Planarch Codex has me thinking about Kobolds

From an e-mail about an upcoming DW/Planarch Codex game:

I think I want to play a kobold, straight out of the Monster Manual.

A little scaled, horned being who grew up among 40 to 400 other kobolds. Raised to hate in a huge evil pile but left home with his red robes, his short sword and his wicker shield and is realizing quickly that the way he was raised might not have been perfect.

And so, I re-read the Monster Manual entry:

kobold jpg

Gens?

I asked on G+, thinking I had run into some kind of old school D&D jargon but no. I was set straight.

Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 10.52.08 PM

“gens, n.” OED Online. Oxford University Press, June 2016. Web. 15 August 2016.

2 thoughts on “Planarch Codex has me thinking about Kobolds

  1. One of my favorite, evil NPCs is a Kobold in possession of some nasty magical weapons. The Kobold is actually an elder Duergar, permanently polymorphed into his current body. That Kobold is a little, pissed-off monster with the weapons, gear and intelligence of an elder Duergar. He has caused many an adventurer numerous problems. Often accompanied by several Kobolds, my little evil NPC is very good at coordinating attacks, and being the power behind the throne, while manipulating the PCs into all kinds of trouble. Last seen in my old Undermountain campaign, that Kobold has become my favorite evil NPC over the some 20-odd years that I have played him.

  2. Pingback: Summer’s : Reading, Planning, Writing – The Githyanki Diaspora

Leave a Reply

