hero you find your prize. Your torch sputters its last as you pry the warhammer from its rest; you now have only Lighthammer to illuminate your escape. Though it feeds on death, it’s satiation is brief: Can you claim enough souls from the approaching ghouls to keep your path alight?

  26. Re: 60’s and Intrigued

    You nailed it. Just like reading the Elric books.

    As far as the roguelike, I’m working on the very basic rendering code right now. The first product (expect a years-from-now completion, unless my kids suddenly start sleeping through the night) can be summarized as follows:

    Aside the long-dead hero you find your prize. Your torch sputters its last as you pry the warhammer from its rest; you now have only Lighthammer to illuminate your escape. Though it feeds on death, it’s satiation is brief: Can you claim enough souls from the approaching ghouls to keep your path alight?

  27. Re: 4ever

    Yeah, I think my initial 4E rush got stopped short last year between various disasters which have put all my gaming on life support for the last few months.

    In so many ways, I’m still trying to recover. I remember wondering if they ever got the online client at WOTC off the ground or not? (their hyperbusy site locks up my ghetto computer, so I haven’t been there in months…)

  28. Re: 4ever

    Yeah, I think my initial 4E rush got stopped short last year between various disasters which have put all my gaming on life support for the last few months.

    In so many ways, I’m still trying to recover. I remember wondering if they ever got the online client at WOTC off the ground or not? (their hyperbusy site locks up my ghetto computer, so I haven’t been there in months…)

  29. Re: Hole

    I know how that goes.

    I’ve now finished Farthing and am so glad I had the spoilers so I could bear to finish it. I’m now in the second book, Ha’apenny. After that, I might do the third, or let myself be seduced by Catherynne Valente’s Palimpsest, about a sexually transmitted city.

    Meanwhile, we leave for Chelmsford and Intercon I on Thursday, and our larps run Friday night and Saturday morning. Then, we play in other larps Saturday afternoon and evening, and Sunday morning.

  30. Re: Hole

    I know how that goes.

    I’ve now finished Farthing and am so glad I had the spoilers so I could bear to finish it. I’m now in the second book, Ha’apenny. After that, I might do the third, or let myself be seduced by Catherynne Valente’s Palimpsest, about a sexually transmitted city.

    Meanwhile, we leave for Chelmsford and Intercon I on Thursday, and our larps run Friday night and Saturday morning. Then, we play in other larps Saturday afternoon and evening, and Sunday morning.

Leave a Reply

