Fantasy Flight Game’s board game mojo turned towards RPG’s

This is interesting.

I am fascinated to see FFG turn their expertise at creating amazing board games towards RPG’s.

And there’s this:

Using a new task resolution system featuring custom dice, Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay gives you unparalleled story-telling options. Every roll of the dice has a story to tell, providing far more information and flavour than just “you hit” or “you miss.” These dice represent the abilities and skills your characters will gain, as well as include the whims of fate. With each roll, players will be able to see how the check succeeded or failed. Did they make it through based on their natural skills or did they just get lucky as fortune intervened? There are more than 30 custom dice included to help you craft your story.

I’m intrigued.

Though there is still a part of me that wants to grab Burning Wheel, take the Corruption mechanics out of the Magic Burner, cook up some keen traits from some Warhammer fiction and go that route.

116 thoughts on “Fantasy Flight Game’s board game mojo turned towards RPG’s

  1. I am pretty interested.

    I’ve always had In a Wicked Age pegged for the best Warhammer system. That way you can skip around to all the different crazy locations and creatures that are in the Warhammer world. This week we’re knights in search of the grail. Next week we’re orcs trying to conquer a demon pit. And then we’re dwarves negotating a treaty with elves.

        • Re: 100

          Yeah.

          Though I did stop to consider how many collectible RPGs I’ve spent over $100 on in the past. Rifts, Vampire, etc. If the stuff is useful and adds to gameplay and does something really cool, maybe it’ll be worth it.

          Oh and if I can play an orc? I will rob a bank.

        • Re: 100

          Yeah.

          Though I did stop to consider how many collectible RPGs I’ve spent over $100 on in the past. Rifts, Vampire, etc. If the stuff is useful and adds to gameplay and does something really cool, maybe it’ll be worth it.

          Oh and if I can play an orc? I will rob a bank.

        • Re: 100

          No joke. But, also keep in mind what you’re getting for $100. FFG makes some beautiful stuff and they’re including 30+ custom dice in there.

          D&D 4E has a similar price tag and doesn’t come with any of the props that make playing it cool.

          Of course, I didn’t buy 4E either, but still…

              • Re: 100

                That’s not even counting the special dice you have to buy to play D&D.

                Yeah, I relinquish my complaints about the price tag.

              • Re: 100

                Worth noting the reaction though. Cause, sure, logically I know I’ve spent about that on Burning Wheel (Core Set + Blossoms + Magic Burner + Monster = about $95, right?) and more than that on any given edition of D&D. But all of those purchases came in waves, bites that it was easy to say “well I could buy only one.” Even though I never did, I always bought the Players, GM, and Monster books all at the same time.

                Its damn easy to get lured in if one product has an attractive price point, and end up spending a lot more over the course. Historically it hasn’t always been as easy to get folks to spend as much (or possibly even less) if the initial lump sum seems like a high price point.

                I’m thinking FFG may have priced this one based on their other boardgames though, rather than traditional RPG pricing. Arkham Horror is 60 bucks, plus 50 bucks a supplement. Battle Lore is 80 bucks, plus 20 bucks a supplement. Descent is 90 bucks, and 50+ for some supplements. And FFG has to know how these are selling — and if they’re selling at boardgame stores or RPG stores. (Other companies are pretty equivalent on prices too, most Days of Wonder big box games are 50 to 70 bucks, Rio Grand has a lot of games in the category too….)

                So, as this is a product that kind of falls between two worlds, it’ll be interesting to see how it goes. And where it gets sold.

              • Re: 100

                The price point is definitely riffing off of board games. I’d imagine that the boxed set and the materials included within demand that.

                Your thinking about what I have spent on BW mirrors my exact thoughts on it, yeah. I was thinking exactly that when I posted the -post- button.

              • Re: 100

                The price point is definitely riffing off of board games. I’d imagine that the boxed set and the materials included within demand that.

                Your thinking about what I have spent on BW mirrors my exact thoughts on it, yeah. I was thinking exactly that when I posted the -post- button.

              • Re: 100

                Yes. But the waves do matter too.
                I may not have $100 to spend on RPGs in any given month.

                Yes, I could just hold money off for, say, 3 months, and then spend it all in one big dollop, instead of buying one book every month for three months.

                Except, it’s hard with compulsive spending, and getting a constant influx of stuff to read rather than too much at one time is better.

                Heck, when I was younger, it was RPG every 2 months, money wise. This would have required me to ‘save’ for about 6 months, not including Holiday cash and such, which is an issue if you want more people to buy your games.

                And if I don’t care for the cleric and mage? 😉

                But overall, I obviously agree. It’s just that people have a harder time justifying one big buy. I actually think that’s one of the ways WotC gets to you, you notice too late how much you’ve spent.

              • Re: 100

                Its like my brother telling me about how he started buying MP3s at a dollar a pop and realized recently he’s spent a grand over the past year on it.

                A dollar a pop adds up, and makes it easy to go down the trail to darkness. 100 bucks a pop isn’t so easy.

              • Re: 100

                Its like my brother telling me about how he started buying MP3s at a dollar a pop and realized recently he’s spent a grand over the past year on it.

                A dollar a pop adds up, and makes it easy to go down the trail to darkness. 100 bucks a pop isn’t so easy.

              • Re: 100

                Yes. But the waves do matter too.
                I may not have $100 to spend on RPGs in any given month.

                Yes, I could just hold money off for, say, 3 months, and then spend it all in one big dollop, instead of buying one book every month for three months.

                Except, it’s hard with compulsive spending, and getting a constant influx of stuff to read rather than too much at one time is better.

                Heck, when I was younger, it was RPG every 2 months, money wise. This would have required me to ‘save’ for about 6 months, not including Holiday cash and such, which is an issue if you want more people to buy your games.

                And if I don’t care for the cleric and mage? 😉

                But overall, I obviously agree. It’s just that people have a harder time justifying one big buy. I actually think that’s one of the ways WotC gets to you, you notice too late how much you’ve spent.

              • Re: 100

                The other thing that just occurs to me now about plonking down cash on BW is that it is the game I have played the most and had the most fun with in the past five years. Buying new supplements for BW is just no big thang at this point.

              • Re: 100

                Good point.

                I’ve had game collections for one line (or a linked set of lines, like the WoD stuff) that represented $1000 of spending by the time I was done. But any game that got that much of my money also was getting a lot of play, a lot of fun, and was rewarding me ongoing.

                Of course, the other thing that was hitting me this afternoon, as I thought randomly about buying a video game system, is the $500ish outlay for the system plus (if I was dumb enough to pay MSRP) the often $60 price per game. And while the two things are clearly not the same in many, many ways — I’d bet that if I really liked Warhammer I’d get more play out of it than I would out of God of War 3.

                So… egh. I dunno. Price is a funny thing.

                (And to be clear, I’m just talking about impressions and marketing. I have no doubt that this game should be selling for $100. Hell, possibly more. The historic underpricing of RPGs is one of the things that is killing it as a professional venture. But fuck, no need to tell you about that, or the evils of the three tier system, right?)

              • Re: 100

                Good point.

                I’ve had game collections for one line (or a linked set of lines, like the WoD stuff) that represented $1000 of spending by the time I was done. But any game that got that much of my money also was getting a lot of play, a lot of fun, and was rewarding me ongoing.

                Of course, the other thing that was hitting me this afternoon, as I thought randomly about buying a video game system, is the $500ish outlay for the system plus (if I was dumb enough to pay MSRP) the often $60 price per game. And while the two things are clearly not the same in many, many ways — I’d bet that if I really liked Warhammer I’d get more play out of it than I would out of God of War 3.

                So… egh. I dunno. Price is a funny thing.

                (And to be clear, I’m just talking about impressions and marketing. I have no doubt that this game should be selling for $100. Hell, possibly more. The historic underpricing of RPGs is one of the things that is killing it as a professional venture. But fuck, no need to tell you about that, or the evils of the three tier system, right?)

              • Re: 100

                The other thing that just occurs to me now about plonking down cash on BW is that it is the game I have played the most and had the most fun with in the past five years. Buying new supplements for BW is just no big thang at this point.

              • Re: 100

                Worth noting the reaction though. Cause, sure, logically I know I’ve spent about that on Burning Wheel (Core Set + Blossoms + Magic Burner + Monster = about $95, right?) and more than that on any given edition of D&D. But all of those purchases came in waves, bites that it was easy to say “well I could buy only one.” Even though I never did, I always bought the Players, GM, and Monster books all at the same time.

                Its damn easy to get lured in if one product has an attractive price point, and end up spending a lot more over the course. Historically it hasn’t always been as easy to get folks to spend as much (or possibly even less) if the initial lump sum seems like a high price point.

                I’m thinking FFG may have priced this one based on their other boardgames though, rather than traditional RPG pricing. Arkham Horror is 60 bucks, plus 50 bucks a supplement. Battle Lore is 80 bucks, plus 20 bucks a supplement. Descent is 90 bucks, and 50+ for some supplements. And FFG has to know how these are selling — and if they’re selling at boardgame stores or RPG stores. (Other companies are pretty equivalent on prices too, most Days of Wonder big box games are 50 to 70 bucks, Rio Grand has a lot of games in the category too….)

                So, as this is a product that kind of falls between two worlds, it’ll be interesting to see how it goes. And where it gets sold.

              • Re: 100

                That’s not even counting the special dice you have to buy to play D&D.

                Yeah, I relinquish my complaints about the price tag.

        • Re: 100

          No joke. But, also keep in mind what you’re getting for $100. FFG makes some beautiful stuff and they’re including 30+ custom dice in there.

          D&D 4E has a similar price tag and doesn’t come with any of the props that make playing it cool.

          Of course, I didn’t buy 4E either, but still…

  2. I am pretty interested.

    I’ve always had In a Wicked Age pegged for the best Warhammer system. That way you can skip around to all the different crazy locations and creatures that are in the Warhammer world. This week we’re knights in search of the grail. Next week we’re orcs trying to conquer a demon pit. And then we’re dwarves negotating a treaty with elves.

  3. I am pretty interested.

    I’ve always had In a Wicked Age pegged for the best Warhammer system. That way you can skip around to all the different crazy locations and creatures that are in the Warhammer world. This week we’re knights in search of the grail. Next week we’re orcs trying to conquer a demon pit. And then we’re dwarves negotating a treaty with elves.

  4. I am pretty interested.

    I’ve always had In a Wicked Age pegged for the best Warhammer system. That way you can skip around to all the different crazy locations and creatures that are in the Warhammer world. This week we’re knights in search of the grail. Next week we’re orcs trying to conquer a demon pit. And then we’re dwarves negotating a treaty with elves.

  5. Re: 100

    Yeah.

    Though I did stop to consider how many collectible RPGs I’ve spent over $100 on in the past. Rifts, Vampire, etc. If the stuff is useful and adds to gameplay and does something really cool, maybe it’ll be worth it.

    Oh and if I can play an orc? I will rob a bank.

  6. Re: 100

    Yeah.

    Though I did stop to consider how many collectible RPGs I’ve spent over $100 on in the past. Rifts, Vampire, etc. If the stuff is useful and adds to gameplay and does something really cool, maybe it’ll be worth it.

    Oh and if I can play an orc? I will rob a bank.

  7. The high price-tag and the “custom dice” are a turn-off to me as a consumer, and the snarky side of my brain says “Why not just play Talisman and talk in character”…

    but those are matters of personal preference on my part, not damning design flaws. I think it’ll generate a lot of conversation and ideas, and it might even define a new type of game. Will definitely try it out at least once (provided one of my single-income-no-kids gaming buddies buys it).

    Also, how long until people start hacking Lego Dice to make their own custom dice sets for this game?

  8. The high price-tag and the “custom dice” are a turn-off to me as a consumer, and the snarky side of my brain says “Why not just play Talisman and talk in character”…

    but those are matters of personal preference on my part, not damning design flaws. I think it’ll generate a lot of conversation and ideas, and it might even define a new type of game. Will definitely try it out at least once (provided one of my single-income-no-kids gaming buddies buys it).

    Also, how long until people start hacking Lego Dice to make their own custom dice sets for this game?

  9. The high price-tag and the “custom dice” are a turn-off to me as a consumer, and the snarky side of my brain says “Why not just play Talisman and talk in character”…

    but those are matters of personal preference on my part, not damning design flaws. I think it’ll generate a lot of conversation and ideas, and it might even define a new type of game. Will definitely try it out at least once (provided one of my single-income-no-kids gaming buddies buys it).

    Also, how long until people start hacking Lego Dice to make their own custom dice sets for this game?

  10. The high price-tag and the “custom dice” are a turn-off to me as a consumer, and the snarky side of my brain says “Why not just play Talisman and talk in character”…

    but those are matters of personal preference on my part, not damning design flaws. I think it’ll generate a lot of conversation and ideas, and it might even define a new type of game. Will definitely try it out at least once (provided one of my single-income-no-kids gaming buddies buys it).

    Also, how long until people start hacking Lego Dice to make their own custom dice sets for this game?

  11. Re: 100

    No joke. But, also keep in mind what you’re getting for $100. FFG makes some beautiful stuff and they’re including 30+ custom dice in there.

    D&D 4E has a similar price tag and doesn’t come with any of the props that make playing it cool.

    Of course, I didn’t buy 4E either, but still…

  12. Re: 100

    No joke. But, also keep in mind what you’re getting for $100. FFG makes some beautiful stuff and they’re including 30+ custom dice in there.

    D&D 4E has a similar price tag and doesn’t come with any of the props that make playing it cool.

    Of course, I didn’t buy 4E either, but still…

  13. I wonder, so this is a “group kit”, with the magic books, the decks, etc.

    But what if we have a group, and players want to buy their own personal rulebooks, or additional magic books?

  14. I wonder, so this is a “group kit”, with the magic books, the decks, etc.

    But what if we have a group, and players want to buy their own personal rulebooks, or additional magic books?

  15. I wonder, so this is a “group kit”, with the magic books, the decks, etc.

    But what if we have a group, and players want to buy their own personal rulebooks, or additional magic books?

  16. I wonder, so this is a “group kit”, with the magic books, the decks, etc.

    But what if we have a group, and players want to buy their own personal rulebooks, or additional magic books?

  17. Re: 100

    Worth noting the reaction though. Cause, sure, logically I know I’ve spent about that on Burning Wheel (Core Set + Blossoms + Magic Burner + Monster = about $95, right?) and more than that on any given edition of D&D. But all of those purchases came in waves, bites that it was easy to say “well I could buy only one.” Even though I never did, I always bought the Players, GM, and Monster books all at the same time.

    Its damn easy to get lured in if one product has an attractive price point, and end up spending a lot more over the course. Historically it hasn’t always been as easy to get folks to spend as much (or possibly even less) if the initial lump sum seems like a high price point.

    I’m thinking FFG may have priced this one based on their other boardgames though, rather than traditional RPG pricing. Arkham Horror is 60 bucks, plus 50 bucks a supplement. Battle Lore is 80 bucks, plus 20 bucks a supplement. Descent is 90 bucks, and 50+ for some supplements. And FFG has to know how these are selling — and if they’re selling at boardgame stores or RPG stores. (Other companies are pretty equivalent on prices too, most Days of Wonder big box games are 50 to 70 bucks, Rio Grand has a lot of games in the category too….)

    So, as this is a product that kind of falls between two worlds, it’ll be interesting to see how it goes. And where it gets sold.

  18. Re: 100

    Worth noting the reaction though. Cause, sure, logically I know I’ve spent about that on Burning Wheel (Core Set + Blossoms + Magic Burner + Monster = about $95, right?) and more than that on any given edition of D&D. But all of those purchases came in waves, bites that it was easy to say “well I could buy only one.” Even though I never did, I always bought the Players, GM, and Monster books all at the same time.

    Its damn easy to get lured in if one product has an attractive price point, and end up spending a lot more over the course. Historically it hasn’t always been as easy to get folks to spend as much (or possibly even less) if the initial lump sum seems like a high price point.

    I’m thinking FFG may have priced this one based on their other boardgames though, rather than traditional RPG pricing. Arkham Horror is 60 bucks, plus 50 bucks a supplement. Battle Lore is 80 bucks, plus 20 bucks a supplement. Descent is 90 bucks, and 50+ for some supplements. And FFG has to know how these are selling — and if they’re selling at boardgame stores or RPG stores. (Other companies are pretty equivalent on prices too, most Days of Wonder big box games are 50 to 70 bucks, Rio Grand has a lot of games in the category too….)

    So, as this is a product that kind of falls between two worlds, it’ll be interesting to see how it goes. And where it gets sold.

  19. Part of me agrees about Burning Wheel.

    Part of me thinks this game is going to be a very different type of game and encourage a very different type of play than Burning Wheel would.

    I suppose I’m a funny old dude, but its almost like I can see this fork in the road in my own past — where the two or three things I used to do in a mush alltogether in my teen-years games are now separating out and going along very different tracks. And so when I look at this I don’t think “how does this compare to Burning Wheel or A Flower For Mara” I think “How does this compare to Shadows Over Camelot.”

  20. Part of me agrees about Burning Wheel.

    Part of me thinks this game is going to be a very different type of game and encourage a very different type of play than Burning Wheel would.

    I suppose I’m a funny old dude, but its almost like I can see this fork in the road in my own past — where the two or three things I used to do in a mush alltogether in my teen-years games are now separating out and going along very different tracks. And so when I look at this I don’t think “how does this compare to Burning Wheel or A Flower For Mara” I think “How does this compare to Shadows Over Camelot.”

  21. Part of me agrees about Burning Wheel.

    Part of me thinks this game is going to be a very different type of game and encourage a very different type of play than Burning Wheel would.

    I suppose I’m a funny old dude, but its almost like I can see this fork in the road in my own past — where the two or three things I used to do in a mush alltogether in my teen-years games are now separating out and going along very different tracks. And so when I look at this I don’t think “how does this compare to Burning Wheel or A Flower For Mara” I think “How does this compare to Shadows Over Camelot.”

  22. Part of me agrees about Burning Wheel.

    Part of me thinks this game is going to be a very different type of game and encourage a very different type of play than Burning Wheel would.

    I suppose I’m a funny old dude, but its almost like I can see this fork in the road in my own past — where the two or three things I used to do in a mush alltogether in my teen-years games are now separating out and going along very different tracks. And so when I look at this I don’t think “how does this compare to Burning Wheel or A Flower For Mara” I think “How does this compare to Shadows Over Camelot.”

  23. Re: 100

    The price point is definitely riffing off of board games. I’d imagine that the boxed set and the materials included within demand that.

    Your thinking about what I have spent on BW mirrors my exact thoughts on it, yeah. I was thinking exactly that when I posted the -post- button.

  24. Re: 100

    The price point is definitely riffing off of board games. I’d imagine that the boxed set and the materials included within demand that.

    Your thinking about what I have spent on BW mirrors my exact thoughts on it, yeah. I was thinking exactly that when I posted the -post- button.

  25. All dice

    I’d argue that all RPG dice are specialty dice, most just aren’t marked as such.

    Yeah, people have already begun discussing the use of Lego Dice hacks. Absolutely in the works.

  26. All dice

    I’d argue that all RPG dice are specialty dice, most just aren’t marked as such.

    Yeah, people have already begun discussing the use of Lego Dice hacks. Absolutely in the works.

      • Re: Check This Page

        I’m interested too. The only reason I wouldn’t be thrilled is because the dice kinda look like butt. Couldn’t they get a contract with Chessex or someone for something prettier?

        That’s all, really. Otherwise, Interested.

      • Re: Check This Page

        I’m interested too. The only reason I wouldn’t be thrilled is because the dice kinda look like butt. Couldn’t they get a contract with Chessex or someone for something prettier?

        That’s all, really. Otherwise, Interested.

      • Re: Check This Page

        Re: Why I am not thrilled? Couple reasons…

        I have not played Warhammer Fantasy in the past and I already have many other fantasy genre RPGs…like most of us. The $99 price point is very high to pay without a demo and no prior experience.

        Frankly it comes off as a hybrid of a board, dice, and card game. Again…unless I see it in action I am unlikely to try a game with so many things that feel like “gimmicks”.

        Glad you asked this BTW.

      • Re: Check This Page

        Re: Why I am not thrilled? Couple reasons…

        I have not played Warhammer Fantasy in the past and I already have many other fantasy genre RPGs…like most of us. The $99 price point is very high to pay without a demo and no prior experience.

        Frankly it comes off as a hybrid of a board, dice, and card game. Again…unless I see it in action I am unlikely to try a game with so many things that feel like “gimmicks”.

        Glad you asked this BTW.

  27. Re: 100

    Yes. But the waves do matter too.
    I may not have $100 to spend on RPGs in any given month.

    Yes, I could just hold money off for, say, 3 months, and then spend it all in one big dollop, instead of buying one book every month for three months.

    Except, it’s hard with compulsive spending, and getting a constant influx of stuff to read rather than too much at one time is better.

    Heck, when I was younger, it was RPG every 2 months, money wise. This would have required me to ‘save’ for about 6 months, not including Holiday cash and such, which is an issue if you want more people to buy your games.

    And if I don’t care for the cleric and mage? 😉

    But overall, I obviously agree. It’s just that people have a harder time justifying one big buy. I actually think that’s one of the ways WotC gets to you, you notice too late how much you’ve spent.

  28. Re: 100

    Yes. But the waves do matter too.
    I may not have $100 to spend on RPGs in any given month.

    Yes, I could just hold money off for, say, 3 months, and then spend it all in one big dollop, instead of buying one book every month for three months.

    Except, it’s hard with compulsive spending, and getting a constant influx of stuff to read rather than too much at one time is better.

    Heck, when I was younger, it was RPG every 2 months, money wise. This would have required me to ‘save’ for about 6 months, not including Holiday cash and such, which is an issue if you want more people to buy your games.

    And if I don’t care for the cleric and mage? 😉

    But overall, I obviously agree. It’s just that people have a harder time justifying one big buy. I actually think that’s one of the ways WotC gets to you, you notice too late how much you’ve spent.

  29. Re: 100

    Its like my brother telling me about how he started buying MP3s at a dollar a pop and realized recently he’s spent a grand over the past year on it.

    A dollar a pop adds up, and makes it easy to go down the trail to darkness. 100 bucks a pop isn’t so easy.

  30. Re: 100

    Its like my brother telling me about how he started buying MP3s at a dollar a pop and realized recently he’s spent a grand over the past year on it.

    A dollar a pop adds up, and makes it easy to go down the trail to darkness. 100 bucks a pop isn’t so easy.

  31. Wow, this is fascinating. I think I’ll try and plonk the money down, too.

    It looks to me like an (overpriced for the market?) easy-entry roleplaying game. I love the idea of fiddly bits that save on seek time (That D&D 4e didn’t initially ship with power card decks was a shame).

    I’m also really curious to see how the dice work. Although my design instincts stick to simple resolutions (especially d6’s), I’m a big fan of interesting dice tricks. I can’t parse “These dice represent the abilities and skills your characters will gain, as well as include the whims of fate,” however. I want to see some play examples!

  32. Wow, this is fascinating. I think I’ll try and plonk the money down, too.

    It looks to me like an (overpriced for the market?) easy-entry roleplaying game. I love the idea of fiddly bits that save on seek time (That D&D 4e didn’t initially ship with power card decks was a shame).

    I’m also really curious to see how the dice work. Although my design instincts stick to simple resolutions (especially d6’s), I’m a big fan of interesting dice tricks. I can’t parse “These dice represent the abilities and skills your characters will gain, as well as include the whims of fate,” however. I want to see some play examples!

  33. Wow, this is fascinating. I think I’ll try and plonk the money down, too.

    It looks to me like an (overpriced for the market?) easy-entry roleplaying game. I love the idea of fiddly bits that save on seek time (That D&D 4e didn’t initially ship with power card decks was a shame).

    I’m also really curious to see how the dice work. Although my design instincts stick to simple resolutions (especially d6’s), I’m a big fan of interesting dice tricks. I can’t parse “These dice represent the abilities and skills your characters will gain, as well as include the whims of fate,” however. I want to see some play examples!

  34. Wow, this is fascinating. I think I’ll try and plonk the money down, too.

    It looks to me like an (overpriced for the market?) easy-entry roleplaying game. I love the idea of fiddly bits that save on seek time (That D&D 4e didn’t initially ship with power card decks was a shame).

    I’m also really curious to see how the dice work. Although my design instincts stick to simple resolutions (especially d6’s), I’m a big fan of interesting dice tricks. I can’t parse “These dice represent the abilities and skills your characters will gain, as well as include the whims of fate,” however. I want to see some play examples!

  35. Re: Check This Page

    I’m interested too. The only reason I wouldn’t be thrilled is because the dice kinda look like butt. Couldn’t they get a contract with Chessex or someone for something prettier?

    That’s all, really. Otherwise, Interested.

  36. Re: Check This Page

    I’m interested too. The only reason I wouldn’t be thrilled is because the dice kinda look like butt. Couldn’t they get a contract with Chessex or someone for something prettier?

    That’s all, really. Otherwise, Interested.

  37. Re: 100

    The other thing that just occurs to me now about plonking down cash on BW is that it is the game I have played the most and had the most fun with in the past five years. Buying new supplements for BW is just no big thang at this point.

  38. Re: 100

    The other thing that just occurs to me now about plonking down cash on BW is that it is the game I have played the most and had the most fun with in the past five years. Buying new supplements for BW is just no big thang at this point.

  39. Re: 100

    Good point.

    I’ve had game collections for one line (or a linked set of lines, like the WoD stuff) that represented $1000 of spending by the time I was done. But any game that got that much of my money also was getting a lot of play, a lot of fun, and was rewarding me ongoing.

    Of course, the other thing that was hitting me this afternoon, as I thought randomly about buying a video game system, is the $500ish outlay for the system plus (if I was dumb enough to pay MSRP) the often $60 price per game. And while the two things are clearly not the same in many, many ways — I’d bet that if I really liked Warhammer I’d get more play out of it than I would out of God of War 3.

    So… egh. I dunno. Price is a funny thing.

    (And to be clear, I’m just talking about impressions and marketing. I have no doubt that this game should be selling for $100. Hell, possibly more. The historic underpricing of RPGs is one of the things that is killing it as a professional venture. But fuck, no need to tell you about that, or the evils of the three tier system, right?)

  40. Re: 100

    Good point.

    I’ve had game collections for one line (or a linked set of lines, like the WoD stuff) that represented $1000 of spending by the time I was done. But any game that got that much of my money also was getting a lot of play, a lot of fun, and was rewarding me ongoing.

    Of course, the other thing that was hitting me this afternoon, as I thought randomly about buying a video game system, is the $500ish outlay for the system plus (if I was dumb enough to pay MSRP) the often $60 price per game. And while the two things are clearly not the same in many, many ways — I’d bet that if I really liked Warhammer I’d get more play out of it than I would out of God of War 3.

    So… egh. I dunno. Price is a funny thing.

    (And to be clear, I’m just talking about impressions and marketing. I have no doubt that this game should be selling for $100. Hell, possibly more. The historic underpricing of RPGs is one of the things that is killing it as a professional venture. But fuck, no need to tell you about that, or the evils of the three tier system, right?)

  41. The dice system looks like a riff of Descent’s surge mechanics (with more than one symbol). That is abilities (and possibly equipment) have effects keyed to a number of symbols. When you roll the dice, you buy the effects with those symbols.

    I imagine that there will be symbols representing various attributes.

    I can also imagine that expansions will have special abilities that need special dice to access the effects.

  42. The dice system looks like a riff of Descent’s surge mechanics (with more than one symbol). That is abilities (and possibly equipment) have effects keyed to a number of symbols. When you roll the dice, you buy the effects with those symbols.

    I imagine that there will be symbols representing various attributes.

    I can also imagine that expansions will have special abilities that need special dice to access the effects.

  43. The dice system looks like a riff of Descent’s surge mechanics (with more than one symbol). That is abilities (and possibly equipment) have effects keyed to a number of symbols. When you roll the dice, you buy the effects with those symbols.

    I imagine that there will be symbols representing various attributes.

    I can also imagine that expansions will have special abilities that need special dice to access the effects.

  44. The dice system looks like a riff of Descent’s surge mechanics (with more than one symbol). That is abilities (and possibly equipment) have effects keyed to a number of symbols. When you roll the dice, you buy the effects with those symbols.

    I imagine that there will be symbols representing various attributes.

    I can also imagine that expansions will have special abilities that need special dice to access the effects.

  45. Re: Check This Page

    Re: Why I am not thrilled? Couple reasons…

    I have not played Warhammer Fantasy in the past and I already have many other fantasy genre RPGs…like most of us. The $99 price point is very high to pay without a demo and no prior experience.

    Frankly it comes off as a hybrid of a board, dice, and card game. Again…unless I see it in action I am unlikely to try a game with so many things that feel like “gimmicks”.

    Glad you asked this BTW.

  46. Re: Check This Page

    Re: Why I am not thrilled? Couple reasons…

    I have not played Warhammer Fantasy in the past and I already have many other fantasy genre RPGs…like most of us. The $99 price point is very high to pay without a demo and no prior experience.

    Frankly it comes off as a hybrid of a board, dice, and card game. Again…unless I see it in action I am unlikely to try a game with so many things that feel like “gimmicks”.

    Glad you asked this BTW.

Leave a Reply

