Thursday that feels like a Friday

Reading: Finishing up The City & the City. Enjoying it quite a bit.

Wearing: Jeans and a new button down with a muscle-y tank top underneath.

Planning: July 4th trip this weekend.

Writing: Outlining a sci-fi thing and continuing to edit the sci-fi story that looks like the first chapter of a novella. You know me, pushing the line from affectation to full-on masturbation.

That said, I am not allowing anymore comments in the thread concerning Malcolm’s comments on the Dictionary of Mu. It was just on the breaking point of turning lame and petty and I’d like to keep it civil rather than have bullshit in my digital living room.

What is your weekend looking like?

97 thoughts on “Thursday that feels like a Friday

  1. Reading: China Road by Rob Gifford and Breathers: A Zombie’s Lament by S.G. Brown. The copy of The City & the City that I had on hold at the library just came in yesterday, so I’m looking forward to digging into it.

    Wearing: My grey Resistance: Fall of Man promotional SRPA t-shirt and the usual green cargo pants and torn-up brown earth shoes.

    Planning: Movie with friends tomorrow, cookout and house show on Saturday, Exalted on Sunday.

    Writing: Not much at the moment.

  2. Reading: China Road by Rob Gifford and Breathers: A Zombie’s Lament by S.G. Brown. The copy of The City & the City that I had on hold at the library just came in yesterday, so I’m looking forward to digging into it.

    Wearing: My grey Resistance: Fall of Man promotional SRPA t-shirt and the usual green cargo pants and torn-up brown earth shoes.

    Planning: Movie with friends tomorrow, cookout and house show on Saturday, Exalted on Sunday.

    Writing: Not much at the moment.

  3. Reading: China Road by Rob Gifford and Breathers: A Zombie’s Lament by S.G. Brown. The copy of The City & the City that I had on hold at the library just came in yesterday, so I’m looking forward to digging into it.

    Wearing: My grey Resistance: Fall of Man promotional SRPA t-shirt and the usual green cargo pants and torn-up brown earth shoes.

    Planning: Movie with friends tomorrow, cookout and house show on Saturday, Exalted on Sunday.

    Writing: Not much at the moment.

  4. Reading: China Road by Rob Gifford and Breathers: A Zombie’s Lament by S.G. Brown. The copy of The City & the City that I had on hold at the library just came in yesterday, so I’m looking forward to digging into it.

    Wearing: My grey Resistance: Fall of Man promotional SRPA t-shirt and the usual green cargo pants and torn-up brown earth shoes.

    Planning: Movie with friends tomorrow, cookout and house show on Saturday, Exalted on Sunday.

    Writing: Not much at the moment.

  5. Reading: HeroQuest 2. Trying to decide how much of the extra advice is useful vs. padding.

    Wearing: Warm ups + Marvel Heroes T-shirt

    Planning: Late night working open house, early morning for some bodywork, and a busy weekend.

    Writing: Nothing right now.

      • Re: HQ2 and the Real Question

        It was some cheap free shirt I got from ComicCon 2 years ago. I’ve changed and am at work at this point, so I’m going from fuzzy memory – Fantastic 4, Wolverine and Spiderman, and I’d have to look to see who else.

      • Re: HQ2 and the Real Question

        It was some cheap free shirt I got from ComicCon 2 years ago. I’ve changed and am at work at this point, so I’m going from fuzzy memory – Fantastic 4, Wolverine and Spiderman, and I’d have to look to see who else.

  6. Reading: HeroQuest 2. Trying to decide how much of the extra advice is useful vs. padding.

    Wearing: Warm ups + Marvel Heroes T-shirt

    Planning: Late night working open house, early morning for some bodywork, and a busy weekend.

    Writing: Nothing right now.

  7. Reading: HeroQuest 2. Trying to decide how much of the extra advice is useful vs. padding.

    Wearing: Warm ups + Marvel Heroes T-shirt

    Planning: Late night working open house, early morning for some bodywork, and a busy weekend.

    Writing: Nothing right now.

  8. Reading: HeroQuest 2. Trying to decide how much of the extra advice is useful vs. padding.

    Wearing: Warm ups + Marvel Heroes T-shirt

    Planning: Late night working open house, early morning for some bodywork, and a busy weekend.

    Writing: Nothing right now.

  9. Reading: The Testament of Longinus (Vampire)

    Wearing: Cargo shorts and my Dharma Initiative t-shirt

    Planning: Gaming tomorrow night, writing all weekend

    Writing: Still working on ghost stories and an unannounced project.

  10. Reading: The Testament of Longinus (Vampire)

    Wearing: Cargo shorts and my Dharma Initiative t-shirt

    Planning: Gaming tomorrow night, writing all weekend

    Writing: Still working on ghost stories and an unannounced project.

  11. Reading: The Testament of Longinus (Vampire)

    Wearing: Cargo shorts and my Dharma Initiative t-shirt

    Planning: Gaming tomorrow night, writing all weekend

    Writing: Still working on ghost stories and an unannounced project.

  12. Reading: The Testament of Longinus (Vampire)

    Wearing: Cargo shorts and my Dharma Initiative t-shirt

    Planning: Gaming tomorrow night, writing all weekend

    Writing: Still working on ghost stories and an unannounced project.

  13. This weekend is very calm for me, as next weekend I am away.

    Reading: Just finished “Backup” by Butcher and The Ultimates 3. I’m also in the middle of The Scar on your recomendation, it took me a while to get in to it but it seems to be picking up.

    Wearing: Work clothing, blue shirt, black slacks.

    Planning: Our trip next weekend occupies most of my planning mind-cycles.

    Writing: The best I can claim to be writing is my political blog entries.

      • I’m usually inclined to like Ultimate Marvel stuff because I think the concept is a sound one – tell good stories without the bullshit that’s accumulated over 40 years of telling stories about these characters.

        But Ultimates 3… and maybe its just because now these versions have been around for years as well… seems to have a pretty high “so much background it interferes with the story” factor to it. Other than the story of Pietro and Wandas icky love, which I thought was spot on for the kind of sub-story it was trying to be, I found most of it overly complex, and yet, at the same time, rushed. Complex AND rushed makes for a very hard story to enjoy.

        I didn’t overly dislike it, but I think I might have liked it more if it had held to the principle of being simple.

      • I’m usually inclined to like Ultimate Marvel stuff because I think the concept is a sound one – tell good stories without the bullshit that’s accumulated over 40 years of telling stories about these characters.

        But Ultimates 3… and maybe its just because now these versions have been around for years as well… seems to have a pretty high “so much background it interferes with the story” factor to it. Other than the story of Pietro and Wandas icky love, which I thought was spot on for the kind of sub-story it was trying to be, I found most of it overly complex, and yet, at the same time, rushed. Complex AND rushed makes for a very hard story to enjoy.

        I didn’t overly dislike it, but I think I might have liked it more if it had held to the principle of being simple.

  14. This weekend is very calm for me, as next weekend I am away.

    Reading: Just finished “Backup” by Butcher and The Ultimates 3. I’m also in the middle of The Scar on your recomendation, it took me a while to get in to it but it seems to be picking up.

    Wearing: Work clothing, blue shirt, black slacks.

    Planning: Our trip next weekend occupies most of my planning mind-cycles.

    Writing: The best I can claim to be writing is my political blog entries.

  15. This weekend is very calm for me, as next weekend I am away.

    Reading: Just finished “Backup” by Butcher and The Ultimates 3. I’m also in the middle of The Scar on your recomendation, it took me a while to get in to it but it seems to be picking up.

    Wearing: Work clothing, blue shirt, black slacks.

    Planning: Our trip next weekend occupies most of my planning mind-cycles.

    Writing: The best I can claim to be writing is my political blog entries.

  16. This weekend is very calm for me, as next weekend I am away.

    Reading: Just finished “Backup” by Butcher and The Ultimates 3. I’m also in the middle of The Scar on your recomendation, it took me a while to get in to it but it seems to be picking up.

    Wearing: Work clothing, blue shirt, black slacks.

    Planning: Our trip next weekend occupies most of my planning mind-cycles.

    Writing: The best I can claim to be writing is my political blog entries.

  17. I’m usually inclined to like Ultimate Marvel stuff because I think the concept is a sound one – tell good stories without the bullshit that’s accumulated over 40 years of telling stories about these characters.

    But Ultimates 3… and maybe its just because now these versions have been around for years as well… seems to have a pretty high “so much background it interferes with the story” factor to it. Other than the story of Pietro and Wandas icky love, which I thought was spot on for the kind of sub-story it was trying to be, I found most of it overly complex, and yet, at the same time, rushed. Complex AND rushed makes for a very hard story to enjoy.

    I didn’t overly dislike it, but I think I might have liked it more if it had held to the principle of being simple.

  18. I’m usually inclined to like Ultimate Marvel stuff because I think the concept is a sound one – tell good stories without the bullshit that’s accumulated over 40 years of telling stories about these characters.

    But Ultimates 3… and maybe its just because now these versions have been around for years as well… seems to have a pretty high “so much background it interferes with the story” factor to it. Other than the story of Pietro and Wandas icky love, which I thought was spot on for the kind of sub-story it was trying to be, I found most of it overly complex, and yet, at the same time, rushed. Complex AND rushed makes for a very hard story to enjoy.

    I didn’t overly dislike it, but I think I might have liked it more if it had held to the principle of being simple.

  19. My weekend?

    Reading: The Steel Remains! Finally got it, in hardback. I’m pretty pleased with the quality of the binding, which is something I almost never notice. Half way through the book. Love it, love it, love it. Also 3/4 through Islands in the Sea of Time, by S.M. Stirling. Great book, but I interrupted it for The Steel Remains, natch.

    Wearing: Normally, who cares, but today I have brand new dark-wash, low-rise jeans and a brand new broad-striped bowling shirt.

    Planning: Combo “friend is in town” party + my birthday party (6/29) + America’s birthday party (7/4) + Tiki / luau party for the hell of it. Saturday!

    Writing: Nothing. Editing “Skills” chapter of The Dresden Files RPG though.

  20. My weekend?

    Reading: The Steel Remains! Finally got it, in hardback. I’m pretty pleased with the quality of the binding, which is something I almost never notice. Half way through the book. Love it, love it, love it. Also 3/4 through Islands in the Sea of Time, by S.M. Stirling. Great book, but I interrupted it for The Steel Remains, natch.

    Wearing: Normally, who cares, but today I have brand new dark-wash, low-rise jeans and a brand new broad-striped bowling shirt.

    Planning: Combo “friend is in town” party + my birthday party (6/29) + America’s birthday party (7/4) + Tiki / luau party for the hell of it. Saturday!

    Writing: Nothing. Editing “Skills” chapter of The Dresden Files RPG though.

  21. My weekend?

    Reading: The Steel Remains! Finally got it, in hardback. I’m pretty pleased with the quality of the binding, which is something I almost never notice. Half way through the book. Love it, love it, love it. Also 3/4 through Islands in the Sea of Time, by S.M. Stirling. Great book, but I interrupted it for The Steel Remains, natch.

    Wearing: Normally, who cares, but today I have brand new dark-wash, low-rise jeans and a brand new broad-striped bowling shirt.

    Planning: Combo “friend is in town” party + my birthday party (6/29) + America’s birthday party (7/4) + Tiki / luau party for the hell of it. Saturday!

    Writing: Nothing. Editing “Skills” chapter of The Dresden Files RPG though.

  22. My weekend?

    Reading: The Steel Remains! Finally got it, in hardback. I’m pretty pleased with the quality of the binding, which is something I almost never notice. Half way through the book. Love it, love it, love it. Also 3/4 through Islands in the Sea of Time, by S.M. Stirling. Great book, but I interrupted it for The Steel Remains, natch.

    Wearing: Normally, who cares, but today I have brand new dark-wash, low-rise jeans and a brand new broad-striped bowling shirt.

    Planning: Combo “friend is in town” party + my birthday party (6/29) + America’s birthday party (7/4) + Tiki / luau party for the hell of it. Saturday!

    Writing: Nothing. Editing “Skills” chapter of The Dresden Files RPG though.

  23. Reading: Birds of Prey: Sensei and Student written by Gail Simone. Simone shows a real sensitivity in characterization of the female leads that is rare in the “boy’s club” world of comic writing. I wish the art was equally sensitive, though – the Jim Lee style cheesecake is sometimes jarring when coupled with her writing.

    Wearing: Blue button-down and microfiber travel slacks.

    Planning: July 4th at home, off to the beach with family on the 5th.

    Writing Drawing: Clint Eastwood from a photo after watching Grand Torino. I don’t like drawing from photos all the time, but they’re the most plentiful and accessible option for regular figure drawing practice. I’ll be looking for real people/things/places to draw on the beach trip.

      • Re: Par for the course

        Yeah, she has some whopper stories about people in the industry. I think, given time and a more balanced fan base, that we’ll see her coupled with artists that fit her style better. We’ll see.

      • Re: Par for the course

        Yeah, she has some whopper stories about people in the industry. I think, given time and a more balanced fan base, that we’ll see her coupled with artists that fit her style better. We’ll see.

  24. Reading: Birds of Prey: Sensei and Student written by Gail Simone. Simone shows a real sensitivity in characterization of the female leads that is rare in the “boy’s club” world of comic writing. I wish the art was equally sensitive, though – the Jim Lee style cheesecake is sometimes jarring when coupled with her writing.

    Wearing: Blue button-down and microfiber travel slacks.

    Planning: July 4th at home, off to the beach with family on the 5th.

    Writing Drawing: Clint Eastwood from a photo after watching Grand Torino. I don’t like drawing from photos all the time, but they’re the most plentiful and accessible option for regular figure drawing practice. I’ll be looking for real people/things/places to draw on the beach trip.

  25. Reading: Birds of Prey: Sensei and Student written by Gail Simone. Simone shows a real sensitivity in characterization of the female leads that is rare in the “boy’s club” world of comic writing. I wish the art was equally sensitive, though – the Jim Lee style cheesecake is sometimes jarring when coupled with her writing.

    Wearing: Blue button-down and microfiber travel slacks.

    Planning: July 4th at home, off to the beach with family on the 5th.

    Writing Drawing: Clint Eastwood from a photo after watching Grand Torino. I don’t like drawing from photos all the time, but they’re the most plentiful and accessible option for regular figure drawing practice. I’ll be looking for real people/things/places to draw on the beach trip.

  26. Reading: Birds of Prey: Sensei and Student written by Gail Simone. Simone shows a real sensitivity in characterization of the female leads that is rare in the “boy’s club” world of comic writing. I wish the art was equally sensitive, though – the Jim Lee style cheesecake is sometimes jarring when coupled with her writing.

    Wearing: Blue button-down and microfiber travel slacks.

    Planning: July 4th at home, off to the beach with family on the 5th.

    Writing Drawing: Clint Eastwood from a photo after watching Grand Torino. I don’t like drawing from photos all the time, but they’re the most plentiful and accessible option for regular figure drawing practice. I’ll be looking for real people/things/places to draw on the beach trip.

  27. R: Gormenghast on audio CD (amazingly, it was on the rack at the library the day before I finished Titus Groan on CD). Fictions, the collected works of Jorges Luis Borges. Every once in a while I read a few paragraphs of some awful D&D book: Forgotten Realms: The Dungeons: Crypt of the Moaning Diamond. Monster Manual 2.

    <>W: Blue shirt with Nixon logo, white overshirt, gray slacks. No more beard (I’d been rocking the lumberzak look for a few months).

    P: Weekend with the family. Trying to finish a short story, which would mean one side project done since I had kids.

    W: A short story. I don’t know if it’s going to be any good, but there’s a dragon that’s more a living bronze and glass fractal, various oblique nods and etymology play, and a foul-mouthed narrator.

  28. R: Gormenghast on audio CD (amazingly, it was on the rack at the library the day before I finished Titus Groan on CD). Fictions, the collected works of Jorges Luis Borges. Every once in a while I read a few paragraphs of some awful D&D book: Forgotten Realms: The Dungeons: Crypt of the Moaning Diamond. Monster Manual 2.

    <>W: Blue shirt with Nixon logo, white overshirt, gray slacks. No more beard (I’d been rocking the lumberzak look for a few months).

    P: Weekend with the family. Trying to finish a short story, which would mean one side project done since I had kids.

    W: A short story. I don’t know if it’s going to be any good, but there’s a dragon that’s more a living bronze and glass fractal, various oblique nods and etymology play, and a foul-mouthed narrator.

  29. R: Gormenghast on audio CD (amazingly, it was on the rack at the library the day before I finished Titus Groan on CD). Fictions, the collected works of Jorges Luis Borges. Every once in a while I read a few paragraphs of some awful D&D book: Forgotten Realms: The Dungeons: Crypt of the Moaning Diamond. Monster Manual 2.

    <>W: Blue shirt with Nixon logo, white overshirt, gray slacks. No more beard (I’d been rocking the lumberzak look for a few months).

    P: Weekend with the family. Trying to finish a short story, which would mean one side project done since I had kids.

    W: A short story. I don’t know if it’s going to be any good, but there’s a dragon that’s more a living bronze and glass fractal, various oblique nods and etymology play, and a foul-mouthed narrator.

  30. R: Gormenghast on audio CD (amazingly, it was on the rack at the library the day before I finished Titus Groan on CD). Fictions, the collected works of Jorges Luis Borges. Every once in a while I read a few paragraphs of some awful D&D book: Forgotten Realms: The Dungeons: Crypt of the Moaning Diamond. Monster Manual 2.

    <>W: Blue shirt with Nixon logo, white overshirt, gray slacks. No more beard (I’d been rocking the lumberzak look for a few months).

    P: Weekend with the family. Trying to finish a short story, which would mean one side project done since I had kids.

    W: A short story. I don’t know if it’s going to be any good, but there’s a dragon that’s more a living bronze and glass fractal, various oblique nods and etymology play, and a foul-mouthed narrator.

  31. Reading: The Winter King.

    Wearing: Bizcas, cause, u no, u gotta abrieve.

    Planning: Weekend up at my Dad’s, although it’s not “long” due to the 1st in Wednesday.

    Writing: Doing a writing course, right now it’s pretty touchy-feely but it made a good point: I wouldn’t be taking a writing course if my own techniques were working for me.

  32. Reading: The Winter King.

    Wearing: Bizcas, cause, u no, u gotta abrieve.

    Planning: Weekend up at my Dad’s, although it’s not “long” due to the 1st in Wednesday.

    Writing: Doing a writing course, right now it’s pretty touchy-feely but it made a good point: I wouldn’t be taking a writing course if my own techniques were working for me.

  33. Reading: The Winter King.

    Wearing: Bizcas, cause, u no, u gotta abrieve.

    Planning: Weekend up at my Dad’s, although it’s not “long” due to the 1st in Wednesday.

    Writing: Doing a writing course, right now it’s pretty touchy-feely but it made a good point: I wouldn’t be taking a writing course if my own techniques were working for me.

  34. Reading: The Winter King.

    Wearing: Bizcas, cause, u no, u gotta abrieve.

    Planning: Weekend up at my Dad’s, although it’s not “long” due to the 1st in Wednesday.

    Writing: Doing a writing course, right now it’s pretty touchy-feely but it made a good point: I wouldn’t be taking a writing course if my own techniques were working for me.

  35. Re: HQ2 and the Real Question

    It was some cheap shirt I got for free from ComicCon 2 years ago, so I never really looked close at it, it’s got the Fantastic Four, Spider man, and Wolverine, and a bunch of other iconic heroes- though I’m at work now and will have to wait until I get home to really look at it.

  36. Re: HQ2 and the Real Question

    It was some cheap free shirt I got from ComicCon 2 years ago. I’ve changed and am at work at this point, so I’m going from fuzzy memory – Fantastic 4, Wolverine and Spiderman, and I’d have to look to see who else.

  37. Re: HQ2 and the Real Question

    It was some cheap free shirt I got from ComicCon 2 years ago. I’ve changed and am at work at this point, so I’m going from fuzzy memory – Fantastic 4, Wolverine and Spiderman, and I’d have to look to see who else.

  38. Re: Par for the course

    Yeah, she has some whopper stories about people in the industry. I think, given time and a more balanced fan base, that we’ll see her coupled with artists that fit her style better. We’ll see.

  39. Re: Par for the course

    Yeah, she has some whopper stories about people in the industry. I think, given time and a more balanced fan base, that we’ll see her coupled with artists that fit her style better. We’ll see.

  40. Hey, Judd, unrelated thing:
    I’m trying to find this old post on your LJ about old dungeoncrawls in 2E (I think), with big emphasis on strategy and long-term resource management, rather than on tactics as in 3E and 4E.

    I can’t find it. At this point, I’m not even sure it was you that posted it, but I think it was. Help?

  41. Hey, Judd, unrelated thing:
    I’m trying to find this old post on your LJ about old dungeoncrawls in 2E (I think), with big emphasis on strategy and long-term resource management, rather than on tactics as in 3E and 4E.

    I can’t find it. At this point, I’m not even sure it was you that posted it, but I think it was. Help?

  42. Hey, Judd, unrelated thing:
    I’m trying to find this old post on your LJ about old dungeoncrawls in 2E (I think), with big emphasis on strategy and long-term resource management, rather than on tactics as in 3E and 4E.

    I can’t find it. At this point, I’m not even sure it was you that posted it, but I think it was. Help?

  43. Hey, Judd, unrelated thing:
    I’m trying to find this old post on your LJ about old dungeoncrawls in 2E (I think), with big emphasis on strategy and long-term resource management, rather than on tactics as in 3E and 4E.

    I can’t find it. At this point, I’m not even sure it was you that posted it, but I think it was. Help?

  44. Re: Nixon

    Yeah: Nixon. They don’t carry my exact shirt (which is way classier than anything on that site). Weird, I know. It must have been a gift. I do enjoy the combination of dead president and yonic logo, though.

    And, thanks! We’ll see if I finish it.

  45. Re: Nixon

    Yeah: Nixon. They don’t carry my exact shirt (which is way classier than anything on that site). Weird, I know. It must have been a gift. I do enjoy the combination of dead president and yonic logo, though.

    And, thanks! We’ll see if I finish it.

  46. Spent July 4th at a party with roof access for fireworks. NYC skyline and fireworks!

    Reading: Just finished ‘s Adventure into Darkness. What does it say that I’m questioning his “facts” about a minor point in an alternate universe? Lots of fun.

    Wearing: Columbus, OH Worldcon bid t-shirt, black jeans.

    Planning: DexCon, going up Wed night, prepping to run something for and just before that.

    Writing: Zine, emails.

  47. Spent July 4th at a party with roof access for fireworks. NYC skyline and fireworks!

    Reading: Just finished ‘s Adventure into Darkness. What does it say that I’m questioning his “facts” about a minor point in an alternate universe? Lots of fun.

    Wearing: Columbus, OH Worldcon bid t-shirt, black jeans.

    Planning: DexCon, going up Wed night, prepping to run something for and just before that.

    Writing: Zine, emails.

  48. Spent July 4th at a party with roof access for fireworks. NYC skyline and fireworks!

    Reading: Just finished ‘s Adventure into Darkness. What does it say that I’m questioning his “facts” about a minor point in an alternate universe? Lots of fun.

    Wearing: Columbus, OH Worldcon bid t-shirt, black jeans.

    Planning: DexCon, going up Wed night, prepping to run something for and just before that.

    Writing: Zine, emails.

  49. Spent July 4th at a party with roof access for fireworks. NYC skyline and fireworks!

    Reading: Just finished ‘s Adventure into Darkness. What does it say that I’m questioning his “facts” about a minor point in an alternate universe? Lots of fun.

    Wearing: Columbus, OH Worldcon bid t-shirt, black jeans.

    Planning: DexCon, going up Wed night, prepping to run something for and just before that.

    Writing: Zine, emails.

Leave a Reply

