Roxanne Modafferi – the fightin’ geek

It is not often I get to merge two things I enjoy but here we are. I am a big fan of mixed martial arts and this weekend a fighter could very well be on CBS who deserves mention here on this geek oriented blog. You kinda have to see her to believe her. Here is her vlog:

and here is a recent interview:

C’mon, she reads Robert Jordan, plays video games and kicks the shit out of people for fun. Beyond that, she seems to really, earnestly enjoy the sport, without any machismo bullshit or rancor. She is one of those athletes who is exuberantly thrilled to be playing her game at its highest level.

Good luck this weekend, Roxanne. I hope your fight finds its way out from the undercard and onto the broadcast and I hope you shock the world with your fighting skills. The fight airs on November 7, this Saturday at 9 o’clock.

5 thoughts on “Roxanne Modafferi – the fightin’ geek

  1. For what it’s worth, I’m an MMA fighter as well. I bill myself as, “Coder by day, cagefighter by night.”

    It’s an odd juxtaposition, but one that I enjoy. It definitely brings a certain “edge” to combat in my RPG characters.

Leave a Reply

