NYT links

Rails, baby!

I had a dream of getting on a train in NYC and taking a train filled with gamers to Gen Con. Maybe this rail improvement will make that something we can actually do.

When I looked into it a few years ago the U.S. rail system made it a nightmare with no group rates I could find and an overnight layover in Chicago. So here’s hoping…The Gen Con Train!

In which we game all the way to the con, get to the con, game and then game the whole way back, picking people up and dropping them off along the way. Rock.

I’ve got my netti pot ready to roll for the coming allergy season. I’ll give it a go tonight as a matter of fact, while checking the inspiration date on my Zyrtec pills.

Janaki sent me this link about Justice Clarence Thomas. Huh. I have no idea what to say about watching someone with a job that important having a kind of mini-breakdown in public.

20 thoughts on “NYT links

  1. Yay for trains! It’s past beyond time we got that going.

    I wonder how much of Clarence Thomas’ stuff revolves around the fact that despite 8 years of Republican and conservative majority, the country doesn’t seem to be in a better place. And that the general sense of discontent is no longer isolated to secondary media sources.

  2. Yay for trains! It’s past beyond time we got that going.

    I wonder how much of Clarence Thomas’ stuff revolves around the fact that despite 8 years of Republican and conservative majority, the country doesn’t seem to be in a better place. And that the general sense of discontent is no longer isolated to secondary media sources.

  3. Yay for trains! It’s past beyond time we got that going.

    I wonder how much of Clarence Thomas’ stuff revolves around the fact that despite 8 years of Republican and conservative majority, the country doesn’t seem to be in a better place. And that the general sense of discontent is no longer isolated to secondary media sources.

  4. Yay for trains! It’s past beyond time we got that going.

    I wonder how much of Clarence Thomas’ stuff revolves around the fact that despite 8 years of Republican and conservative majority, the country doesn’t seem to be in a better place. And that the general sense of discontent is no longer isolated to secondary media sources.

  5. We’re in DC before Gen Con this year and had hoped to use the train. It leaves DC and 11 in the morning and arrives in Indy at 4:45 on the Thursday but it’s $140 one way. It’s just maddening. I guess we’ll fly.

  6. We’re in DC before Gen Con this year and had hoped to use the train. It leaves DC and 11 in the morning and arrives in Indy at 4:45 on the Thursday but it’s $140 one way. It’s just maddening. I guess we’ll fly.

  7. We’re in DC before Gen Con this year and had hoped to use the train. It leaves DC and 11 in the morning and arrives in Indy at 4:45 on the Thursday but it’s $140 one way. It’s just maddening. I guess we’ll fly.

  8. We’re in DC before Gen Con this year and had hoped to use the train. It leaves DC and 11 in the morning and arrives in Indy at 4:45 on the Thursday but it’s $140 one way. It’s just maddening. I guess we’ll fly.

  9. We’re almost certainly skipping GenCon this year, but we are speculating about a WorldCon train to Montreal this year.

    I tried to use, um, not the pot, but the squirt bottle. I think I’m too much of a wuss. gets about half of it up her nose in one squirt. I didn’t manage to get it all up in rather a lot of squirts. And that was when I had a cold and was desperate enough to try this to begin with.

  10. We’re almost certainly skipping GenCon this year, but we are speculating about a WorldCon train to Montreal this year.

    I tried to use, um, not the pot, but the squirt bottle. I think I’m too much of a wuss. gets about half of it up her nose in one squirt. I didn’t manage to get it all up in rather a lot of squirts. And that was when I had a cold and was desperate enough to try this to begin with.

  11. We’re almost certainly skipping GenCon this year, but we are speculating about a WorldCon train to Montreal this year.

    I tried to use, um, not the pot, but the squirt bottle. I think I’m too much of a wuss. gets about half of it up her nose in one squirt. I didn’t manage to get it all up in rather a lot of squirts. And that was when I had a cold and was desperate enough to try this to begin with.

  12. We’re almost certainly skipping GenCon this year, but we are speculating about a WorldCon train to Montreal this year.

    I tried to use, um, not the pot, but the squirt bottle. I think I’m too much of a wuss. gets about half of it up her nose in one squirt. I didn’t manage to get it all up in rather a lot of squirts. And that was when I had a cold and was desperate enough to try this to begin with.

  13. That Thomas link is great. I don’t see a breakdown or mini-breakdown there; I do see the voice of mainstream journalism showing itself off as completely unprepared, again, to deal with a voice that’s actually human coming from anyone in a position of authority (or anyone at all).

  14. That Thomas link is great. I don’t see a breakdown or mini-breakdown there; I do see the voice of mainstream journalism showing itself off as completely unprepared, again, to deal with a voice that’s actually human coming from anyone in a position of authority (or anyone at all).

  15. That Thomas link is great. I don’t see a breakdown or mini-breakdown there; I do see the voice of mainstream journalism showing itself off as completely unprepared, again, to deal with a voice that’s actually human coming from anyone in a position of authority (or anyone at all).

  16. That Thomas link is great. I don’t see a breakdown or mini-breakdown there; I do see the voice of mainstream journalism showing itself off as completely unprepared, again, to deal with a voice that’s actually human coming from anyone in a position of authority (or anyone at all).

Leave a Reply

