Trek Opinions

Everybody’s got ’em. I might as well put mine out there, like a pair of pointy ears on the convention floor.

I liked it.

All of the casting entirely worked for me; the only lukewarm transition was Sarek. I really missed the old Sarek.

When Spock turned down the Vulcan Academy, I have never heard Live Long and Prosper sound so much like Go fuck yourselves. That was splendid. I could watch that scene all day.

The way they turned Star Trek time travel into a method of re-booting the franchise was awesome.

The lady’s uniforms are all 60’s go-go fabulous. Janaki needs a Star Trek uniform with complimentary boots. Or at the very least I need her to have those things. That outfit is just foxy.

Ebert is a dipshit. He complains about Star Trek science? Did he ever watch old Trek episodes? There were planets of prohibition era gangsters…planets of gladiators. C’mon now. Don’t give me a realism excuse.

I thought the villain was decent but in the next movie, when Kirk is taking on Klingon warlords, I want someone to turn to him and say, “This isn’t some Romulan miner with a grudge, nor is it a program that you can cheat. These are Klingon warlords in birds of prey.”

The re-boot is established, let’s get to the sequels.

The next movie has to be about the Klingons; they are the iconic Trek movie villains. I want it to somehow reflect the world’s current global politics too. I will agree that this was not saying a whole lot about the world like many of the more solid episodes of the old trek did and did well. I want that kind of sci-fi as a way of commenting on our world injected back into the franchise, please.

After that, I say we bring back Khan. But I don’t mean Wrath of Khan, I mean, Space Seed Khan. Oh yeah, in this movie, Khan takes control of the Reliant and starts to wage a one-man war on the Federation. It becomes an odd blend of Wrath of Khan and Space Seed with the bad blood between Khan and Kirk happening organically on screen.

#4, you say? How can it not be Mirror, Mirror? That seems to be one of the big iconic episodes that people talk about a whole lot. Also, I’d love to see Uhura and Kirk in the bad universe with Uhura and Spock’s relationship.

They successfully played with the trek toys, now I’d like them to take the trek toys and use them to say something.

Later in the week I am going to watch Ron’s fav episodes that came up in a phone conversation a few months ago: A Private Little War and The Man Trap.

What are your favorite old trek episodes?

68 thoughts on “Trek Opinions

  1. Hell yeah. I wanna see some Klingons and some Kahn. The two things Kirk is best at kicking the crap out of.

    I wouldn’t mind seeing Carol Marcus at some point as well.

  2. Hell yeah. I wanna see some Klingons and some Kahn. The two things Kirk is best at kicking the crap out of.

    I wouldn’t mind seeing Carol Marcus at some point as well.

  3. Hell yeah. I wanna see some Klingons and some Kahn. The two things Kirk is best at kicking the crap out of.

    I wouldn’t mind seeing Carol Marcus at some point as well.

  4. Hell yeah. I wanna see some Klingons and some Kahn. The two things Kirk is best at kicking the crap out of.

    I wouldn’t mind seeing Carol Marcus at some point as well.

  5. You’re right about the Klingons. It was foresighted not to use them for the first movie: like Batman Begins didn’t have Joker as the villain.

    I say save Klingons until the 3rd movie. 2nd movie should be Tribbles.

    Graham

  6. You’re right about the Klingons. It was foresighted not to use them for the first movie: like Batman Begins didn’t have Joker as the villain.

    I say save Klingons until the 3rd movie. 2nd movie should be Tribbles.

    Graham

  7. You’re right about the Klingons. It was foresighted not to use them for the first movie: like Batman Begins didn’t have Joker as the villain.

    I say save Klingons until the 3rd movie. 2nd movie should be Tribbles.

    Graham

  8. You’re right about the Klingons. It was foresighted not to use them for the first movie: like Batman Begins didn’t have Joker as the villain.

    I say save Klingons until the 3rd movie. 2nd movie should be Tribbles.

    Graham

    • Planet of…I dunno…vikings or some shit

      Y’know, I almost wouldn’t mind if the movie began with a kind of James Bond – end of the last mission as first ten minutes of the movie type of thing and that is how we see a planet of vikings in the middle of space or some shit. That’d be a neat nod and a nice way to prime the pump for the coming themes in the movie.

    • Planet of…I dunno…vikings or some shit

      Y’know, I almost wouldn’t mind if the movie began with a kind of James Bond – end of the last mission as first ten minutes of the movie type of thing and that is how we see a planet of vikings in the middle of space or some shit. That’d be a neat nod and a nice way to prime the pump for the coming themes in the movie.

  9. I liked the original Romulans better than the original Klingons. The two Romulan-centric eps from TOS were favorites of mine.

    But then with TNG and the movies, the Klingons got a lot cooler – partially by taking on some of the aspects of the original Romulans. From that point, the canon Romulans went south. Only in Diane Duane’s Trek novels do they live on in their former kick-ass glory.

    I haven’t seen the new movie yet. Hopefully I will by next week. Can’t get decent childcare these days. Suckage.

  10. I liked the original Romulans better than the original Klingons. The two Romulan-centric eps from TOS were favorites of mine.

    But then with TNG and the movies, the Klingons got a lot cooler – partially by taking on some of the aspects of the original Romulans. From that point, the canon Romulans went south. Only in Diane Duane’s Trek novels do they live on in their former kick-ass glory.

    I haven’t seen the new movie yet. Hopefully I will by next week. Can’t get decent childcare these days. Suckage.

  11. I liked the original Romulans better than the original Klingons. The two Romulan-centric eps from TOS were favorites of mine.

    But then with TNG and the movies, the Klingons got a lot cooler – partially by taking on some of the aspects of the original Romulans. From that point, the canon Romulans went south. Only in Diane Duane’s Trek novels do they live on in their former kick-ass glory.

    I haven’t seen the new movie yet. Hopefully I will by next week. Can’t get decent childcare these days. Suckage.

  12. I liked the original Romulans better than the original Klingons. The two Romulan-centric eps from TOS were favorites of mine.

    But then with TNG and the movies, the Klingons got a lot cooler – partially by taking on some of the aspects of the original Romulans. From that point, the canon Romulans went south. Only in Diane Duane’s Trek novels do they live on in their former kick-ass glory.

    I haven’t seen the new movie yet. Hopefully I will by next week. Can’t get decent childcare these days. Suckage.

  13. Pretty much agreed with everything you’re saying here.

    I felt like this film was more a transition between continua and a “proof of concept” than a film that stands on its own. Like you said, they played with the toys this time, and played well. Next time they need to show us what they can do with them.

    I second “A Private Little War” as a good one to watch. I like seeing the Federation and the Klingons engaged in a Cold War rather than out and out warfare.

    “Balance of Terror” is also very good. It basically takes the cat-and-mouse of submarine warfare and transfers it to space. The Romulans are great in this one.

    I’m also really fond of “Arena”, although I can’t articulate why. I guess I just liked the Gorn.

    Interested to hear your impressions, whatever you end up watching!

  14. Pretty much agreed with everything you’re saying here.

    I felt like this film was more a transition between continua and a “proof of concept” than a film that stands on its own. Like you said, they played with the toys this time, and played well. Next time they need to show us what they can do with them.

    I second “A Private Little War” as a good one to watch. I like seeing the Federation and the Klingons engaged in a Cold War rather than out and out warfare.

    “Balance of Terror” is also very good. It basically takes the cat-and-mouse of submarine warfare and transfers it to space. The Romulans are great in this one.

    I’m also really fond of “Arena”, although I can’t articulate why. I guess I just liked the Gorn.

    Interested to hear your impressions, whatever you end up watching!

  15. Pretty much agreed with everything you’re saying here.

    I felt like this film was more a transition between continua and a “proof of concept” than a film that stands on its own. Like you said, they played with the toys this time, and played well. Next time they need to show us what they can do with them.

    I second “A Private Little War” as a good one to watch. I like seeing the Federation and the Klingons engaged in a Cold War rather than out and out warfare.

    “Balance of Terror” is also very good. It basically takes the cat-and-mouse of submarine warfare and transfers it to space. The Romulans are great in this one.

    I’m also really fond of “Arena”, although I can’t articulate why. I guess I just liked the Gorn.

    Interested to hear your impressions, whatever you end up watching!

  16. Pretty much agreed with everything you’re saying here.

    I felt like this film was more a transition between continua and a “proof of concept” than a film that stands on its own. Like you said, they played with the toys this time, and played well. Next time they need to show us what they can do with them.

    I second “A Private Little War” as a good one to watch. I like seeing the Federation and the Klingons engaged in a Cold War rather than out and out warfare.

    “Balance of Terror” is also very good. It basically takes the cat-and-mouse of submarine warfare and transfers it to space. The Romulans are great in this one.

    I’m also really fond of “Arena”, although I can’t articulate why. I guess I just liked the Gorn.

    Interested to hear your impressions, whatever you end up watching!

  17. Planet of…I dunno…vikings or some shit

    Y’know, I almost wouldn’t mind if the movie began with a kind of James Bond – end of the last mission as first ten minutes of the movie type of thing and that is how we see a planet of vikings in the middle of space or some shit. That’d be a neat nod and a nice way to prime the pump for the coming themes in the movie.

  18. Planet of…I dunno…vikings or some shit

    Y’know, I almost wouldn’t mind if the movie began with a kind of James Bond – end of the last mission as first ten minutes of the movie type of thing and that is how we see a planet of vikings in the middle of space or some shit. That’d be a neat nod and a nice way to prime the pump for the coming themes in the movie.

  19. As much as I’d like to see some of the old classic Star Trek tropes revisited, I think they’ve got a great chance with the reboot to create new material as well.

    Space Seed? Yes, but I’d like it to be about more than just mutiny on the Enterprise. Like maybe some people think a strong leader like Khan is needed to protect the federation in the post-Vulcan era. Yeah, combine “The Space Seed” with “Journey to Babel” for some good old-fashioned Star Trek morality play ultimately resolved by tearing up Kirk’s shirt.

    • Agreed.

      We are in total agreement. I want them to take the kernel of the idea of space seed and make it into something new and amazing.

      Captain Khan Singh has a nice ring to it, I think.

    • Agreed.

      We are in total agreement. I want them to take the kernel of the idea of space seed and make it into something new and amazing.

      Captain Khan Singh has a nice ring to it, I think.

  20. As much as I’d like to see some of the old classic Star Trek tropes revisited, I think they’ve got a great chance with the reboot to create new material as well.

    Space Seed? Yes, but I’d like it to be about more than just mutiny on the Enterprise. Like maybe some people think a strong leader like Khan is needed to protect the federation in the post-Vulcan era. Yeah, combine “The Space Seed” with “Journey to Babel” for some good old-fashioned Star Trek morality play ultimately resolved by tearing up Kirk’s shirt.

  21. As much as I’d like to see some of the old classic Star Trek tropes revisited, I think they’ve got a great chance with the reboot to create new material as well.

    Space Seed? Yes, but I’d like it to be about more than just mutiny on the Enterprise. Like maybe some people think a strong leader like Khan is needed to protect the federation in the post-Vulcan era. Yeah, combine “The Space Seed” with “Journey to Babel” for some good old-fashioned Star Trek morality play ultimately resolved by tearing up Kirk’s shirt.

  22. As much as I’d like to see some of the old classic Star Trek tropes revisited, I think they’ve got a great chance with the reboot to create new material as well.

    Space Seed? Yes, but I’d like it to be about more than just mutiny on the Enterprise. Like maybe some people think a strong leader like Khan is needed to protect the federation in the post-Vulcan era. Yeah, combine “The Space Seed” with “Journey to Babel” for some good old-fashioned Star Trek morality play ultimately resolved by tearing up Kirk’s shirt.

  23. Agreed.

    We are in total agreement. I want them to take the kernel of the idea of space seed and make it into something new and amazing.

    Captain Khan Singh has a nice ring to it, I think.

  24. Agreed.

    We are in total agreement. I want them to take the kernel of the idea of space seed and make it into something new and amazing.

    Captain Khan Singh has a nice ring to it, I think.

  25. I’m fond of “The Doomsday Machine.” Space-mad Commodore Decker is great. Kirk seems downright responsible compared to him. I also like “Obsession” because it has my favorite Spock line. And, of course, “Mirror, Mirror.”

  26. I’m fond of “The Doomsday Machine.” Space-mad Commodore Decker is great. Kirk seems downright responsible compared to him. I also like “Obsession” because it has my favorite Spock line. And, of course, “Mirror, Mirror.”

  27. I’m fond of “The Doomsday Machine.” Space-mad Commodore Decker is great. Kirk seems downright responsible compared to him. I also like “Obsession” because it has my favorite Spock line. And, of course, “Mirror, Mirror.”

  28. I’m fond of “The Doomsday Machine.” Space-mad Commodore Decker is great. Kirk seems downright responsible compared to him. I also like “Obsession” because it has my favorite Spock line. And, of course, “Mirror, Mirror.”

  29. I agree! The TOS Romulans rocked, then they got hosed. Now it looks like they are getting a tribal tattoo workover.

    There were some elements of the movie that didn’t sit well with me, but I guess I’ll talk about it over on my blog instead of here!

  30. I agree! The TOS Romulans rocked, then they got hosed. Now it looks like they are getting a tribal tattoo workover.

    There were some elements of the movie that didn’t sit well with me, but I guess I’ll talk about it over on my blog instead of here!

Leave a Reply

