Gaming like a phoenix

I was hoping that Friday night would be us gaming our Burning Wheel game. It was high time that Pete’s bastard waltzed into the Sun Citadel and attempted to usurp the Witch Baroness, his step-mother. I’ve been daydreaming about that scene for months now, wondering where it would go.

Nah, that isn’t happening on Friday.

Jeff and Storn and I have been tryign to carve out Monday morning time for weeks now. It just isn’t happening. The two heroes from a crossroads town with no name caught between a war between the Ghoul King and the Demon God of the Gnolls is just not going to happen again.

But from the ashes…

I’m exchanging e-mails with Pete about a Spirit of the Century idea, creating a character based on a city we played through in our old Deadlands game.

Cog, city of the future would be just a ghost town by 1921. They say scientists came from around the world to build things in Cog, right on the border of the four corners, out in the wild west.

It is hard to imagine now. Cog is surrounded by decades old warehouses filled with vacuum tubes and tesla coils and bits none can define, so they write it off as junk.

They could not be more wrong.

In its day, Cog was a city-state of scientists and visionaries who were out to change the world.

What happened?

He’ll make a character and we’ll find out together, probably using the World Aspects on Friday.

And it looks like me and Storn and his lady-friend will be getting together to do some swords-with-mice action with Mouse Guard in the Monday slot.

Should be a good time if it all doesn’t fall through…again.

How is your gaming going?

108 thoughts on “Gaming like a phoenix

  1. I’m languishing somewhat; my crew can only manage one evening every two weeks, and I want more. So I went back to my E6 d20 game so I can entice a broader player base.

  2. I’m languishing somewhat; my crew can only manage one evening every two weeks, and I want more. So I went back to my E6 d20 game so I can entice a broader player base.

  3. I’m languishing somewhat; my crew can only manage one evening every two weeks, and I want more. So I went back to my E6 d20 game so I can entice a broader player base.

  4. I’m languishing somewhat; my crew can only manage one evening every two weeks, and I want more. So I went back to my E6 d20 game so I can entice a broader player base.

  5. Man, I *really* hope for your sake that some of your games happen. They sound really cool, for one, but it is *so* frustrating to repeatedly make plans and have them fall through. Good luck!

    My gaming at the moment is going ridiculously well. There have been some major waves, but luckily these groups have enough tenacious-as-a-pitbull players to ride the waves into calmer waters.

    1. Burning Wheel, weekly. I’m GMing. This is the game that’s been going on for over a year (2-3 years if you count it’s D&D days). We’re starting a new arc this Monday with a brand-spanking-new player. This ravaged colony that they’ve been living in needs a new leader. The crown, the investors, and some of the colonists themselves all want a part of this. Each group’s representative has pros and cons. It’s going to start out polite and friendly and probably get ugly very fast. After having a wide-sweeping adventure in the previous arc, it’ll be nice to have a tight & local political intrigue.

    2. Mouse Guard, about every other week. My husband Phil is GMing. Matt Weber and his gf Anna Melton are playing with us, and Rob Bohl guest starred in our first session a couple of weeks ago. So MG is cool, but it never interested me as much as Luke’s other games because a lot of it seemed more light-hearted and simple. So I created a mouse who’s high-ranking in the guard but came from a criminal background and is very much an ends justify the means kind of guy. Holy fun! He didn’t do anything shady in our first game, but he got into an argument with his enemy, another high-ranking guard and some of his past misdeeds came to light, sowing seeds of doubt in his crew. One of them snuck into his sleeping quarters to see if he had the missing mail (he didn’t), and my guy caught him in the act, catching up his hand and promising to remove it should he catch him doing that again. So guard trust is very shaky after just one session. Yeah, this game is ON.

    3. Burning Empires, about 3 times a month. OMG, I LOVE BE. LOVE it! It’s the hardest game I’ve had to GM, but it’s so worth it. Being able to try and actively win and really flesh out my characters is amazingly fun. And the humans are quickly edging towards being the bad guys which is a thing of beauty.

    So, that fact that each group is playing one of Luke’s games is pure coincidence. In MG and BE, the other players pushed for it, so here we are. I’m just enjoying it while it lasts.

    • Burning, Burning, Burning

      Wow, that is one hell of a burning resume you are stacking together, lady.

      That isn’t the first guards-mouse I have heard of with a criminal background and I say this because it is an awesome concept. I think Jeff ran with a similar vibe. Is this guy looking for some redemption?

      I have this image of an old greyfur librarian/scientist with a metal staff that has a lantern hanging from the end.

      I’d love to hear more about your experience with BE; I haven’t touched that game since the playtest.

      • Re: Burning, Burning, Burning

        I think my mouse had found redemption in the Mouse Guard, and that’s why he’s loyal to it, if not always good at applying all the MG principles. He’s at an interesting point right now, because his redemption is threatened, so I don’t know where his path will lead. I’ll have to sketch ‘im up soon.

        As for BE, I will surely tell you more. I need to write the APs for the last couple of maneuvers first. I hope you get a chance to play or GM it sometime – I didn’t think any game would usurp BW as my favorite game, but this has done it.

      • Re: Burning, Burning, Burning

        I think my mouse had found redemption in the Mouse Guard, and that’s why he’s loyal to it, if not always good at applying all the MG principles. He’s at an interesting point right now, because his redemption is threatened, so I don’t know where his path will lead. I’ll have to sketch ‘im up soon.

        As for BE, I will surely tell you more. I need to write the APs for the last couple of maneuvers first. I hope you get a chance to play or GM it sometime – I didn’t think any game would usurp BW as my favorite game, but this has done it.

    • Burning, Burning, Burning

      Wow, that is one hell of a burning resume you are stacking together, lady.

      That isn’t the first guards-mouse I have heard of with a criminal background and I say this because it is an awesome concept. I think Jeff ran with a similar vibe. Is this guy looking for some redemption?

      I have this image of an old greyfur librarian/scientist with a metal staff that has a lantern hanging from the end.

      I’d love to hear more about your experience with BE; I haven’t touched that game since the playtest.

  6. Man, I *really* hope for your sake that some of your games happen. They sound really cool, for one, but it is *so* frustrating to repeatedly make plans and have them fall through. Good luck!

    My gaming at the moment is going ridiculously well. There have been some major waves, but luckily these groups have enough tenacious-as-a-pitbull players to ride the waves into calmer waters.

    1. Burning Wheel, weekly. I’m GMing. This is the game that’s been going on for over a year (2-3 years if you count it’s D&D days). We’re starting a new arc this Monday with a brand-spanking-new player. This ravaged colony that they’ve been living in needs a new leader. The crown, the investors, and some of the colonists themselves all want a part of this. Each group’s representative has pros and cons. It’s going to start out polite and friendly and probably get ugly very fast. After having a wide-sweeping adventure in the previous arc, it’ll be nice to have a tight & local political intrigue.

    2. Mouse Guard, about every other week. My husband Phil is GMing. Matt Weber and his gf Anna Melton are playing with us, and Rob Bohl guest starred in our first session a couple of weeks ago. So MG is cool, but it never interested me as much as Luke’s other games because a lot of it seemed more light-hearted and simple. So I created a mouse who’s high-ranking in the guard but came from a criminal background and is very much an ends justify the means kind of guy. Holy fun! He didn’t do anything shady in our first game, but he got into an argument with his enemy, another high-ranking guard and some of his past misdeeds came to light, sowing seeds of doubt in his crew. One of them snuck into his sleeping quarters to see if he had the missing mail (he didn’t), and my guy caught him in the act, catching up his hand and promising to remove it should he catch him doing that again. So guard trust is very shaky after just one session. Yeah, this game is ON.

    3. Burning Empires, about 3 times a month. OMG, I LOVE BE. LOVE it! It’s the hardest game I’ve had to GM, but it’s so worth it. Being able to try and actively win and really flesh out my characters is amazingly fun. And the humans are quickly edging towards being the bad guys which is a thing of beauty.

    So, that fact that each group is playing one of Luke’s games is pure coincidence. In MG and BE, the other players pushed for it, so here we are. I’m just enjoying it while it lasts.

  7. Man, I *really* hope for your sake that some of your games happen. They sound really cool, for one, but it is *so* frustrating to repeatedly make plans and have them fall through. Good luck!

    My gaming at the moment is going ridiculously well. There have been some major waves, but luckily these groups have enough tenacious-as-a-pitbull players to ride the waves into calmer waters.

    1. Burning Wheel, weekly. I’m GMing. This is the game that’s been going on for over a year (2-3 years if you count it’s D&D days). We’re starting a new arc this Monday with a brand-spanking-new player. This ravaged colony that they’ve been living in needs a new leader. The crown, the investors, and some of the colonists themselves all want a part of this. Each group’s representative has pros and cons. It’s going to start out polite and friendly and probably get ugly very fast. After having a wide-sweeping adventure in the previous arc, it’ll be nice to have a tight & local political intrigue.

    2. Mouse Guard, about every other week. My husband Phil is GMing. Matt Weber and his gf Anna Melton are playing with us, and Rob Bohl guest starred in our first session a couple of weeks ago. So MG is cool, but it never interested me as much as Luke’s other games because a lot of it seemed more light-hearted and simple. So I created a mouse who’s high-ranking in the guard but came from a criminal background and is very much an ends justify the means kind of guy. Holy fun! He didn’t do anything shady in our first game, but he got into an argument with his enemy, another high-ranking guard and some of his past misdeeds came to light, sowing seeds of doubt in his crew. One of them snuck into his sleeping quarters to see if he had the missing mail (he didn’t), and my guy caught him in the act, catching up his hand and promising to remove it should he catch him doing that again. So guard trust is very shaky after just one session. Yeah, this game is ON.

    3. Burning Empires, about 3 times a month. OMG, I LOVE BE. LOVE it! It’s the hardest game I’ve had to GM, but it’s so worth it. Being able to try and actively win and really flesh out my characters is amazingly fun. And the humans are quickly edging towards being the bad guys which is a thing of beauty.

    So, that fact that each group is playing one of Luke’s games is pure coincidence. In MG and BE, the other players pushed for it, so here we are. I’m just enjoying it while it lasts.

  8. Man, I *really* hope for your sake that some of your games happen. They sound really cool, for one, but it is *so* frustrating to repeatedly make plans and have them fall through. Good luck!

    My gaming at the moment is going ridiculously well. There have been some major waves, but luckily these groups have enough tenacious-as-a-pitbull players to ride the waves into calmer waters.

    1. Burning Wheel, weekly. I’m GMing. This is the game that’s been going on for over a year (2-3 years if you count it’s D&D days). We’re starting a new arc this Monday with a brand-spanking-new player. This ravaged colony that they’ve been living in needs a new leader. The crown, the investors, and some of the colonists themselves all want a part of this. Each group’s representative has pros and cons. It’s going to start out polite and friendly and probably get ugly very fast. After having a wide-sweeping adventure in the previous arc, it’ll be nice to have a tight & local political intrigue.

    2. Mouse Guard, about every other week. My husband Phil is GMing. Matt Weber and his gf Anna Melton are playing with us, and Rob Bohl guest starred in our first session a couple of weeks ago. So MG is cool, but it never interested me as much as Luke’s other games because a lot of it seemed more light-hearted and simple. So I created a mouse who’s high-ranking in the guard but came from a criminal background and is very much an ends justify the means kind of guy. Holy fun! He didn’t do anything shady in our first game, but he got into an argument with his enemy, another high-ranking guard and some of his past misdeeds came to light, sowing seeds of doubt in his crew. One of them snuck into his sleeping quarters to see if he had the missing mail (he didn’t), and my guy caught him in the act, catching up his hand and promising to remove it should he catch him doing that again. So guard trust is very shaky after just one session. Yeah, this game is ON.

    3. Burning Empires, about 3 times a month. OMG, I LOVE BE. LOVE it! It’s the hardest game I’ve had to GM, but it’s so worth it. Being able to try and actively win and really flesh out my characters is amazingly fun. And the humans are quickly edging towards being the bad guys which is a thing of beauty.

    So, that fact that each group is playing one of Luke’s games is pure coincidence. In MG and BE, the other players pushed for it, so here we are. I’m just enjoying it while it lasts.

  9. Burning, Burning, Burning

    Wow, that is one hell of a burning resume you are stacking together, lady.

    That isn’t the first guards-mouse I have heard of with a criminal background and I say this because it is an awesome concept. I think Jeff ran with a similar vibe. Is this guy looking for some redemption?

    I have this image of an old greyfur librarian/scientist with a metal staff that has a lantern hanging from the end.

    I’d love to hear more about your experience with BE; I haven’t touched that game since the playtest.

  10. Burning, Burning, Burning

    Wow, that is one hell of a burning resume you are stacking together, lady.

    That isn’t the first guards-mouse I have heard of with a criminal background and I say this because it is an awesome concept. I think Jeff ran with a similar vibe. Is this guy looking for some redemption?

    I have this image of an old greyfur librarian/scientist with a metal staff that has a lantern hanging from the end.

    I’d love to hear more about your experience with BE; I haven’t touched that game since the playtest.

  11. Well… not counting one-shots I haven’t gotten to do any group gaming or any playing in a long time, probably more than a year. Mostly I’ve been running solo games with my girlfriend, the lovely . Right now we’re playing Exalted.

    Anyway, I’m sorry to hear about your, well, loss. It always sucks when a game goes the way of all hobbies.

      • Re: Not a loss

        Overall, brilliantly! We’re running a mad prophetess in a preapocalyptic (as in, immediately preapocalyptic) Exalted setting.

        I’m having a lot of fun with the character’s mad meanderings turning out to be true and slowly unveiling the ways in which I’ve changed the basic setting. I have some very interesting plans for the future – we’ll see how things go.

        I’ll be posting about it on my livejournal later, if you’d like to read it.

      • Re: Not a loss

        Overall, brilliantly! We’re running a mad prophetess in a preapocalyptic (as in, immediately preapocalyptic) Exalted setting.

        I’m having a lot of fun with the character’s mad meanderings turning out to be true and slowly unveiling the ways in which I’ve changed the basic setting. I have some very interesting plans for the future – we’ll see how things go.

        I’ll be posting about it on my livejournal later, if you’d like to read it.

  12. Well… not counting one-shots I haven’t gotten to do any group gaming or any playing in a long time, probably more than a year. Mostly I’ve been running solo games with my girlfriend, the lovely . Right now we’re playing Exalted.

    Anyway, I’m sorry to hear about your, well, loss. It always sucks when a game goes the way of all hobbies.

  13. Well… not counting one-shots I haven’t gotten to do any group gaming or any playing in a long time, probably more than a year. Mostly I’ve been running solo games with my girlfriend, the lovely . Right now we’re playing Exalted.

    Anyway, I’m sorry to hear about your, well, loss. It always sucks when a game goes the way of all hobbies.

  14. Well… not counting one-shots I haven’t gotten to do any group gaming or any playing in a long time, probably more than a year. Mostly I’ve been running solo games with my girlfriend, the lovely . Right now we’re playing Exalted.

    Anyway, I’m sorry to hear about your, well, loss. It always sucks when a game goes the way of all hobbies.

  15. Re: Not a loss

    Overall, brilliantly! We’re running a mad prophetess in a preapocalyptic (as in, immediately preapocalyptic) Exalted setting.

    I’m having a lot of fun with the character’s mad meanderings turning out to be true and slowly unveiling the ways in which I’ve changed the basic setting. I have some very interesting plans for the future – we’ll see how things go.

    I’ll be posting about it on my livejournal later, if you’d like to read it.

  16. Re: Not a loss

    Overall, brilliantly! We’re running a mad prophetess in a preapocalyptic (as in, immediately preapocalyptic) Exalted setting.

    I’m having a lot of fun with the character’s mad meanderings turning out to be true and slowly unveiling the ways in which I’ve changed the basic setting. I have some very interesting plans for the future – we’ll see how things go.

    I’ll be posting about it on my livejournal later, if you’d like to read it.

  17. My Deadlands game is powering along, coming up on a year and a half of playing now, and looking ahead to another several months of the Weird West before we graduate to Hell on Earth.

    Aside from that, it’s a bit so-so. I’m not getting much satisfaction from our rotating Monday night WoD games. The more I play them, the more the campaigns just all feel like the same meal, just with a different garnish. I need some variety, some sense of purpose in my games. Vampire, Werewolf, and Mage are all starting to feel very much the same.

    I also seem to have developed a knack for getting absolutely no response when I pitch new game ideas.

  18. My Deadlands game is powering along, coming up on a year and a half of playing now, and looking ahead to another several months of the Weird West before we graduate to Hell on Earth.

    Aside from that, it’s a bit so-so. I’m not getting much satisfaction from our rotating Monday night WoD games. The more I play them, the more the campaigns just all feel like the same meal, just with a different garnish. I need some variety, some sense of purpose in my games. Vampire, Werewolf, and Mage are all starting to feel very much the same.

    I also seem to have developed a knack for getting absolutely no response when I pitch new game ideas.

  19. My Deadlands game is powering along, coming up on a year and a half of playing now, and looking ahead to another several months of the Weird West before we graduate to Hell on Earth.

    Aside from that, it’s a bit so-so. I’m not getting much satisfaction from our rotating Monday night WoD games. The more I play them, the more the campaigns just all feel like the same meal, just with a different garnish. I need some variety, some sense of purpose in my games. Vampire, Werewolf, and Mage are all starting to feel very much the same.

    I also seem to have developed a knack for getting absolutely no response when I pitch new game ideas.

  20. My Deadlands game is powering along, coming up on a year and a half of playing now, and looking ahead to another several months of the Weird West before we graduate to Hell on Earth.

    Aside from that, it’s a bit so-so. I’m not getting much satisfaction from our rotating Monday night WoD games. The more I play them, the more the campaigns just all feel like the same meal, just with a different garnish. I need some variety, some sense of purpose in my games. Vampire, Werewolf, and Mage are all starting to feel very much the same.

    I also seem to have developed a knack for getting absolutely no response when I pitch new game ideas.

  21. 1. My regular group gets together once a week and we only get in about two and a half hours of gaming. We just kicked off a Shadowrun 4th Edition game with a bit of a CthulhuTech mashup goodness, with an alternate type of initiative. The game takes a long time to go through a scene where there’s combat, and that’s what a lot of Shadowrun is all about. Three of us six really like gaming systems that simulate reality as best possible, so there’s discussions about how fast someone can actually run in a game turn and stuff like that. That is fun for some people, but I’d rather get more involved in getting the story moving. We’re still looking at getting better with the system, but still I think it’s going to be moving too slow for half the group.

    The problem with this is we’re effectively in partnered groups where one of us likes more narrativistic games and the other likes the really simulationist games: I’d love the game system to disappear into the background and just facilitate game play, my wife loves dealing with the minutiae of a game system. We usually get around this by swapping GMs every so often, playing different game styles in the group. This time we’ve gotten around to the crunchy gamers.

    2. The monthly game event has a stable group of players that come in for my Primetime Adventures game, MCU: Gotham. (So I’m getting a good healthy dose of story-driven gaming in.) We’re on our last episode of the first season — we’ve already said we wanted to come back for a second season — but we’re taking a short break between seasons. The game is a police procedural set in Batman’s Gotham City. It’s a hella lotta fun. Gotham’s mayor is Oswald Cobblepot. Hella fun.

  22. 1. My regular group gets together once a week and we only get in about two and a half hours of gaming. We just kicked off a Shadowrun 4th Edition game with a bit of a CthulhuTech mashup goodness, with an alternate type of initiative. The game takes a long time to go through a scene where there’s combat, and that’s what a lot of Shadowrun is all about. Three of us six really like gaming systems that simulate reality as best possible, so there’s discussions about how fast someone can actually run in a game turn and stuff like that. That is fun for some people, but I’d rather get more involved in getting the story moving. We’re still looking at getting better with the system, but still I think it’s going to be moving too slow for half the group.

    The problem with this is we’re effectively in partnered groups where one of us likes more narrativistic games and the other likes the really simulationist games: I’d love the game system to disappear into the background and just facilitate game play, my wife loves dealing with the minutiae of a game system. We usually get around this by swapping GMs every so often, playing different game styles in the group. This time we’ve gotten around to the crunchy gamers.

    2. The monthly game event has a stable group of players that come in for my Primetime Adventures game, MCU: Gotham. (So I’m getting a good healthy dose of story-driven gaming in.) We’re on our last episode of the first season — we’ve already said we wanted to come back for a second season — but we’re taking a short break between seasons. The game is a police procedural set in Batman’s Gotham City. It’s a hella lotta fun. Gotham’s mayor is Oswald Cobblepot. Hella fun.

  23. 1. My regular group gets together once a week and we only get in about two and a half hours of gaming. We just kicked off a Shadowrun 4th Edition game with a bit of a CthulhuTech mashup goodness, with an alternate type of initiative. The game takes a long time to go through a scene where there’s combat, and that’s what a lot of Shadowrun is all about. Three of us six really like gaming systems that simulate reality as best possible, so there’s discussions about how fast someone can actually run in a game turn and stuff like that. That is fun for some people, but I’d rather get more involved in getting the story moving. We’re still looking at getting better with the system, but still I think it’s going to be moving too slow for half the group.

    The problem with this is we’re effectively in partnered groups where one of us likes more narrativistic games and the other likes the really simulationist games: I’d love the game system to disappear into the background and just facilitate game play, my wife loves dealing with the minutiae of a game system. We usually get around this by swapping GMs every so often, playing different game styles in the group. This time we’ve gotten around to the crunchy gamers.

    2. The monthly game event has a stable group of players that come in for my Primetime Adventures game, MCU: Gotham. (So I’m getting a good healthy dose of story-driven gaming in.) We’re on our last episode of the first season — we’ve already said we wanted to come back for a second season — but we’re taking a short break between seasons. The game is a police procedural set in Batman’s Gotham City. It’s a hella lotta fun. Gotham’s mayor is Oswald Cobblepot. Hella fun.

  24. 1. My regular group gets together once a week and we only get in about two and a half hours of gaming. We just kicked off a Shadowrun 4th Edition game with a bit of a CthulhuTech mashup goodness, with an alternate type of initiative. The game takes a long time to go through a scene where there’s combat, and that’s what a lot of Shadowrun is all about. Three of us six really like gaming systems that simulate reality as best possible, so there’s discussions about how fast someone can actually run in a game turn and stuff like that. That is fun for some people, but I’d rather get more involved in getting the story moving. We’re still looking at getting better with the system, but still I think it’s going to be moving too slow for half the group.

    The problem with this is we’re effectively in partnered groups where one of us likes more narrativistic games and the other likes the really simulationist games: I’d love the game system to disappear into the background and just facilitate game play, my wife loves dealing with the minutiae of a game system. We usually get around this by swapping GMs every so often, playing different game styles in the group. This time we’ve gotten around to the crunchy gamers.

    2. The monthly game event has a stable group of players that come in for my Primetime Adventures game, MCU: Gotham. (So I’m getting a good healthy dose of story-driven gaming in.) We’re on our last episode of the first season — we’ve already said we wanted to come back for a second season — but we’re taking a short break between seasons. The game is a police procedural set in Batman’s Gotham City. It’s a hella lotta fun. Gotham’s mayor is Oswald Cobblepot. Hella fun.

  25. My group has been trying to get a Burning Empires game off the ground, after TPKing one too many times in 4E. We’ve been slowly working our way through world and character burning, but our game nights keep falling through for a variety of reasons. I’m still hoping we’ll get it together soon, but it’s frustrating me in the meantime.

    Hearing about your games always makes me want to round people up and play, _right now_.

  26. My group has been trying to get a Burning Empires game off the ground, after TPKing one too many times in 4E. We’ve been slowly working our way through world and character burning, but our game nights keep falling through for a variety of reasons. I’m still hoping we’ll get it together soon, but it’s frustrating me in the meantime.

    Hearing about your games always makes me want to round people up and play, _right now_.

  27. My group has been trying to get a Burning Empires game off the ground, after TPKing one too many times in 4E. We’ve been slowly working our way through world and character burning, but our game nights keep falling through for a variety of reasons. I’m still hoping we’ll get it together soon, but it’s frustrating me in the meantime.

    Hearing about your games always makes me want to round people up and play, _right now_.

  28. My group has been trying to get a Burning Empires game off the ground, after TPKing one too many times in 4E. We’ve been slowly working our way through world and character burning, but our game nights keep falling through for a variety of reasons. I’m still hoping we’ll get it together soon, but it’s frustrating me in the meantime.

    Hearing about your games always makes me want to round people up and play, _right now_.

  29. I’m running the third season of the Durham 3s Primetime Adventures cop drama Deep in the Blue. This time it’s focusing on the neighborhood of Bond Hill and the cast of characters there. We had a 1st episode/pilot that kicked things off nicely, and next week is the spotlight episode for the star high school basketball player. Oh, the pain will be so ripe and delicious.

    This is the first time I’ve run a long-term game of PTA, and I’m really enjoying it.

    I’m also trying to get together a bi-weekly D&D4e game, we’ll see how that goes.

    I’d like to weekend game/playtest more, now that I’m not doing improv anymore.

  30. I’m running the third season of the Durham 3s Primetime Adventures cop drama Deep in the Blue. This time it’s focusing on the neighborhood of Bond Hill and the cast of characters there. We had a 1st episode/pilot that kicked things off nicely, and next week is the spotlight episode for the star high school basketball player. Oh, the pain will be so ripe and delicious.

    This is the first time I’ve run a long-term game of PTA, and I’m really enjoying it.

    I’m also trying to get together a bi-weekly D&D4e game, we’ll see how that goes.

    I’d like to weekend game/playtest more, now that I’m not doing improv anymore.

  31. I’m running the third season of the Durham 3s Primetime Adventures cop drama Deep in the Blue. This time it’s focusing on the neighborhood of Bond Hill and the cast of characters there. We had a 1st episode/pilot that kicked things off nicely, and next week is the spotlight episode for the star high school basketball player. Oh, the pain will be so ripe and delicious.

    This is the first time I’ve run a long-term game of PTA, and I’m really enjoying it.

    I’m also trying to get together a bi-weekly D&D4e game, we’ll see how that goes.

    I’d like to weekend game/playtest more, now that I’m not doing improv anymore.

  32. I’m running the third season of the Durham 3s Primetime Adventures cop drama Deep in the Blue. This time it’s focusing on the neighborhood of Bond Hill and the cast of characters there. We had a 1st episode/pilot that kicked things off nicely, and next week is the spotlight episode for the star high school basketball player. Oh, the pain will be so ripe and delicious.

    This is the first time I’ve run a long-term game of PTA, and I’m really enjoying it.

    I’m also trying to get together a bi-weekly D&D4e game, we’ll see how that goes.

    I’d like to weekend game/playtest more, now that I’m not doing improv anymore.

  33. there’s times I really wish that someone would send a copy of PTA to all the studio execs in Hollywood; it seems like the shows that people come up with for PTA always sound more awesome then the shows that actually come out.

  34. there’s times I really wish that someone would send a copy of PTA to all the studio execs in Hollywood; it seems like the shows that people come up with for PTA always sound more awesome then the shows that actually come out.

  35. I should do more in-depth AP reports about the game. It’s always nice to look back at that stuff. That first DitB game was wild! And three years ago!

    First session worked hard to find its own identity. I can start slipping in references to previous series later.

  36. I should do more in-depth AP reports about the game. It’s always nice to look back at that stuff. That first DitB game was wild! And three years ago!

    First session worked hard to find its own identity. I can start slipping in references to previous series later.

  37. Re: Burning, Burning, Burning

    I think my mouse had found redemption in the Mouse Guard, and that’s why he’s loyal to it, if not always good at applying all the MG principles. He’s at an interesting point right now, because his redemption is threatened, so I don’t know where his path will lead. I’ll have to sketch ‘im up soon.

    As for BE, I will surely tell you more. I need to write the APs for the last couple of maneuvers first. I hope you get a chance to play or GM it sometime – I didn’t think any game would usurp BW as my favorite game, but this has done it.

  38. Re: Burning, Burning, Burning

    I think my mouse had found redemption in the Mouse Guard, and that’s why he’s loyal to it, if not always good at applying all the MG principles. He’s at an interesting point right now, because his redemption is threatened, so I don’t know where his path will lead. I’ll have to sketch ‘im up soon.

    As for BE, I will surely tell you more. I need to write the APs for the last couple of maneuvers first. I hope you get a chance to play or GM it sometime – I didn’t think any game would usurp BW as my favorite game, but this has done it.

  39. Finger’s crossed it doesn’t fall through. Cog is just screaming for some clockwork-steam-powered-ninja-action!

    My gaming is going well with:

    1. Running a bi-weekly Burning Wheel game titled “Burning Song Stones” for 2 players (a husband & wife team I met on nearbygamers.com). Next session will hopefully see the naive & pure Elven Princess PC finally coming face to face with her aunt (who she hero worships) and discovering that said Aunt is a dark elf (naturally), the creator of the Twisted Death (pandemic plague that turned men into Orcs, gentle hill men into Trolls etc) and the Blood Mother to all the crazed Orc sorcerers. It’s gonna be great!

    2. A monthly after work game night with some work colleagues. So far we’ve played BSG the Boardgame (awesome!) and Race for the Galaxy (card game, good but not as awesome as BSG) but I’m slowly slowly getting them interested in a game of 4E. We’ve also got the WoW Boardgame to try at some point.

    3. A monthly game club in London “Gameforce” (http://community.livejournal.com/gameforce). Mainly board/card games but with some willing roleplayers so planning to run that splendid Mice with Swords game ๐Ÿ™‚

      • 1 – was hot stuff! 2 – go Cylons! 3 – And Axes, don’t forget the Axes!

        For those interested, I’ve written up brief AP of the Burning Song Stones session last week here (it’s in the Geekery section) and it was hot stuff! Not bad considering no prep – don’t you just love BW for that ๐Ÿ™‚

      • 1 – was hot stuff! 2 – go Cylons! 3 – And Axes, don’t forget the Axes!

        For those interested, I’ve written up brief AP of the Burning Song Stones session last week here (it’s in the Geekery section) and it was hot stuff! Not bad considering no prep – don’t you just love BW for that ๐Ÿ™‚

  40. Finger’s crossed it doesn’t fall through. Cog is just screaming for some clockwork-steam-powered-ninja-action!

    My gaming is going well with:

    1. Running a bi-weekly Burning Wheel game titled “Burning Song Stones” for 2 players (a husband & wife team I met on nearbygamers.com). Next session will hopefully see the naive & pure Elven Princess PC finally coming face to face with her aunt (who she hero worships) and discovering that said Aunt is a dark elf (naturally), the creator of the Twisted Death (pandemic plague that turned men into Orcs, gentle hill men into Trolls etc) and the Blood Mother to all the crazed Orc sorcerers. It’s gonna be great!

    2. A monthly after work game night with some work colleagues. So far we’ve played BSG the Boardgame (awesome!) and Race for the Galaxy (card game, good but not as awesome as BSG) but I’m slowly slowly getting them interested in a game of 4E. We’ve also got the WoW Boardgame to try at some point.

    3. A monthly game club in London “Gameforce” (http://community.livejournal.com/gameforce). Mainly board/card games but with some willing roleplayers so planning to run that splendid Mice with Swords game ๐Ÿ™‚

  41. Finger’s crossed it doesn’t fall through. Cog is just screaming for some clockwork-steam-powered-ninja-action!

    My gaming is going well with:

    1. Running a bi-weekly Burning Wheel game titled “Burning Song Stones” for 2 players (a husband & wife team I met on nearbygamers.com). Next session will hopefully see the naive & pure Elven Princess PC finally coming face to face with her aunt (who she hero worships) and discovering that said Aunt is a dark elf (naturally), the creator of the Twisted Death (pandemic plague that turned men into Orcs, gentle hill men into Trolls etc) and the Blood Mother to all the crazed Orc sorcerers. It’s gonna be great!

    2. A monthly after work game night with some work colleagues. So far we’ve played BSG the Boardgame (awesome!) and Race for the Galaxy (card game, good but not as awesome as BSG) but I’m slowly slowly getting them interested in a game of 4E. We’ve also got the WoW Boardgame to try at some point.

    3. A monthly game club in London “Gameforce” (http://community.livejournal.com/gameforce). Mainly board/card games but with some willing roleplayers so planning to run that splendid Mice with Swords game ๐Ÿ™‚

  42. Finger’s crossed it doesn’t fall through. Cog is just screaming for some clockwork-steam-powered-ninja-action!

    My gaming is going well with:

    1. Running a bi-weekly Burning Wheel game titled “Burning Song Stones” for 2 players (a husband & wife team I met on nearbygamers.com). Next session will hopefully see the naive & pure Elven Princess PC finally coming face to face with her aunt (who she hero worships) and discovering that said Aunt is a dark elf (naturally), the creator of the Twisted Death (pandemic plague that turned men into Orcs, gentle hill men into Trolls etc) and the Blood Mother to all the crazed Orc sorcerers. It’s gonna be great!

    2. A monthly after work game night with some work colleagues. So far we’ve played BSG the Boardgame (awesome!) and Race for the Galaxy (card game, good but not as awesome as BSG) but I’m slowly slowly getting them interested in a game of 4E. We’ve also got the WoW Boardgame to try at some point.

    3. A monthly game club in London “Gameforce” (http://community.livejournal.com/gameforce). Mainly board/card games but with some willing roleplayers so planning to run that splendid Mice with Swords game ๐Ÿ™‚

  43. and I are scheming.

    But, so far… uphill battle. Adam’s running a Cyberpunk-via-Sorcerer game online, weekly. I’ve got a monthly 4E mini-campaign, but I think scheduling issues are conspiring to kill our final session (bummer when that happens). Adam and I are also trying to scare up a 4E game using his “Metrocalypse” idea, and I’m trying to find players for either Bliss Stage, a MY campaign, or an epic fantasy game set in mythical Africa, probably using Solar System (or maybe Mythender, if there’s a written version by the time I get things together). Plus, maybe a Baltimore mini-con. Maybe.

      • Re: Scheduling

        Yeah… the monthly game is b/c one of the players is from afar (NoVA), and so we make it worth his while by playing 6-7 hour weekend apocalyptic ubersessions. Which I can’t do every week.

        No one here will play Bliss Stage or Burning Empires! It is the suck.

      • Re: Scheduling

        Yeah… the monthly game is b/c one of the players is from afar (NoVA), and so we make it worth his while by playing 6-7 hour weekend apocalyptic ubersessions. Which I can’t do every week.

        No one here will play Bliss Stage or Burning Empires! It is the suck.

  44. and I are scheming.

    But, so far… uphill battle. Adam’s running a Cyberpunk-via-Sorcerer game online, weekly. I’ve got a monthly 4E mini-campaign, but I think scheduling issues are conspiring to kill our final session (bummer when that happens). Adam and I are also trying to scare up a 4E game using his “Metrocalypse” idea, and I’m trying to find players for either Bliss Stage, a MY campaign, or an epic fantasy game set in mythical Africa, probably using Solar System (or maybe Mythender, if there’s a written version by the time I get things together). Plus, maybe a Baltimore mini-con. Maybe.

  45. and I are scheming.

    But, so far… uphill battle. Adam’s running a Cyberpunk-via-Sorcerer game online, weekly. I’ve got a monthly 4E mini-campaign, but I think scheduling issues are conspiring to kill our final session (bummer when that happens). Adam and I are also trying to scare up a 4E game using his “Metrocalypse” idea, and I’m trying to find players for either Bliss Stage, a MY campaign, or an epic fantasy game set in mythical Africa, probably using Solar System (or maybe Mythender, if there’s a written version by the time I get things together). Plus, maybe a Baltimore mini-con. Maybe.

  46. and I are scheming.

    But, so far… uphill battle. Adam’s running a Cyberpunk-via-Sorcerer game online, weekly. I’ve got a monthly 4E mini-campaign, but I think scheduling issues are conspiring to kill our final session (bummer when that happens). Adam and I are also trying to scare up a 4E game using his “Metrocalypse” idea, and I’m trying to find players for either Bliss Stage, a MY campaign, or an epic fantasy game set in mythical Africa, probably using Solar System (or maybe Mythender, if there’s a written version by the time I get things together). Plus, maybe a Baltimore mini-con. Maybe.

  47. Also, every time mentions that she’s playing BE and I’m not, I go on a mad rampage through the streets.

    But, hopefully she, Phil, Adam, Dave C. and I will be meeting up next month for some Montsegur 1244.

    • Oh yes, I did forget to mention more specifically that *I* am playing Burning Empires and Daniel is *not.*

      ::checks news:: I guess mad rampages are beneath the notice of news crew in Baltimore.

      But if I don’t drive him permanently mad, I’m very, *very* much looking forward to Montsegur 1244 Day!

    • Oh yes, I did forget to mention more specifically that *I* am playing Burning Empires and Daniel is *not.*

      ::checks news:: I guess mad rampages are beneath the notice of news crew in Baltimore.

      But if I don’t drive him permanently mad, I’m very, *very* much looking forward to Montsegur 1244 Day!

  48. Also, every time mentions that she’s playing BE and I’m not, I go on a mad rampage through the streets.

    But, hopefully she, Phil, Adam, Dave C. and I will be meeting up next month for some Montsegur 1244.

  49. Also, every time mentions that she’s playing BE and I’m not, I go on a mad rampage through the streets.

    But, hopefully she, Phil, Adam, Dave C. and I will be meeting up next month for some Montsegur 1244.

  50. Also, every time mentions that she’s playing BE and I’m not, I go on a mad rampage through the streets.

    But, hopefully she, Phil, Adam, Dave C. and I will be meeting up next month for some Montsegur 1244.

  51. Scheduling

    I have been really hungry for a Bliss Stage game for quite a while.

    I find monthly games are really hard to get momentum up for. Yeah, that lack of closure always bugs me too.

  52. Scheduling

    I have been really hungry for a Bliss Stage game for quite a while.

    I find monthly games are really hard to get momentum up for. Yeah, that lack of closure always bugs me too.

  53. Re: Scheduling

    Yeah… the monthly game is b/c one of the players is from afar (NoVA), and so we make it worth his while by playing 6-7 hour weekend apocalyptic ubersessions. Which I can’t do every week.

    No one here will play Bliss Stage or Burning Empires! It is the suck.

  54. Re: Scheduling

    Yeah… the monthly game is b/c one of the players is from afar (NoVA), and so we make it worth his while by playing 6-7 hour weekend apocalyptic ubersessions. Which I can’t do every week.

    No one here will play Bliss Stage or Burning Empires! It is the suck.

  55. Oh yes, I did forget to mention more specifically that *I* am playing Burning Empires and Daniel is *not.*

    ::checks news:: I guess mad rampages are beneath the notice of news crew in Baltimore.

    But if I don’t drive him permanently mad, I’m very, *very* much looking forward to Montsegur 1244 Day!

  56. Oh yes, I did forget to mention more specifically that *I* am playing Burning Empires and Daniel is *not.*

    ::checks news:: I guess mad rampages are beneath the notice of news crew in Baltimore.

    But if I don’t drive him permanently mad, I’m very, *very* much looking forward to Montsegur 1244 Day!

  57. 1. Burning Wheel historical set in AD500 Wales. Things are really kicking up. one pc, the prince is now a Christian, and now the king, and another pc, one of his most brutal henchmen, is now a villian and punctuated his resignation with the king’s priest’s head on the table next to the letter he forced the priest to write for him.

    2. The second season of Mystic Palms (Harry Potter 90210, or now harry Potter Melrose Place) and to this we’ve added a second slot in the lineup. We play an ep of Mystic Palms, annd then an ep of Redneck Remoulade, which is about a Japanese chef who studied in Paris and his new job at a tiny Louisianna roadhouse turned fine dining establishent.

    3. The freeform 80’s period piece about a superhero that happens to be a now famous rockstar that Mickey and I play in the car.

    4. Mouseguard over skype. Fun stuff. It looks like renewed hostilities with the mustelids soon.

    I’m at Gamestorm right now and have played Shock, XXXXtreme Street Luge, The Magical Land of Yeld, and Apples to Apples.

    So, uh, pretty good.

  58. 1. Burning Wheel historical set in AD500 Wales. Things are really kicking up. one pc, the prince is now a Christian, and now the king, and another pc, one of his most brutal henchmen, is now a villian and punctuated his resignation with the king’s priest’s head on the table next to the letter he forced the priest to write for him.

    2. The second season of Mystic Palms (Harry Potter 90210, or now harry Potter Melrose Place) and to this we’ve added a second slot in the lineup. We play an ep of Mystic Palms, annd then an ep of Redneck Remoulade, which is about a Japanese chef who studied in Paris and his new job at a tiny Louisianna roadhouse turned fine dining establishent.

    3. The freeform 80’s period piece about a superhero that happens to be a now famous rockstar that Mickey and I play in the car.

    4. Mouseguard over skype. Fun stuff. It looks like renewed hostilities with the mustelids soon.

    I’m at Gamestorm right now and have played Shock, XXXXtreme Street Luge, The Magical Land of Yeld, and Apples to Apples.

    So, uh, pretty good.

  59. 1. Burning Wheel historical set in AD500 Wales. Things are really kicking up. one pc, the prince is now a Christian, and now the king, and another pc, one of his most brutal henchmen, is now a villian and punctuated his resignation with the king’s priest’s head on the table next to the letter he forced the priest to write for him.

    2. The second season of Mystic Palms (Harry Potter 90210, or now harry Potter Melrose Place) and to this we’ve added a second slot in the lineup. We play an ep of Mystic Palms, annd then an ep of Redneck Remoulade, which is about a Japanese chef who studied in Paris and his new job at a tiny Louisianna roadhouse turned fine dining establishent.

    3. The freeform 80’s period piece about a superhero that happens to be a now famous rockstar that Mickey and I play in the car.

    4. Mouseguard over skype. Fun stuff. It looks like renewed hostilities with the mustelids soon.

    I’m at Gamestorm right now and have played Shock, XXXXtreme Street Luge, The Magical Land of Yeld, and Apples to Apples.

    So, uh, pretty good.

  60. 1. Burning Wheel historical set in AD500 Wales. Things are really kicking up. one pc, the prince is now a Christian, and now the king, and another pc, one of his most brutal henchmen, is now a villian and punctuated his resignation with the king’s priest’s head on the table next to the letter he forced the priest to write for him.

    2. The second season of Mystic Palms (Harry Potter 90210, or now harry Potter Melrose Place) and to this we’ve added a second slot in the lineup. We play an ep of Mystic Palms, annd then an ep of Redneck Remoulade, which is about a Japanese chef who studied in Paris and his new job at a tiny Louisianna roadhouse turned fine dining establishent.

    3. The freeform 80’s period piece about a superhero that happens to be a now famous rockstar that Mickey and I play in the car.

    4. Mouseguard over skype. Fun stuff. It looks like renewed hostilities with the mustelids soon.

    I’m at Gamestorm right now and have played Shock, XXXXtreme Street Luge, The Magical Land of Yeld, and Apples to Apples.

    So, uh, pretty good.

  61. 1 – was hot stuff! 2 – go Cylons! 3 – And Axes, don’t forget the Axes!

    For those interested, I’ve written up brief AP of the Burning Song Stones session last week here (it’s in the Geekery section) and it was hot stuff! Not bad considering no prep – don’t you just love BW for that ๐Ÿ™‚

  62. 1 – was hot stuff! 2 – go Cylons! 3 – And Axes, don’t forget the Axes!

    For those interested, I’ve written up brief AP of the Burning Song Stones session last week here (it’s in the Geekery section) and it was hot stuff! Not bad considering no prep – don’t you just love BW for that ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

