A beautiful Friday

Reading: I should finish up the second hard-cover graphic novel of Invincible today at lunch and I’m fairly underwhelmed. Other than an interesting reveal towards the end of the first graphic novel it is a fairly tepid Superboy ala Spider-Man’s school life ala Teen Titans with only a few little tidbits that leave me interested at all. But well worth utilizing the inter-library loan for; I’m glad I didn’t buy ’em.

Planning: Some Shock: tonight with the lady-friend and a few of the Friday night gamers, some schoolwork this weekend and just hang-outs.

Wearing: My Suffer-Jets roller derby t-shirt under a black button down and some jeans.

Writing: I started writing this biblical super-hero passages called the Book of the Cowl that was fun. I might very well pair some of the passages up with some of Storn’s super-hero art from his site and post them to this blog from time to time.

Tinkering with a short story and the next bit of Daggers & Deviltry.

And you?

48 thoughts on “A beautiful Friday

  1. iFanboy has been raving about Invincible for years. I don’t get it either. I like a lot of the other things they recommend but your take is spot-on as far as I’m concerned.

    I should have used the library to check them out…

  2. iFanboy has been raving about Invincible for years. I don’t get it either. I like a lot of the other things they recommend but your take is spot-on as far as I’m concerned.

    I should have used the library to check them out…

  3. iFanboy has been raving about Invincible for years. I don’t get it either. I like a lot of the other things they recommend but your take is spot-on as far as I’m concerned.

    I should have used the library to check them out…

  4. iFanboy has been raving about Invincible for years. I don’t get it either. I like a lot of the other things they recommend but your take is spot-on as far as I’m concerned.

    I should have used the library to check them out…

  5. I never end up responding to these things…

    Reading: Just finished Slote’s _Ethics of Care and Empathy_. It was a bit underwhelming – one of those books that I doubt he could have gotten published if he weren’t already Michael Slote, well-known dude. Re-started Darby’s _The Effects of Violence on Peace Processes_ on the bus.

    Planning: Early next week is when I do another round of bugging people for interviews. I want to be able to buy plane tickets to Ghana, but I need things a bit more nailed down first. This weekend is hanging out with the daughter. Tonight after she goes to bed, M and I are having our little two-person book group on Ngugi wa Thiong’o’s _Petals of Blood_. I’m pumped for ‘s Metrocalypse game, but can’t plan, since I’ve already made, like 5 characters, and so lonely fun time is over.

    Wearing: Jeans and an Epitaph t-shirt.

    Writing: Trying to beat this paper on care ethics and counterinsurgency into shape. It looks like it’s going to be about 16k when it’s done, which is about twice the acceptable length for my aspirational journal target, _Ethics and International Affairs_. So then it’s a matter of deciding if it’s really two 8k papers, or finding a more lenient journal (and one in which I have a chance in hell of being published, to boot). I’ve also vaguely promised something on peacekeeping, and I owe USIP some writing on post-conflict civic education that I think everyone has forgotten about.

  6. I never end up responding to these things…

    Reading: Just finished Slote’s _Ethics of Care and Empathy_. It was a bit underwhelming – one of those books that I doubt he could have gotten published if he weren’t already Michael Slote, well-known dude. Re-started Darby’s _The Effects of Violence on Peace Processes_ on the bus.

    Planning: Early next week is when I do another round of bugging people for interviews. I want to be able to buy plane tickets to Ghana, but I need things a bit more nailed down first. This weekend is hanging out with the daughter. Tonight after she goes to bed, M and I are having our little two-person book group on Ngugi wa Thiong’o’s _Petals of Blood_. I’m pumped for ‘s Metrocalypse game, but can’t plan, since I’ve already made, like 5 characters, and so lonely fun time is over.

    Wearing: Jeans and an Epitaph t-shirt.

    Writing: Trying to beat this paper on care ethics and counterinsurgency into shape. It looks like it’s going to be about 16k when it’s done, which is about twice the acceptable length for my aspirational journal target, _Ethics and International Affairs_. So then it’s a matter of deciding if it’s really two 8k papers, or finding a more lenient journal (and one in which I have a chance in hell of being published, to boot). I’ve also vaguely promised something on peacekeeping, and I owe USIP some writing on post-conflict civic education that I think everyone has forgotten about.

  7. I never end up responding to these things…

    Reading: Just finished Slote’s _Ethics of Care and Empathy_. It was a bit underwhelming – one of those books that I doubt he could have gotten published if he weren’t already Michael Slote, well-known dude. Re-started Darby’s _The Effects of Violence on Peace Processes_ on the bus.

    Planning: Early next week is when I do another round of bugging people for interviews. I want to be able to buy plane tickets to Ghana, but I need things a bit more nailed down first. This weekend is hanging out with the daughter. Tonight after she goes to bed, M and I are having our little two-person book group on Ngugi wa Thiong’o’s _Petals of Blood_. I’m pumped for ‘s Metrocalypse game, but can’t plan, since I’ve already made, like 5 characters, and so lonely fun time is over.

    Wearing: Jeans and an Epitaph t-shirt.

    Writing: Trying to beat this paper on care ethics and counterinsurgency into shape. It looks like it’s going to be about 16k when it’s done, which is about twice the acceptable length for my aspirational journal target, _Ethics and International Affairs_. So then it’s a matter of deciding if it’s really two 8k papers, or finding a more lenient journal (and one in which I have a chance in hell of being published, to boot). I’ve also vaguely promised something on peacekeeping, and I owe USIP some writing on post-conflict civic education that I think everyone has forgotten about.

  8. I never end up responding to these things…

    Reading: Just finished Slote’s _Ethics of Care and Empathy_. It was a bit underwhelming – one of those books that I doubt he could have gotten published if he weren’t already Michael Slote, well-known dude. Re-started Darby’s _The Effects of Violence on Peace Processes_ on the bus.

    Planning: Early next week is when I do another round of bugging people for interviews. I want to be able to buy plane tickets to Ghana, but I need things a bit more nailed down first. This weekend is hanging out with the daughter. Tonight after she goes to bed, M and I are having our little two-person book group on Ngugi wa Thiong’o’s _Petals of Blood_. I’m pumped for ‘s Metrocalypse game, but can’t plan, since I’ve already made, like 5 characters, and so lonely fun time is over.

    Wearing: Jeans and an Epitaph t-shirt.

    Writing: Trying to beat this paper on care ethics and counterinsurgency into shape. It looks like it’s going to be about 16k when it’s done, which is about twice the acceptable length for my aspirational journal target, _Ethics and International Affairs_. So then it’s a matter of deciding if it’s really two 8k papers, or finding a more lenient journal (and one in which I have a chance in hell of being published, to boot). I’ve also vaguely promised something on peacekeeping, and I owe USIP some writing on post-conflict civic education that I think everyone has forgotten about.

  9. Reading: just finished Princep’s Fury, now reading Turn Coat. Referencing my Dictionary of Angels for “Guardian”, and also looking through my copy of “Scion: Heroes” which I realized I never really looked at.

    Planning: Shovelling gravel all day long tomorrow! Woo! Easter trip Sunday.

    Wearing: Work shirt with gold dragons and red flames on black background, and slacks

    Writing: Still working on Guardian.

  10. Reading: just finished Princep’s Fury, now reading Turn Coat. Referencing my Dictionary of Angels for “Guardian”, and also looking through my copy of “Scion: Heroes” which I realized I never really looked at.

    Planning: Shovelling gravel all day long tomorrow! Woo! Easter trip Sunday.

    Wearing: Work shirt with gold dragons and red flames on black background, and slacks

    Writing: Still working on Guardian.

  11. Reading: just finished Princep’s Fury, now reading Turn Coat. Referencing my Dictionary of Angels for “Guardian”, and also looking through my copy of “Scion: Heroes” which I realized I never really looked at.

    Planning: Shovelling gravel all day long tomorrow! Woo! Easter trip Sunday.

    Wearing: Work shirt with gold dragons and red flames on black background, and slacks

    Writing: Still working on Guardian.

  12. Reading: just finished Princep’s Fury, now reading Turn Coat. Referencing my Dictionary of Angels for “Guardian”, and also looking through my copy of “Scion: Heroes” which I realized I never really looked at.

    Planning: Shovelling gravel all day long tomorrow! Woo! Easter trip Sunday.

    Wearing: Work shirt with gold dragons and red flames on black background, and slacks

    Writing: Still working on Guardian.

  13. Shock: is one of the few games I want to grab. Have you played it before?

    R: Something of yours this weekend. I just spent my birthday B&N gift card on: Tolkien’s Unfinished Tales and http://nightshadebooks.com/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=128. I read the first short story, a science-fiction pirate story with a Lovecraftian surprise. Can’t wait to read more.

    P: Easter weekend means we reap the Pagan-rooted traditions of egg-hunting and candy with the family. We also have a tradition of book-gifting on Easter, but I think that’s a family one.

    W: Old, old, cracked logo t-shirt. Overshirt from my mom-in-law, pants from my wife (just like last week, yipes, I promise they’ve been washed).

    W: Not much. Still doodling. Still scanning in preparation for regular LJ updates.

  14. Shock: is one of the few games I want to grab. Have you played it before?

    R: Something of yours this weekend. I just spent my birthday B&N gift card on: Tolkien’s Unfinished Tales and http://nightshadebooks.com/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=128. I read the first short story, a science-fiction pirate story with a Lovecraftian surprise. Can’t wait to read more.

    P: Easter weekend means we reap the Pagan-rooted traditions of egg-hunting and candy with the family. We also have a tradition of book-gifting on Easter, but I think that’s a family one.

    W: Old, old, cracked logo t-shirt. Overshirt from my mom-in-law, pants from my wife (just like last week, yipes, I promise they’ve been washed).

    W: Not much. Still doodling. Still scanning in preparation for regular LJ updates.

  15. Shock: is one of the few games I want to grab. Have you played it before?

    R: Something of yours this weekend. I just spent my birthday B&N gift card on: Tolkien’s Unfinished Tales and http://nightshadebooks.com/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=128. I read the first short story, a science-fiction pirate story with a Lovecraftian surprise. Can’t wait to read more.

    P: Easter weekend means we reap the Pagan-rooted traditions of egg-hunting and candy with the family. We also have a tradition of book-gifting on Easter, but I think that’s a family one.

    W: Old, old, cracked logo t-shirt. Overshirt from my mom-in-law, pants from my wife (just like last week, yipes, I promise they’ve been washed).

    W: Not much. Still doodling. Still scanning in preparation for regular LJ updates.

  16. Shock: is one of the few games I want to grab. Have you played it before?

    R: Something of yours this weekend. I just spent my birthday B&N gift card on: Tolkien’s Unfinished Tales and http://nightshadebooks.com/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=128. I read the first short story, a science-fiction pirate story with a Lovecraftian surprise. Can’t wait to read more.

    P: Easter weekend means we reap the Pagan-rooted traditions of egg-hunting and candy with the family. We also have a tradition of book-gifting on Easter, but I think that’s a family one.

    W: Old, old, cracked logo t-shirt. Overshirt from my mom-in-law, pants from my wife (just like last week, yipes, I promise they’ve been washed).

    W: Not much. Still doodling. Still scanning in preparation for regular LJ updates.

  17. Ah, well. You can’t love everything I love. I love Invincible to pieces. (Finished the third collection last night.) In the world of Superboy stories, it’s Superboy (and, honestly, much of the Big Two’s universes) that comes off as tepid for me. Invincible managed to kitbash all that you talk about into a much more viable whole, for me. I like the visuals, the composition of the world’s superbeings, the longer-term play in how the bad guys get woven into the plot over time, all that, too. The Mauler Twins crack me up. It’s for me.

    Reading: Uh… yeah. Invincible. 🙂

    Planning: D&D not this weekend, but next.

    Wearing: T shirt, comfy pants.

    Writing: Fuck all but nonsense, today.

  18. Ah, well. You can’t love everything I love. I love Invincible to pieces. (Finished the third collection last night.) In the world of Superboy stories, it’s Superboy (and, honestly, much of the Big Two’s universes) that comes off as tepid for me. Invincible managed to kitbash all that you talk about into a much more viable whole, for me. I like the visuals, the composition of the world’s superbeings, the longer-term play in how the bad guys get woven into the plot over time, all that, too. The Mauler Twins crack me up. It’s for me.

    Reading: Uh… yeah. Invincible. 🙂

    Planning: D&D not this weekend, but next.

    Wearing: T shirt, comfy pants.

    Writing: Fuck all but nonsense, today.

  19. Ah, well. You can’t love everything I love. I love Invincible to pieces. (Finished the third collection last night.) In the world of Superboy stories, it’s Superboy (and, honestly, much of the Big Two’s universes) that comes off as tepid for me. Invincible managed to kitbash all that you talk about into a much more viable whole, for me. I like the visuals, the composition of the world’s superbeings, the longer-term play in how the bad guys get woven into the plot over time, all that, too. The Mauler Twins crack me up. It’s for me.

    Reading: Uh… yeah. Invincible. 🙂

    Planning: D&D not this weekend, but next.

    Wearing: T shirt, comfy pants.

    Writing: Fuck all but nonsense, today.

  20. Ah, well. You can’t love everything I love. I love Invincible to pieces. (Finished the third collection last night.) In the world of Superboy stories, it’s Superboy (and, honestly, much of the Big Two’s universes) that comes off as tepid for me. Invincible managed to kitbash all that you talk about into a much more viable whole, for me. I like the visuals, the composition of the world’s superbeings, the longer-term play in how the bad guys get woven into the plot over time, all that, too. The Mauler Twins crack me up. It’s for me.

    Reading: Uh… yeah. Invincible. 🙂

    Planning: D&D not this weekend, but next.

    Wearing: T shirt, comfy pants.

    Writing: Fuck all but nonsense, today.

  21. Reading: Bouncing off City at the End of Time, so reading Night Horrors for Changeling, and about two thirds of the way through The Shackled City.

    Planning: Job hunting. Going to Columbia Games Club. Figuring out what and I want to do this weekend. Making a character for a friend’s Dresden Files game.

    Wearing: Origami USA 2000 convention t-shirt, jeans, socks. Will be wearing shoes with new insets at long last. My feet are ever so glad. Old insets are being re-covered in case of emergencies.

    Writing: My zine for Alarums and Excursions #204.

  22. Reading: Bouncing off City at the End of Time, so reading Night Horrors for Changeling, and about two thirds of the way through The Shackled City.

    Planning: Job hunting. Going to Columbia Games Club. Figuring out what and I want to do this weekend. Making a character for a friend’s Dresden Files game.

    Wearing: Origami USA 2000 convention t-shirt, jeans, socks. Will be wearing shoes with new insets at long last. My feet are ever so glad. Old insets are being re-covered in case of emergencies.

    Writing: My zine for Alarums and Excursions #204.

  23. Reading: Bouncing off City at the End of Time, so reading Night Horrors for Changeling, and about two thirds of the way through The Shackled City.

    Planning: Job hunting. Going to Columbia Games Club. Figuring out what and I want to do this weekend. Making a character for a friend’s Dresden Files game.

    Wearing: Origami USA 2000 convention t-shirt, jeans, socks. Will be wearing shoes with new insets at long last. My feet are ever so glad. Old insets are being re-covered in case of emergencies.

    Writing: My zine for Alarums and Excursions #204.

  24. Reading: Bouncing off City at the End of Time, so reading Night Horrors for Changeling, and about two thirds of the way through The Shackled City.

    Planning: Job hunting. Going to Columbia Games Club. Figuring out what and I want to do this weekend. Making a character for a friend’s Dresden Files game.

    Wearing: Origami USA 2000 convention t-shirt, jeans, socks. Will be wearing shoes with new insets at long last. My feet are ever so glad. Old insets are being re-covered in case of emergencies.

    Writing: My zine for Alarums and Excursions #204.

  25. Reading: Nothing very much, for a change. I have banned myself from reading Psychology for the weekend.

    Planning: Nothing very much either.

    Wearing: A very old black polo neck shirt, which I like.

    Writing: I’m laying out A Taste For Murder.

    G

  26. Reading: Nothing very much, for a change. I have banned myself from reading Psychology for the weekend.

    Planning: Nothing very much either.

    Wearing: A very old black polo neck shirt, which I like.

    Writing: I’m laying out A Taste For Murder.

    G

  27. Reading: Nothing very much, for a change. I have banned myself from reading Psychology for the weekend.

    Planning: Nothing very much either.

    Wearing: A very old black polo neck shirt, which I like.

    Writing: I’m laying out A Taste For Murder.

    G

  28. Reading: Nothing very much, for a change. I have banned myself from reading Psychology for the weekend.

    Planning: Nothing very much either.

    Wearing: A very old black polo neck shirt, which I like.

    Writing: I’m laying out A Taste For Murder.

    G

  29. Invincible is teh aw3s0m3. My opinion of you has dropped considerably! You better get some more Kryos episodes done asap if you want to get back in my good graces.

    If you’re willing to give Kirkman another chance, take a look at “The Walking Dead”. Great stuff, IMO.

  30. Invincible is teh aw3s0m3. My opinion of you has dropped considerably! You better get some more Kryos episodes done asap if you want to get back in my good graces.

    If you’re willing to give Kirkman another chance, take a look at “The Walking Dead”. Great stuff, IMO.

  31. Invincible is teh aw3s0m3. My opinion of you has dropped considerably! You better get some more Kryos episodes done asap if you want to get back in my good graces.

    If you’re willing to give Kirkman another chance, take a look at “The Walking Dead”. Great stuff, IMO.

  32. Invincible is teh aw3s0m3. My opinion of you has dropped considerably! You better get some more Kryos episodes done asap if you want to get back in my good graces.

    If you’re willing to give Kirkman another chance, take a look at “The Walking Dead”. Great stuff, IMO.

Leave a Reply

